The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

Seannie

Can you PM me your shop if possible. I will like to try your service next time. A good and patient optometrist is hard to come by. Thanks! :)

Gangsterkia boss i still have not received your PM. Can you also send me?

peaceheart

Pentax is fine, it’s a brand that is bought over by Hoya, stellify too. There are worth for it price imho.
Thanks for your reply. What other lens brands do you recommend? Have use AO and crizal previously, currently using crizal ($300) currently. Below is my prescription.
3FZenHTl.jpg

OOJ

I am about to make my first pair of precription lens, and this thread is like 500++ pages long, so in summary is Ownday prescription lenses acceptable at that pricing? seems cheaper compared to other brands.

beermachine

I am about to make my first pair of precription lens, and this thread is like 500++ pages long, so in summary is Ownday prescription lenses acceptable at that pricing? seems cheaper compared to other brands.

Yeah possible that cheaper this one but if you can try to head to the stores under HDB - slight;ty competitive oso

GANGSTERKIA

Just like user beer mentioned, you might be able to find cheaper alternatives at neighbourhood. The other Brand’s you mentioned could be the more known ones e.g. essilor(crizal sapphire), Hoya or zeiss

therat

anyone heard of progressive lens brand name: 3star?

Come across a shop having this promotion - Buffel Buffel, Furla, Charmant Titanium frames + progressive lens (3star. 1.50 index clear lens) @ $300.

Topup $330 for 1.67 index (my power very high) with transition

GANGSTERKIA

Frame itself is about 180-230. Means the lenses cost about 70-120. I don’t think it might be a very comfortable choice for progressive but who knows? Maybe it will work well for you too!

anyone heard of progressive lens brand name: 3star?

Come across a shop having this promotion - Buffel Buffel, Furla, Charmant Titanium frames + progressive lens (3star. 1.50 index clear lens) @ $300.

Topup $330 for 1.67 index (my power very high) with transition

peaceheart

You can get Pentax 1.67 with blue inc at a cheaper price. But quality wise will lose out to Essilor slightly.
Hahha yah that's why I'm asking you about other lens brands. As long as the quality dun differ by too much, I'm OK. Any other brands worth trying?

GANGSTERKIA

Oh Pentax is good. 1.67 a lot cheaper. There are Brand’s from OEM, Kwang Meng or OSS. But I will lean with Pentax.

Hahha yah that's why I'm asking you about other lens brands. As long as the quality dun differ by too much, I'm OK. Any other brands worth trying?

peaceheart

Oh Pentax is good. 1.67 a lot cheaper. There are Brand’s from OEM, Kwang Meng or OSS. But I will lean with Pentax.
No nikon, seiko(?) or tokai? I tried no brands lens before too. Really dirt cheap but damn hard to clean the lens... Think the coating is inferior?

Managed to dig out this photo I took 3 years ago, hopefully no price hike.
Just for comparison, what's the current price for crizal 1.67 with blue light filter?
NFZa6zbl.jpg

GANGSTERKIA

Nikon is considered premium. Seiko is slightly above average. Personally I rate tokai and Pentax to be similar. But it’s my personal opinion and I might be wrong, it’s just my experience with the lenses.

No nikon, seiko(?) or tokai? I tried no brands lens before too. Really dirt cheap but damn hard to clean the lens... Think the coating is inferior?

Managed to dig out this photo I took 3 years ago, hopefully no price hike.
Just for comparison, what's the current price for crizal 1.67 with blue light filter?
NFZa6zbl.jpg

peaceheart

Nikon is considered premium. Seiko is slightly above average. Personally I rate tokai and Pentax to be similar. But it’s my personal opinion and I might be wrong, it’s just my experience with the lenses.
Ah alright. As contradicting as it sounds, I'm willing to spend on lens but just not that much on premium lens. Prefer somewhere mid tier. Think I will go for Pentax then. Was skeptical about Pentax as I've nv heard anyone using it haha. Thanks again for your advice

kpgworld

I had just done another pair of spec with Varilux X Design 1.5 indexes ( the shop does not have equipment to do X Track) .
After wearing this new spec, it sharper for far distance compare to my Varilux Physio Airwear and more comfortable compare to LENSKART for near and immediate vision.

The prescription is similar except change in axis as follow

Varilux Physio and LENSKART lense prescription

R SPH -0.25 CYL -0.25 Axis 140 Add 1.50
L SPH -0.25 CYL -0.25 Axis 75 Add 1.50

Varilux X-Design lenses ( top up with Crizal Prevencia)

R SPH -0.25 CYL -0.25 Axis 120 Add 1.50
L SPH -0.25 CYL -0.25 Axis 85 Add 1.50

The problem is that looking through this new lenses ( X - design) at traffic light at night, it had a bit more of streaky and haloes from the traffic light compare to the other glasses I have. And reading in dark or dimly light environment, it not as comfortable as Physio lenses.

So the question is what cause this ?
Is it the change of Axis or because with additional Crizal Prevencia ?
What to correct to get back the same comfortable level as Physio for night and dim light viewing ?
Also the lense become sharper for far is due to change from Physio to X design or from Airwear to 1.5 indexes ?

GANGSTERKIA

Lens material does make a difference. Axis also makes a differences. As there are Afew variables that was changed so it’s difficult to pinpoint which factor is causing you to feel uncomfortable.

However I am leaning towards the axis change that could cause the streaks.
Reading not being so comfortable, could be due to frame adjustments.

I had just done another pair of spec with Varilux X Design 1.5 indexes ( the shop does not have equipment to do X Track) .
After wearing this new spec, it sharper for far distance compare to my Varilux Physio Airwear and more comfortable compare to LENSKART for near and immediate vision.

The prescription is similar except change in axis as follow

Varilux Physio and LENSKART lense prescription

R SPH -0.25 CYL -0.25 Axis 140 Add 1.50
L SPH -0.25 CYL -0.25 Axis 75 Add 1.50

Varilux X-Design lenses ( top up with Crizal Prevencia)

R SPH -0.25 CYL -0.25 Axis 120 Add 1.50
L SPH -0.25 CYL -0.25 Axis 85 Add 1.50

The problem is that looking through this new lenses ( X - design) at traffic light at night, it had a bit more of streaky and haloes from the traffic light compare to the other glasses I have. And reading in dark or dimly light environment, it not as comfortable as Physio lenses.

So the question is what cause this ?
Is it the change of Axis or because with additional Crizal Prevencia ?
What to correct to get back the same comfortable level as Physio for night and dim light viewing ?
Also the lense become sharper for far is due to change from Physio to X design or from Airwear to 1.5 indexes ?

kpgworld

Lens material does make a difference. Axis also makes a differences. As there are Afew variables that was changed so it’s difficult to pinpoint which factor is causing you to feel uncomfortable.

However I am leaning towards the axis change that could cause the streaks.
Reading not being so comfortable, could be due to frame adjustments.

So should i stick with the present X design lense for a while and see how it go or should I change back to the previous axis immediately.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.