The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

kaikoura

Hi, juz to enquire whr can i get good prices for ray bans shades/sunglasses?

Go find oldbreadstinks or jervin88, walk into their shops, raise your hands, shout "huat ah" and you will get a good discount :D

Hey bros, I'm intending to get hoya len from Malaysia. Tried to ask for cert but she mentioned that not all hoya models have cert. Is it true and how do I verify if they are real original hoya len?

True. Go to a shop that you trust. Even the authenticity cards can be easily reproduced. If there is a particular one you want I can send it to you.

jervin88

Hahahah huat ar! Chinese new year coming liao
C32b, just check out any optical shop around to get your lenses done!
Stoopidbin, if you doubt the shop I suggest you just go somewhere else where u can trust the person hahahah.
Don't buy thing alr then worry here and there or even regret. Not sure if hoya may be able to certify the authenticity, if they can then request for the lab to do a veification and send you a official slip or sth hahahahha. How much trouble would that be for you and the salesperson.
You can try it though, not sure if can.

Sent from Samsung GT-N7105 using GAGT

Windowlover

just received my first progressive lens, so sad for it performance.
When I wear for past 2 weeks, I found the left side images is blurs and always adjustment my lens to suit for 13 inch laptop reading ( top corner to corner ) , it is normal ? I suspect the eye sight test / checking is not good. After checking with optician, he say it is because of each eye ball movement unstable but this images blur is one straight from top to bottom.. without glass I can see it without any blurs...

:s12::s12::s12:
Any advise or should I change the glass ?

jervin88

Progressive is not recommended for computer use because of its small viewing area at intermediate distance. For reading should have wider field of view. I guess the progressive lens just dont suit your computer usage so well. Try to move more or ur head instead of your eye when u use computer. (Using centee of lens)

springman

Hello

Been searching for a new pair of specs. Currently wearing a swissflex rimless. Tried a non branded rimmed specs but it seems heavy ... My ears felt painful at the point of contact with the specs.

I guess i could go back with swissflex for lightweight frames but are there other brands you would recommend?

Thanks all ...

snip82

crizal lenses doesnt prevent scratching. no lens prevents scratching, just more resistant. really dependant on user handling. my crizal can last me for years with only slight scratches. fogging appears on every lens in the market unless you use an anti fog wipe. (even if u get the best lens, u will still be complaining why it get scratched or fog moving in and out of aircon room) maybe you misunderstood the product and expected more.

I see but the advertisement does confuse pple.. I bought it thru the heavy advertisement during that period.. My friend usin carl zeiss seem better quality and less of fogging than I do..

Maybe I give a try on carl zeiss lens.. anyone have oakley currency? Any review? Price?
Oakley Currency Prescription Glasses

or Oakley crosslink:
Reviews: Oakley Crosslink Eyeglasses
I saw crosslink a lot of complain that their silicone earsocks on these glasses disintegrate around 8mnth usage..

popdod

Where would can I get the cheapest Oliver Peoples frames in Singapore?

hello..wat kind of question is this??

different model different pricing,
different lenses, different pricing
singapore more than 1000 optical shops...who knows siah?

:s22: :( :s22:

jervin88

Foggin still occurs on zeiss one. Doesnt really matter if one is more or what. To me it still happens so no point.
How about silhouette frameless. Wearing it like wearing nothing hahahah

Illuminatu5

Haha sorry, I wrote that statement thinking that there is an average price among all OP frames (which there is).

But in actuality, I would like to know where can I find the widest range of OP in SG. I am particularly looking for the NDG-1s and, if available, the OP XXV model.

oldbreadstinks

I see but the advertisement does confuse pple.. I bought it thru the heavy advertisement during that period.. My friend usin carl zeiss seem better quality and less of fogging than I do..

Maybe I give a try on carl zeiss lens.. anyone have oakley currency? Any review? Price?
Oakley Currency Prescription Glasses

or Oakley crosslink:
Reviews: Oakley Crosslink Eyeglasses
I saw crosslink a lot of complain that their silicone earsocks on these glasses disintegrate around 8mnth usage..

