The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

Seannie

I also feel so, but it's the shop that I made my initial spec with one leh.
They quote original for hoya ish 500++ discount for me then 300, last time i made with them they only charge me 250 for hoya. :s22::s22::s22:

Got shop recommendation or not?

hoya increase their product prices not long ago. So getting more and more expensive. Not the shop want to chop you la.

Seannie

Rather depressed. Think such a suay kia like me should just end life soon. Other people collect specs no problem, but moi 9 out of 10 times specs sure got problems at collection point. Either coatings problems, or axis off, PD off etc. Spent so much money on spectacles but each time i am really battered. No confidence with the lab/shop ple in optical industry anymore. Confiodence level left 5% only, that 5% is the willingness to send back redo. And no refund is possible even if you do not want the product anymore. No cashback gaurantee. And payment is full upon ordering. We consumers have no protection at all.

Seannie

we are left at the mercy of the shop/lab. like lambs waiting to get slaughtered. Prices of specs are so high nowadays. I buy one shirt less than 100dol bt one spec can easily shoot 1k. Wat logic is that. Ok, if they do the specs properly nevermind, but problem is almost 90% there are errors. You see those clothes if they make error straighaway QC will reject and send to sell at cheap prices. NOt with specs. Year after year i paid huge sums of money redo my specs till i get depression. Im probably better off dead cos dead people do not need to wear specs.

Seannie

I have tried all alternatives like using contact lens (both soft and semi hard) and ask optometrist he said my eyes are too dry power too high not suitable for surgery. contact lens are out due to dry eyes, they will get v red and inflammed towards second half of the day. I HAVE NO OTHER WAYS. The only way is continue living my wrenched life with substandard specs (frames & lenses) & get tortued mentally & visually for rest of life.

Seannie

i have spent more than 20k in the past few years trying to get the right good specs. End up all the monies gone down the substandard optical industry.

All in a Day

i have spent more than 20k in the past few years trying to get the right good specs. End up all the monies gone down the substandard optical industry.

Wow 20K budget you can do lasik at any very reputable clinics + spare change for travelling, watch or other indulgences. :eek:

jervin88

Seannie. Not too sure about ur luck hhahaha. So far all collect ok one. So I help u conclude yhe shops u visit is not good. Simply said. Yhere are shops who take deposits ibstead of full payments. I also know of shops who dun collect from regulars first. Theres the Trust. I have nothing elae to say liao haha

Sent from Samsung GT-N7105 using GAGT

oldbreadstinks

Hope someone can help, just got one pair of progressive, found that for near vision I can only see very clearly of I move the specs a little away from my eyes. Is it that I'm still trying to get use to the glasses or I need to get out adjusted by the shop?

it's very likely the following

your eye can only look away from the center by around 30 degrees, if the frame is too near you can't look downwards enough to look through the reading portion

if you're a new wearer, some places purposely do that do make the glasses easier to adapt

if the bottom of the lenses are clear for reading but you need to push up or away to read and that disturbs you, get them adjusted higher/further away

oldbreadstinks

recently discovered that all the lenses that i made have problems in one way or the other. Dont know what is wrong. Yesterday collected one pair with many obvious visible scratches, when i told the lady she still tried to use cloth to "wipe" them away tyhen ask me see whether ok or not? Ofcos common sense tells you cannot lah! How will flaws go away just with wiping? End up i have to tell ger to send them back. Really disappointed and sad. My mood already bad and made worse with such lens quality. somemore its essilor lens, not some local cheap lens.

Can someone tell me what the hell is wrong? OR AM I REALLY THAT SUAY????

technically speaking there's no such thing as cheap local lenses
but i thought you dislike essilor?

i mentioned before you have certain requirements where style is concerned , and you have certain habits that clash with those requirements
it might help if you tell whoever is fitting your glasses, you're a difficult person to deal with , and have very very high standards
i do that for certain people , since i know they are particular . why risk it?

