The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

alex22

Lol I'm telling you to google. I know this from uni. All CR39 lenses are UV blocking already. Only in singapore they market UV coat and Multicoat. In australia lenses are still sold without coating. Cos they can't advertise on healthcare products. CR39 are inherently UV blocking. No need for coatings. Multicoat only reduce reflections on the lens surface that can cause glares.

UV coat again is a marketing gimmick. There is nothing more than 100% uv blocking. Since cr39 already block 100% UV, the uv coat is nothing more than an upsell gimmick.

One more benefit of multicoat is that the lens will not turn yellow that fast. The reason lenses turn yellow is because of its inherent UV absorbing capabilities

CR39 is a UV-opaque material code but nowadays due to comparative low cost of mfg & its improved material property, polycarbonate variants /w coating seems to be used more...
/w more coating layers added to improve the material surface hardness and glare deflection properties as sporting/opthalmic lens

warhunter

Inclined to side with your POV.
However, LED light does IMO, have a type of polarization that seems to affect how I see light sources (unfiltered, how do I explain this... like LED lighting behind a translucent/matte diffuser vs LED strip lighting)

Some of the works cited do seem reasonable, but maybe polarization is the way instead of looking at those "improved blue light blocking" lenses.

What's your take?

OTOH, PL-CIR is a thing, right?

Also reading:
OptiBoard Discussion Forums

edited out "hp screens" because most displays, they are polarized mildly

don't get your question. whats your question on polarising lenses?
My guess on what you mean --- LED Strip lighting appear to cause a lot more glare as compared to polarized lighting.

Thats what polarizers do. they cut down on the random scatter of light. so light is filtered in only a particular direction. in short, polarizers do reduce glare from bare unfiltered lighting.

Similarly in polarized sunglasses. they cut down the reflective rays from surfaces. so eg. when youre driving, polarized sunglasses can minimize the reflected rays from surfaces, thereby reducing the disturbing glare.

And your question on blue control lenses vs polarising lenses. they are 2 entirely different objects. they are made for 2 entirely different purpose. blue control- disease control. polarizers- glare reduction

warhunter

CR39 is a UV-opaque material code but nowadays due to comparative low cost of mfg & its improved material property, polycarbonate variants /w coating seems to be used more...
/w more coating layers added to improve the material surface hardness and glare deflection properties as sporting/opthalmic lens

it really depends on the country you're in. over in Australia where I'm studying, many people still go with lenses without MC. they don't value the extra benefits on outlook and comfort MC lenses give them.

Over in Singapore, its so heavily marketed that even lay people know about the availability of such coatings eg. UV coat, Multi coat, hard coat, etc.

In all if you are willing to pay for the "supposed" benefits. you can go ahead. but in truth. there is no real benefits in UV coats as cr39 is already absorbing all the UV rays.

Similarly for photoactive lenses aka "transitions". Transitions is a well know photoactive lens brand. no one brand is more superior in terms of UV protection. they are all 100%UV blocking.

Joelleyuan

One more benefit of multicoat is that the lens will not turn yellow that fast. The reason lenses turn yellow is because of its inherent UV absorbing capabilities

Hi, my concern for lenses is this turning yellow issue.
which brand would you recommend if i do not
wish to see my lenses turn yellowish too soon?

Thanks

warhunter

Hi, my concern for lenses is this turning yellow issue.
which brand would you recommend if i do not
wish to see my lenses turn yellowish too soon?

Thanks

My Zeiss 2 years Liao only slight yellow. My essilor lens 2 years Liao more yellowish

oldbreadstinks

That's just part of the frame. Those kinds are OK. Those with separate nosepads will grow algae no matter how clean u are

got maid can ask to clean :s13:

i occassionally do meet people without algae . they tend to be quite clean for a lot of stuff so personal character plays a part

there's a story about this lady, who didn't knew the pads could be changed so she asked her maid to unscrew and brush with a toothbrush every night:s22:

warhunter

got maid can ask to clean :s13:

i occassionally do meet people without algae . they tend to be quite clean for a lot of stuff so personal character plays a part

there's a story about this lady, who didn't knew the pads could be changed so she asked her maid to unscrew and brush with a toothbrush every night:s22:

Even those without algae. Even if the nosepad is squeaky clean. I've seen people with brown ones with no algae. That's because the algae grew beneath the material. If you know what I'm talking about.

oldbreadstinks

Quote me the study then. There are no trials conducted yet for the benefits of such lenses. Even the sleep factor. studies have saod blue light causes insomnia. But no studies have shown that blocking blue light with lenses help people to sleep better at night.

I don't stereotype. I believe in evidence based treatment. If you can quote me a randomised control trial for any of the quoted benefits, I will prescribe these lenses to my patients.

That's the science of optometry. I am not a hard selling optician. Singapore is a place where lens companies are not controlled on what they can advertise. That is why many people are misinformed. In Australia, they are not allowed to market so aggressively. No one will know about crizal. Its just like any other multi coats. Even their ESPF25 is a marketing gimmick. All lenses with multicoat already block 100% UV.

it really depends on the country you're in. over in Australia where I'm studying, many people still go with lenses without MC. they don't value the extra benefits on outlook and comfort MC lenses give them.