That's why I don't dare to sell Crizal sometimes.... Sell liao come back and scold you
I see Crizal as having more gimmicks and uses. Different types of lebses compared to other brands
Not a one size fits all
They have higher customer satisfaction when the lenses are fitted to specific customers not hoot optic fog on everyone because boss tell you to sell :s22:

Oakley earsock need to take care one. Mine lasted 5 years
But I wash and dried them every time I wear.
Removed and wash and dried them

Most users wear liao let the sweat dry by itself under the earsock...... After 5-6 mths it starts to bloat and Have brown liquid coming out....

oldbreadstinks

Haha sorry, I wrote that statement thinking that there is an average price among all OP frames (which there is).

But in actuality, I would like to know where can I find the widest range of OP in SG. I am particularly looking for the NDG-1s and, if available, the OP XXV model.

Dunno about op
But overall queensway has a large range

oldbreadstinks

Hello

Been searching for a new pair of specs. Currently wearing a swissflex rimless. Tried a non branded rimmed specs but it seems heavy ... My ears felt painful at the point of contact with the specs.

I guess i could go back with swissflex for lightweight frames but are there other brands you would recommend?

Thanks all ...

Bring back tell the shop fweels heavy hurts ear. Help adjust Pls

oldbreadstinks

just received my first progressive lens, so sad for it performance.
When I wear for past 2 weeks, I found the left side images is blurs and always adjustment my lens to suit for 13 inch laptop reading ( top corner to corner ) , it is normal ? I suspect the eye sight test / checking is not good. After checking with optician, he say it is because of each eye ball movement unstable but this images blur is one straight from top to bottom.. without glass I can see it without any blurs...

:s12::s12::s12:
Any advise or should I change the glass ?

Progressive is not recommended for computer use because of its small viewing area at intermediate distance. For reading should have wider field of view. I guess the progressive lens just dont suit your computer usage so well. Try to move more or ur head instead of your eye when u use computer. (Using centee of lens)

Like he said lor.. Progressives are for general use.
There are actually progressives lenses for computer and reading only

For your situation. If you don't have beautiful long eyelashes and your frame has nosepads
You can get them adjust closer to the face ( narrow your choice of angles. Too close and you can't see the blur parts )
Reading may or may not be affected depending on your lens design and your age group
If you're young(40ish) and the optician fitted a lens with a shorter corridor (harder to walk for new wearers)
Nearer and higher may help because most people don't use desktops much these days. Out of convenience a lot of people are using reading glasses for laptops and reading (not supposed to be the same power)

..... If older and he fitted longer corridor because.... Old people don't adapt very well .........push glasses higher when using for laptop then?
Or buy an additional clip on to turn your progressives into computer glasses

oldbreadstinks

Because Singapore gotch sho Mani sinkies huai must chiu say Orh ish bat and will sinkie pwn sinkie? :(

popdod

Like someone stated earlier, Queensway have alot of specs.
i bought my Oliver Peoples in one of the shops there.
but
they do not have the latest models.

next u can go is Bras Basah...shop next to escalator..Kwong Shin.

and if u wanna peek the latest design and wide range, Mandarin Gallery, Level 2 or 3....the optical shop look very atas.
just go in see see, wear wear...dun buy.
coz they chop Roberts price.

Else, can try Parkway Parade, basement.....full of optical shops.
got a few models though.

Thatz was my homework done past 1 year ago...when i wanna get my Oliver Peoples.

if u wanna get the CHEAPEST.....ebay.
but dunno real or fake.

:crazy: :( :crazy:

ahboy82

Oliver peoples too heavy leh

Any other brand to recmd for those plastic frame? I intend to make 1 to look more geek

jervin88

Plastic frame can try those normal ones without brand. Some Looks good and nice to wear hahahah.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.