Rather depressed. Think such a suay kia like me should just end life soon. Other people collect specs no problem, but moi 9 out of 10 times specs sure got problems at collection point. Either coatings problems, or axis off, PD off etc. Spent so much money on spectacles but each time i am really battered. No confidence with the lab/shop ple in optical industry anymore. Confiodence level left 5% only, that 5% is the willingness to send back redo. And no refund is possible even if you do not want the product anymore. No cashback gaurantee. And payment is full upon ordering. We consumers have no protection at all.

i generally take deposits and not full payment , unless i think the customer is "funny"
i've never worked in a place that doesn't give refunds if the fault isn't the cusotmer's
the lemon law actually applies here if the product is not satisfactory for obvious reasons

we are left at the mercy of the shop/lab. like lambs waiting to get slaughtered. Prices of specs are so high nowadays. I buy one shirt less than 100dol bt one spec can easily shoot 1k. Wat logic is that. Ok, if they do the specs properly nevermind, but problem is almost 90% there are errors. You see those clothes if they make error straighaway QC will reject and send to sell at cheap prices. NOt with specs. Year after year i paid huge sums of money redo my specs till i get depression. Im probably better off dead cos dead people do not need to wear specs.

prices of specs actually never went up
so you may want to check your facts
try purchasing the same item you did 10 years ago and you'll see
but if you think buying iphone 6 should be the same as iphone 5 then of course by that yardstick you can say prices have gone up

Hoya upz their prices recently, and phase out all old products and switched to HVLL instead of the old coatings

I have tried all alternatives like using contact lens (both soft and semi hard) and ask optometrist he said my eyes are too dry power too high not suitable for surgery. contact lens are out due to dry eyes, they will get v red and inflammed towards second half of the day. I HAVE NO OTHER WAYS. The only way is continue living my wrenched life with substandard specs (frames & lenses) & get tortued mentally & visually for rest of life.

next time get a pair of single vision, if the single vision works out fine then get your progressives

Seannie

yea i dont really believe essilor but needed to try its range of prevencia lens cos i discover as i age my eyes are getting the strain from the bright lights and digital devices as well as i heard the thing about cataracts and AMD. Cheap local lenses i mean brands like KV, OSS< Hi Top etc if you know what i meant. Im no expert, im just an end user, you are the sexpert so you would know much better technically.

I resist telling ple i am a hard nut to crack becos when u say that i think the staff will try to avoid doing my business. Frankly, if the lens is all scracthed and they still dispenses to you, you call that difficult to please? I dont think so. Unless you are telling me that i should lower standards and accept scratched lenses which are so obvious to the naked eyes??????

oh i forgot abt the lemon law. Maybe if they dont do it right i will ask for refund, im really pissed off this time. I think its the lab fault rather than the shop. But the shop staff has promised to QC and only inform me for collection after they made sure everything is good. But i have to wait another 2 weeeks. I told them if the lens no good please keep send back to lab till they do their job properly. I have given too many chances in the past. i think i must speak up and demand good jobs, and not substandard work done.

Avtually i do not think hoya should charge so much more just for an upgrade in coating. I have both sft and hvll, admit hvll does look better but price wise additional $100 is just too much. and sft is being forcibly phased out so consumers who takes hoya have no choice but to pay more to upgrade!

Seannie

Seannie. Not too sure about ur luck hhahaha. So far all collect ok one. So I help u conclude yhe shops u visit is not good. Simply said. Yhere are shops who take deposits ibstead of full payments. I also know of shops who dun collect from regulars first. Theres the Trust. I have nothing elae to say liao haha

YOu are indeed a luckier guy than me, mine 80% have problems. 10 years ago when quality is much better i have no such problems. I guess something to do with the growing population. Lastime not so many ple buying specs so they slowly do the lens properly. Now everywhere is rushing jobs for customers daily maybe one day lab need to rush abt few hundred pairs? Confirm anyhow do becos rush jobs. Else how to explain the problems?!?!?!

From now onwards, i must make a conscious effort to check my lens and frames properly at collection point and also not make full payment first. Pay 50% (mine is RX) then satisfactory then pay full.

