The Spectacles Thread.

ahboy82

Hi bros,

aiming to get a branded spectacles like coach, gucci, braun buffel etc. Took a walk in queensway shopping centre recently and realized there got many optical stores. Anyone got any recommendation whether those stores are good>

ilikehandphones

gonna get my ma-ji masatomo this weekend...was offered around 300++ for the frame and crizal 1.67. any other recommendation for lenses?

chiriko

Hi. I wanna check if it is overpriced/expensive/chop carrothead $400 for a coach spectacles with lens (Deluxe 1.67 UV400 EMI HMC) from optical88.

gutianleong

Hi guys, thinking of getting Mykita specs. Is it good to get my friend to buy back from munich? Or would USA be a good place to get it, considering the superb exchange rate? I see it on some USA websites, not too sure if they are reliable and genuine products. Very expensive in Singapore. Thanks!

guitarcade

Shameless plug:
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?p=58183941#post58183941

Selling this! BRAND NEW!
5631aa5a.jpg

93b78294.jpg

Jargon

Hi bros, i'm thinking of giving the crizal A2 lens a try. Any shop to recommend where I can get it at a reasonable price (around 300 degrees per eye)? Preferably east side and with a good selection of frames as well :) Thks

Agamemnon

Actually, to select shops based other than on the prices of the specs/lens, what about the eye testing expertise of the shops i.e. electronic / manual testing skills etc or is this taken as a generic/basic service already? I had been going to my regular optician for years to get the specs/lens together there. But the range of specs very limited. Unless I get specs from another shop & make the lens at my optician. But all-in costs usually higher right? Thks.

seriousbuyer0000

hey anyone knows where i can get my tag heuer frames repaired?

i'm not sure if my warranty is over or not. so i would appreciate anyone who can tell me of an authorized repair shop and a 3rd party one.

basically one side of the nosepad arm broke.

thanks bros

any help anyone? would really appreciate it

Badb0y07

Hey guys where can I try Oakley coilover? Very very interested and might hoot one but first, the fitting.

Looking at shops near AMK area.

knoogy

Any optical shop to recommend in Ang Mo Kio to make lens?
Reliable and reasonable price

Thanks

galapogos

I'm looking for a new pair of glasses (frame + lens). The optician that I usually make my glasses with has closed shop a few years ago so I'm not sure where to go. Any recommendations for shops in the north/north-east area (Serangoon, AMK, Hougang, Bishan)?

I was looking around some shops, and the Oakley Bottle Rocket 2.1 caught my eye, but according to the shop Oakleys are fixed price, is this true?

Anyway, looking to get affordable frames, hopefully as close to 2 digit as possible (yes I'm a cheapo). Lens wise, not too sure, but probably high index and scratch resistant?

cowed77

Mr champion, for the most part oakleys are fixed price, unless u cross the sea bridge.

But wat most shops can do is give u a discount on the lens. I got my muffler + lens for 400 - 420 iirc.

earthyblue

I'm looking for a new pair of glasses (frame + lens). The optician that I usually make my glasses with has closed shop a few years ago so I'm not sure where to go. Any recommendations for shops in the north/north-east area (Serangoon, AMK, Hougang, Bishan)?

I was looking around some shops, and the Oakley Bottle Rocket 2.1 caught my eye, but according to the shop Oakleys are fixed price, is this true?

Anyway, looking to get affordable frames, hopefully as close to 2 digit as possible (yes I'm a cheapo). Lens wise, not too sure, but probably high index and scratch resistant?

Actually you should try Johor Bahru. Seriously optical shops in Singapore are really going for the kills. I don't mind paying $50-$100 more in SG. But if spend $600 in SG for a pair of specs, I can get it for $600 ringgit in JB.

bacon

Any recommended optometrists? Preferably in the West side. My niece sometimes complains about her glasses making her dizzy. I thought I should take her to a proper optometrist for a checkup.

galapogos

Mr champion, for the most part oakleys are fixed price, unless u cross the sea bridge.

But wat most shops can do is give u a discount on the lens. I got my muffler + lens for 400 - 420 iirc.
This year champion not me lah. Anyway, I don't need Oakleys, they just look nice. I can accept a brandless one, as long as they are durable. Most frames I've had are brandless, and most of them lasted many many years (I've had my current ones since 2006). So any good cheap opticians with a good selection in my area?

Actually you should try Johor Bahru. Seriously optical shops in Singapore are really going for the kills. I don't mind paying $50-$100 more in SG. But if spend $600 in SG for a pair of specs, I can get it for $600 ringgit in JB.
I really don't like going to JB, and also have no time to anyway.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.