Over in Singapore, its so heavily marketed that even lay people know about the availability of such coatings eg. UV coat, Multi coat, hard coat, etc.

In all if you are willing to pay for the "supposed" benefits. you can go ahead. but in truth. there is no real benefits in UV coats as cr39 is already absorbing all the UV rays.

Similarly for photoactive lenses aka "transitions". Transitions is a well know photoactive lens brand. no one brand is more superior in terms of UV protection. they are all 100%UV blocking.

Very light. Very classic. Build quality is not like those luxottica glasses. I got one more pair of Buffalo horn frame avail at my work place. $2k+

lol narrow down liao lolol:s13:

QUOTE=warhunter;91421323]Just sharing the gimmicks that are always marketed in this industry. If you don't believe them, I can't help you further.

Crizal in singapore is marketed as the best UV blocking lens. Still all cr39 lenses block 100% UV. No such thing as best blocking. In Australia. Crizal is just another multicoat brand. Laypeople would not even know what is crizal. Over here. People ask for crizal when they don't even know what crizal is. Its just a multicoat branding[/QUOTE]

Lol I'm telling you to google. I know this from uni. All CR39 lenses are UV blocking already. Only in singapore they market UV coat and Multicoat. In australia lenses are still sold without coating. Cos they can't advertise on healthcare products. CR39 are inherently UV blocking. No need for coatings. Multicoat only reduce reflections on the lens surface that can cause glares.

UV coat again is a marketing gimmick. There is nothing more than 100% uv blocking. Since cr39 already block 100% UV, the uv coat is nothing more than an upsell gimmick.

Google will tell u the answer. Even cr39 with no multicoat is 100% uv blocking

Haha chill. Very subjective bro. Like I said like zeiss lenses or any others. Thwre are ppl who love a certain lens to the other due to some reasons on its own. Our seannie bro loves his duravision hahaha. I believe some else will love the blue control and find less glaring due to colour differences or any other reasons. There are bound to be researches out there if we find. Chill out and let the guys decide hahaha
Anyway uv 100% dun come with all multicoat

Sent from Samsung GT-N7105 using GAGT

Crizal Prevencia Lenses | Crizal Prevencia

Read this up. Prevencia is marketed for the prevention of eye disease caused by blue violet light. Studies they quoted are how blue light can increase the risk of these diseases. Nothing is quoted about these lenses reducing that risk. In simple terms. They just made use of a study on blue light causing diseases to back their blue blocking lenses. With no Randomised control trials done.

In fact normal CR39 lenses with multi coat is enough to block 100% UV. Blue light compared to UV causes less risk for these diseases. And the cost difference is huge. Not worth it at all
Last tjme I check my optometrist they said the company which give me the lens got multicoat but no uv one. They call the company check for me about it. Cos I wanted the cheaper one but with multicoat

multicoat and UV are two different things
generally speaking, most 1.6 and above come with Uv 400

1.5/1.56 may need additional treatment

all are cr39 material

oldbreadstinks

Quote me some facts which u think are truths. Eg. Reduces strain with computer use? That's truckloads of bullsss IMHO. All their quoted studies are conducted by their own company. That's conflict of interests in research.

I have tried the lenses myself and i find it totally the same as normal lenses. Moreover the colour alterations caused by the lenses are disturbing.

Nothing personal. But my opinions are based on the independent studies that I have read. Blue control lenses are still a controversial marketing gimmick. Nothing is actually proven with randomised control trials yet

I myself don't sell these lenses to my patients. Because there is no real evidence based benefit. Benefits do not outweigh the costs of the lenses
Hahah can I base on one research which says beneficial then I say its good?? There are always different researches with good or bad. Hahaha. Have u heard of the sleeping factor related to it? It may not work for every individual. Thats all im gonna say hahahah. Chill. Dun stereotype things hahahahah
Its yhe same as zeiss have better material which is a fact, but is every individual sensitive enough to feel it or not. Its really subjective. There are ppl who find the lenses useful some who did not.
I do not promote or bring down any products haha.

Quote me the study then. There are no trials conducted yet for the benefits of such lenses. Even the sleep factor. studies have saod blue light causes insomnia. But no studies have shown that blocking blue light with lenses help people to sleep better at night.

I don't stereotype. I believe in evidence based treatment. If you can quote me a randomised control trial for any of the quoted benefits, I will prescribe these lenses to my patients.