Seannie

Stinkyoldbread, correct me if im wrong, u are actually telling me i should just be easy and accept the flawed lenses with obvious scratches etc.

jervin88

Seannie bro, now u talk about coating not worth. Too contradicting from your side. Its the exact same thing when u mentioned duravision super swee. Its a fact that they are better. Tougher ad proven. But if take care lens can be good for years. Duravision doesnt come with stock lenses. Conclusion u still gotta pay more to get it just like hoya lenses. So wtf?!?!
Pls do not generalise the whole optical trade because of ur bad experiences. Feedback is enough for us consumers.
Rush jobs or not it should still be good and quality controlled. No one is asking u to accept flawed lenses. Now labs are able to rush because of their equipments. Technology improves bro, faster and faster. nothing goes slower in this world. quality is still there i wan to reiterate. so please find a better shop with better reputation or whoever you trust.
Prices in the market goes up. Its normal. Do you ever see prices go down or remain same??? Logic?? only thing hardly up is salary hahaha
Just follow price list and have the discount it is still reasonable. You can always choose to go out to australia or whatever f country to buy if u wish for a better price. Which is not going to happen.
I dont get why you are depressed with this whole thing when so many other people are so happy with their own specs. I really want you to find the right shop and good service to make u happy customer. Every shop wants their customers to be happy. I hope u agree with me on this. A happy customer is a returning customer. Very simple.
just chill out ask the shop to help you with your flawed lenses. im sure a replacement is not a f problem at all. it may just be an oversight of the lab/shop.
i wish you luck, please stay healthy and not depressed over all these unhappiness just because of a f glasses (which can be resolved easily by replacement). why harp over things that can be resolved easily just by asking.
no point coming here saying cannot wear contact lenses or whatever, need to stick to wearing substandard products. im a singaporean, i also want quality product, we are actually very demanding as singaporeans. i believe the standard in singapore is actually higher than other places.
so please check and i await your positive feedbacks after your lenses are replaced!

Seannie

Jervin little bro, i can only agree with you on certain points, not all. Im sure you are a luckier guy cos you generalise that everyone is happy with their specs. You may not have often experoenced bad worksmanship thats why u cant understand my frustration. My previous pair of duravision, if u remember i did mentioned that it had 2 minor scratches which i discovered only after getting home few days later. As its just minor flaws i decided to forego and didnt return to that shop for replacement. Fyi its a neighbourhood shop can see its not doing too well already. I went check with 2 other opticians they said most likely the scratches happened in the zeiss lab not posdible made by me. One shop even said zeiss QC usually rather high this type of thing shouldnt happen but it did!!! So DO U AGREE IM SUAY KIA??? MAYBE 1 OUT OF 1000 CHANCE BUT I GOT IT.

And this time round the flaws are just too OBVIOUS to ignore. A cluster of scratches on both lens!!!! And they are right at the centre field of vision!!!! How could the QC have MISSED IT?!!!?? Either they are sleeping on their jobs or they KNEW but decided to pass thru hoping shop QC also go thru then hope customer oso bochap!!!!! Knn !@#$%$@

So bro, 2 shops in a row, 2 sets of flaws in a row. Not counting my past experiences. But recent times quality workmanship and QC have deteriorated alot. 10-20 years ago are much better. I know cos i buy specs more than 30years. I go to more than 30 shops made over 100 pairs of specs.

Actually im not a v demanding person though i have high expectations. Sg life demands high expectations of what we do so its natural that we have high expectatations of what we buy! I mean my boss and clients can screw me for simple mistake yet when i buy expensive lenses they can anyhow mishandle them!! How else to explain the scratches if the lab ple do their job carefully? I mean these are lenses we wear on our eyes every second. Yar u tell me my new furniture got scratches i dont give a heck cos its really not important. But optical glasses??? Especially u wear over your eyes all the time!!! Im more pissed off when the shop didnt do a good QC check before telling me to collect. I suspect many staff do not QC. My suspicions. How many are really so diligent when they arent the ones paying???

So i make it a point and i advise all to check properly before leaving the shop. Dont take QC for granted. To the best of our interests best QC yourself. DONT TRUST BLINDLY!!!

Anyway i am waiting for a replacement have to wsit further 2 weeks endure the strain longer. Mood is rather down. V disappointed.

jervin88

Haha got replacement can liao. I also dunno why uurs so many problems. Since u say its a cluster of scratches. U better stop going to that shop again. Cluster is bad. I dunno how the shop even give it to u to damage their own reputation. I dont see why.
The shop must be not thanking right. They most likely half blind since they missed that big cluster of scratches. They just damaged their own reputation so I believe they will not do well in any point of time.
Other than that, basing on majority, I believe not many experience such bad workmanships. Thats why I dare generalise that most are happy. Minority gets the bad jobs like u unluckily. U super suay. 30shops all lousy job. I think u better get some shop recommendations from our guys here hopefully they can help u.
Chill out

