The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

Kenzo88

Kenzo bro, PD dont change with frames. If yur PD is 64 then easy liao nectime go make lens make sure tell them yur PD is 64, emphasise that they must folo else u have headache u will return to demand replacement. Remember that bro! Opticians many dont do their jobs properly. Ofcos bug frame can use, just replace lens with proper PD made.

But of cos yur frame big & u folo yur eyes PD (pupil distance) means yur big lens gg to be thicker at sides lo...

Yes Kenzo bro, like Seannie said, PD does not change, no matter frame big or small, only thickness change.
I suggest you measure your PD again with the optician, then go to Uncle Tony and ask him to check the PD of the lens you made in his shop, if it's too much difference, like what u said, 64 become 67, you shld really ask Uncle Tony to change the lens for you with no charge.
You shldn't be paying anything more.

Unless after he changed it but you still feel giddy, then could be your eyes too sensitive cannot take the big frame and bigger distortion... then bo bian.

Thanks for all suggestions given. Initially I do not wish to go back to the Tony's place as he was rather insistent on the big frame issue without considering other factors like maybe wrong PD. But after hearing all replies, I guess I should make a trip down to ask him double check.

Joelleyuan

Thanks for all suggestions given. Initially I do not wish to go back to the Tony's place as he was rather insistent on the big frame issue without considering other factors like maybe wrong PD. But after hearing all replies, I guess I should make a trip down to ask him double check.
His shop got the machine to check your lens. just ask him to show you when doing the checking. it can check power, astig, axis n PD.

Joelleyuan

I suspect is the frame size too big, thus causing not able to achieve the Pd of urs, lens size for myopia is 70mm, if ur frame too big, usually what they do is max in the pd. If u dun mind, u drop me a pm. I help u do some calculation to see if the frame is too big.
wah biang, normal eyeglasses no matter how big also probably wont exceed 60mm gua, dont even say 70mm.
u think goggles meh? :s22:

yongjing05

wah biang, normal eyeglasses no matter how big also probably wont exceed 60mm gua, dont even say 70mm.
u think goggles meh? :s22:

Actually it's not as simple as u think. Go read this up. Should show u some insight into what I am saying
http://www.eyetalk.com.au/eyetools/kb/EyeToolsSupport_00123_SpecLensBlankSize_UnderstandingTheFormula.pdf

Seannie

Brought it home, and noticed that when lens placed at
an angle, can see that the coating on both lens are
uneven (with blobs and small dots).

At first thought its just oily or something.
At home, tried cleaning lens with mild cleaning agent and
microfiber cloth, still the same.
Took it back to shop, they tried cleaning, still the same.
Shop say they will send it back to Crizal for check.

Did anyone encountered such a problem ?
Crizal lens no Quality Control ?

Bro are u referring to tiny bubbles?? If so i want to tell u i noticed this problems long ago cant find the answer to what it was till recently optician checked and confirmed that they are formed during production processes, likely during the different multicoats layering process in the cleanroom, whereby air bubbles form in between layers? They are unavoidable as its part of optical lens properties & most lenses would have them. During QC the lab will try to minimise within a certain % and reject those serious ones. But dont think these bubbles will affect yur vision. Actuslly if u dont scrutinise them against the light you cant really notice them. So if its bubbles u toking abt then no worries! Wear yur specs in good health!

Seannie

His shop got the machine to check your lens. just ask him to show you when doing the checking. it can check power, astig, axis n PD.

The Chin Machine? Buay zhun eh la! Can only use as reference only... Manual check better but depends on skill, in fact to avoid conflicts or unhappiness or arguments, consider my suggestion to visit other opticians for second opinion & verification. U wont go too far wrong de. U go back uncle tony and demand this and that he will think you are doubting his skill & knowledge... My opinion is take it to a trusted optician to redo instead. But ofcos u need to pay again la. But its yur $ and yur health u decide la.

yongjing05

Hi, recently made a new pair of spectacle with Crizal Prevencia lens.
Brought it home, and noticed that when lens placed at
an angle, can see that the coating on both lens are
uneven (with blobs and small dots).

At first thought its just oily or something.
At home, tried cleaning lens with mild cleaning agent and
microfiber cloth, still the same.
Took it back to shop, they tried cleaning, still the same.
Shop say they will send it back to Crizal for check.

Did anyone encountered such a problem ?
Crizal lens no Quality Control ?
The Crizal lens came with a small printed card,
but no serial number.
How can i tell it is real Crizal lens or just some imitation lens ?
When i use the lens, noticed that things seen through
the lens are slightly yellow, is it normal ?

Oh ya forgot to mention. The reason u feel u see things bit yellow is cause of the special blue coat that sort of eliminate the blue wavelength spectrum. Hence u see bit yellow. It's normal, dun worry, it's ment to reduce the eye fatigue on prolonge use of the electronic device

Solidus_GZ

hey any one have rudy project? im thinking of getting one to replace my Oakley shades.
anyone have prior experiences in using them?
thinking of getting a Swify, any imput will be much appreciated.
SP143887_full.jpg

baseline

Hi guys, i planning to make a specs, so i guess kwong shin is the best place for good service and reasonable pricing? my budget around $700. degree for both eyes around 700, 1.67, 1.71 or 1.74?

Seannie

I didnt take a photo before sending it back. When looking
straight at the lens, the coating issue cannot be seen.
But when placed at an angle, it was quite obvious,
in both lens centre, it looks like someone had abused it
until a pattern (abt 20 cents diameter) can be seen.
At the corner of 1 len, can see x2 circles, each about
3mm in diameter.

I wonder if they are going to rework on the same lens,
or made new ones.

they have to make new ones for you, multicoats cant be reworked. Coatings problems, means the shop staff didnt do the QC check on yur lens before giving to you.

Densocool

Which spec store in sg sells korean brand ABBA frames? tried most in town all don't carry.

Erwinlow

Anyone knows how much is it roughly to do a pair of rayban sunglasses with prescription lens?

terence33

Any recommendations for a decent shop in tampines to make transition lens for a pair of own spec?

Which brand is the best for transition n how much is a set of lens? Degree is 500 with no astig. Maybe 1.60 will do?

Thanks in advance for the advice. ;)

rerear

Any recommended shops to get owndays' type of air series coupled with Zeiss lens at reasonable pricing? How much will it cost for below prescription? Anyone can suggest type of high index should be getting?

R -750-050x180
L -750-100x135

Norman Chan

Any good recommendation of which brand of Progressive lens can prevent scratches ?

GANGSTERKIA

Any recommendations for a decent shop in tampines to make transition lens for a pair of own spec?

Which brand is the best for transition n how much is a set of lens? Degree is 500 with no astig. Maybe 1.60 will do?

Thanks in advance for the advice. ;)

500 usually 1.60-1.67 index(recommended).
Brands vary, you can try the new transition 7?(if i'm not wrong)
They darken quicker than other series or if you want something thats really dark(go for Hoya Xtrative lenses) IIRC they have the darkest transition lens available atm.

I'm in the army atm so i need to keep myself updated.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.