That's the science of optometry. I am not a hard selling optician. Singapore is a place where lens companies are not controlled on what they can advertise. That is why many people are misinformed. In Australia, they are not allowed to market so aggressively. No one will know about crizal. Its just like any other multi coats. Even their ESPF25 is a marketing gimmick. All lenses with multicoat already block 100% UV.

that's actually why zeiss don't have blue control yet
it pop out from nowhere , everyone freaks out and started buying a pair . and to block "blue light" what a lot of labs do is tint the lens yellow . the whole point of wearing glasses and paying more is to feel comfortable and get as close to natural vision as possible with a good mc ..... then people started adding yellow colour

(personal opinion so don't shoot me:i'm assuming if blue control is that important all office workers above the age of say 30-40 should have macular degeneration by now )

I am not a leading expert/authority on this blue control thing. I can only tell my customers .... feel tired just turn off the computer ...... then sleep ...... not play handphone on your bed and turn your brightness all the way down .... that's a bit like burying your head in the sand

I can't say the studies are bullshiet . because logically it's sound, blue light causes this this this, no blue light equals this this this less chances of happening . so this lenses block blue light. means it prevents this this this

the problem is really how the studies are positioned .
blue light is used in farming to increase productivity
i do not really feel it does what most retailers think it does . but that's personal opinion i'm not a doctor .
if you can't sleep it's because you're doing something strenuous for your brain not because of your blue light
like for example , candy crush, world of war craft , maple story and whatever hipters do these days. if you keep your fingers off your mouse and keyboard/touchpad by 8-9pm you'll feel very tired by 11-12
not 2-3 am

cost/worth factor depends on individual preferances, do mont blanc pens write better? same goes for private /public doctors

oldbreadstinks

This one u must trust me leh although I not optometeist hahaha. Normal lens mc can come with uv at a very minimal fee that time they call up in front of me to ask the company

depends on lens company , if is essilor/hoya/zeiss is must change lenses unless is rx request for uv co

Again one more misconception. Duravision is not a new material. It is a new hard coat created by Zeiss. Just makes the surface tougher. Doesn't affect the optics at all. Just less degradation to the surface with use. Prolong the lens life at most.

personal opinion, i do find blue coatings for seecoat(nikon)
duravision and teflon clearer? might be due to aspherical design
since previous glasses were spherical

but i thought it's generally offered as an upgrade ? not new material?

oldbreadstinks

Even those without algae. Even if the nosepad is squeaky clean. I've seen people with brown ones with no algae. That's because the algae grew beneath the material. If you know what I'm talking about.

yeah but she was using pvc types i think, not silicon

oldbreadstinks

Not a subjective matter. All these have to be backed by clinical trials . in singapore hard selling makes the most money. I am telling you that there are no such studies. Singaporeans need to learn to trust their optometrists and not lens companies.

That's why many people fall prey to such marketed benefits. Eyecare professionals have no choice but to advertise on non proven benefits because that's what makes them the money.

Overseas, they make money from the consultation alone Sp there is no need to make money from marketing gimmicks.

On the other hand physical properties like duravision are indeed researched into. Lenses are indeed tougher and less prone to scratches.

UV 100% come for all plastic lenses with MC. U can try it out on their UV measuring machine. I am telling you it has. I'm not asking if it has.

nope not all
if i haven't recalled wrongly , most don't have it for their stock lenses below 1.6
hoya 1.56 don't have it unless you go for stellify/ phoenix

warhunter

depends on lens company , if is essilor/hoya/zeiss is must change lenses unless is rx request for uv co

personal opinion, i do find blue coatings for seecoat(nikon)
duravision and teflon clearer? might be due to aspherical design
since previous glasses were spherical

but i thought it's generally offered as an upgrade ? not new material?

Yea its not a new material. Its a new coat. Zeiss charge like 60$ rrp for us leh. U don't have? Like that I go ask agent why

Most likely their optics ba. I've tried Nikon lens (older gen coating) and zeiss (lotutec) . IMO a lot clearer than essilor and hoya lenses I've worn

warhunter

that's actually why zeiss don't have blue control yet
it pop out from nowhere , everyone freaks out and started buying a pair . and to block "blue light" what a lot of labs do is tint the lens yellow . the whole point of wearing glasses and paying more is to feel comfortable and get as close to natural vision as possible with a good mc ..... then people started adding yellow colour

(personal opinion so don't shoot me:i'm assuming if blue control is that important all office workers above the age of say 30-40 should have macular degeneration by now )

I am not a leading expert/authority on this blue control thing. I can only tell my customers .... feel tired just turn off the computer ...... then sleep ...... not play handphone on your bed and turn your brightness all the way down .... that's a bit like burying your head in the sand

I can't say the studies are bullshiet . because logically it's sound, blue light causes this this this, no blue light equals this this this less chances of happening . so this lenses block blue light. means it prevents this this this

the problem is really how the studies are positioned .
blue light is used in farming to increase productivity
i do not really feel it does what most retailers think it does . but that's personal opinion i'm not a doctor .
if you can't sleep it's because you're doing something strenuous for your brain not because of your blue light
like for example , candy crush, world of war craft , maple story and whatever hipters do these days. if you keep your fingers off your mouse and keyboard/touchpad by 8-9pm you'll feel very tired by 11-12
not 2-3 am

cost/worth factor depends on individual preferances, do mont blanc pens write better? same goes for private /public doctors

That's what I'm trying to say. But assumption of helping with macular degeneration isn't really very ethical. More ethical way would be advicing on health changes like quitting smoking and alcohol. Diet changes etc. Blue tints have also been shown not to reduce the progression of amd. So I still don't really advice my patients to use them.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.