Seannie

Haha got replacement can liao. I also dunno why uurs so many problems. Since u say its a cluster of scratches. U better stop going to that shop again. Cluster is bad. I dunno how the shop even give it to u to damage their own reputation. I dont see why.
The shop must be not thanking right. They most likely half blind since they missed that big cluster of scratches. They just damaged their own reputation so I believe they will not do well in any point of time.
Other than that, basing on majority, I believe not many experience such bad workmanships. Thats why I dare generalise that most are happy. Minority gets the bad jobs like u unluckily. U super suay. 30shops all lousy job. I think u better get some shop recommendations from our guys here hopefully they can help u.
Chill out

when one is suay, there is no hope becos even go to the recommended shop other ple do ok ok but i go suay suay kena probs one. Happened again and again, i think something to do with my destiny. Fated to live with substandards. Not say all 30 shops are lousy la. Just saying most jobs nowadays, my % higher maybe im suay. And i suspect not the shop staff mishandle the lenses, most likely its the lab people and mine is RX. Unless u tell me the despatch rider always road accidents whole package bump here and there and kena scratched lar, this i dunnoe alry. Otherwise it comes from the lab or lens supplier. not sure whether are scratches though look like so, becos its one bunch same line patterns on both lenses and occuring at same location, i mean how can scratches so uniform pattern and location? Im confounded!!! Unless its internal coating prob? Hard coat? AR coat? i dunoe where went wrong. Anyway too many coatings may not be a good thing. Cos the more layers needed to apply in the cleanroom, probably more prone to errors. Bubbles formation i can accept if not too many. One optician explained to me that tiny bubbles are unavoidable, im ok with that. But cluster of lines? Really cant take it. Its essilor crizal UV prevencia by the way. Not saying duravision is perfect, also has its problems too. cheaper lens seem lesser such occurence, maybe becos they have lesser coatings applied? i think decades ago those uncoated lens still the best. Missed those days!

jervin88

No leh. Shd be ok one. Visible scratches is not ok. Those really inside one minor is ok. But ur cluater really too much la. your optician is stating the facts but its not an excuse to give u a lens with bubbles inside. Because I see so many ppl lens all no bubble or visible scratches. All look ok with nakrd eye. So why think so much abt coating. Last time and now coating samr one. Hard coat multi reflection coat.

jervin88

Bro anyway, u dun have to miss those days. U can still orser uncoated lens. Is u who choose not to. U can always buy one now or request for uncoat. Logic.
I hope the new lens come better. They cannot just blame the lab for the scratches. In the first place they didnt even check the lens when they receive from the lab. Lab got their own qc one. So really sifficult to say whether is the shop pushing the blame to the lab or not. With a shop that does this, what can we deduce from it?? Not professional probably.

Seannie

No leh. Shd be ok one. Visible scratches is not ok. Those really inside one minor is ok. But ur cluater really too much la. your optician is stating the facts but its not an excuse to give u a lens with bubbles inside. Because I see so many ppl lens all no bubble or visible scratches. All look ok with nakrd eye. So why think so much abt coating. Last time and now coating samr one. Hard coat multi reflection coat.

that optician said no lens will have 100% bubble free. quite true lar even best lens also will have one or two bubble, very heng then got none. u knoe nowadays v hard for me to get one with no scratches with no bubbles, v v rare unless those cheap lens.. what u mean by those scratches inside one is ok? u mean scratches inside coating can be seen meh how u noe?

Seannie

Bro anyway, u dun have to miss those days. U can still orser uncoated lens. Is u who choose not to. U can always buy one now or request for uncoat. Logic.
I hope the new lens come better. They cannot just blame the lab for the scratches. In the first place they didnt even check the lens when they receive from the lab. Lab got their own qc one. So really sifficult to say whether is the shop pushing the blame to the lab or not. With a shop that does this, what can we deduce from it?? Not professional probably.

lab also not professional wat.. never QC properly then send the lens to shop? so end up the fault is me. I am being too "difficult" like oldbread said.

anyway, this round redo they will check properly, but how abt the nextime? Tings will keep recurring right? I cant possibly everytime got to request them to send back lab right?

But likely if i go to same shop often they will know my pattern liao and be careful with me nextime. That is provided the same staff handles me, if staff left and come in new staff then problems again. How ah? Life is difficult man.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.