The Spectacles Thread.

Seannie

oh, if you have a typical east asian head(big and round bumps at the side) , ask your optician to open up the legs and curve the back tips in to flush with your head .
I do that with my glases if they slide.

I was thinking about the oakley old designs when they used really dense materials . you can chuck them around and they'll really last.

back when they only cost $1-200

Yes typical broad head with the sides broader. That is why i cannot wear straight temples. I can only look for japanese frames that have curved temples. The designs have the curve built-in to ensure a better fit than those that require the legs to be opened up & curved at the back.

Oakleys are too heavy & not curved enough for me. I have a titanium oakley sitting in my cupboard at hme because i felt it too heavy.

Seannie

I've even known one lady who makes her maid unscrew the nosepads every night to clean them with a toothbrush.

maybe cannot cope with the demand so QC drop...

I pity that poor maid. Very sinful thing to do.

That is why cannot buy too branded. Must be reasonably branded so that QC can be kept in check.

holmie

hey people.. vision link at yew tee selling tag heuer damn cheap..can buy online somemore

VisionLink Optical and Contact Lens | Singapore's Premier Online Store for branded eye wear such as Braun Buffel, Mercedes and many more!

by the way i wanna make a pair of spec online..probably at

Glasses & Designer Sunglasses Online | Prescription Glasses from £6

i wanna make from there as price and shipping cheap.. gonna get oakley crosslink..

BUT i need to get my eye reading rite? can go any specs shop? will they give? accurate not?

Help anybody??

oldbreadstinks

I get wat you mean. Heavier at the temple end in order to balance the front part. Im just curious, if the back is heavier, wont the weight at the back also gets transferred to our nose in front as well? Or is the weight distribution at the back just limited to our ears only? I have tried Zen eyewear before, and like what you have said, the frame is pretty heavy when felt on the hands but when worn on the face dont really feel heavy. But due to my worry of the weight, I have not actually bought one to try it out yet. I may consider testing this point out in the future to see how well this theory holds water. ;)

At the current moment, I only dare to wear titanium frames as I find that minimising the entire weight of my spectacles is very important. You are right in that my prescription is very high, as such my lenses are inevitably heavy, even though I have alreday used super high index & double aspheric design to cut the weight.

ok for me, I practically dumped my first pair of adult glasses (very big thick nerdy type)
because it felt horrible. on top of that I look (according to a girl) like a murderous rapist.(once I stopped and thanked the girl who held the lift open for me and smiled and when you're not moving, your perspiration condenses on the lenses and fogs up just as I gave her eye to eye contact..... she cringed......zzzz......)

then I switched to swissflex, polycarb lenses, still super light(low power)
but it felt like a brick to me because I'm not use to the feel
but once I got used to the feel.(1 year) even my original glasses felt "ok"

then from there I realised my swissflex were originally supposed to be curled behind my head instead of bent behind my ears.
so for a lot of straight templed frames I started doing that and they stop slipping.

the actual weight distrubution is behind the ears, and the frame must fit your head size so that you have the extra length to tuck it in(the thicker heavier part of the tips) to grip the head.
assuming the frame is suitable the weight should be distributed evenly left right and center so that you would not feel the weight at the front.
but take note, for those who are sensitive it make not help since it would then create other problems.

I feel lah, don't shoot me, double aspherical don't reduce weight that much since most who use it, desperate already , super thick not much to reduce.
but those high astig ones especially funny axis like 30 will feel more comfortable with less distortion. tia gong lens saleman say one about the distortion.

oldbreadstinks

I pity that poor maid. Very sinful thing to do.

That is why cannot buy too branded. Must be reasonably branded so that QC can be kept in check.

she only stays in sg 4 mths each year... her maid travels with her poor maid?

it's the sudden change of their overlords and increase in demand lor

american stuff usually chunkier but sturdy.... italian.... I think should stick to fur skin and wood.

ohj81

oldbreadstinks, thanks for the update. Wah! Quality has deteriorated so much? Welding coming off!

Ah! Your earsock lasted so long? For me, it is half a year max.

Still have to go back service centre. Now at Outram, more out of the way.

I going to try ByWP next. Actually wanted to make a Oakley Transistor, luckily din.

Mine earsock also max half a year. Probably retiring my wiretap finally. It is starting to have pittings liao. =(

ohj81

ok for me, I practically dumped my first pair of adult glasses (very big thick nerdy type)
because it felt horrible. on top of that I look (according to a girl) like a murderous rapist.(once I stopped and thanked the girl who held the lift open for me and smiled and when you're not moving, your perspiration condenses on the lenses and fogs up just as I gave her eye to eye contact..... she cringed......zzzz......)

then I switched to swissflex, polycarb lenses, still super light(low power)
but it felt like a brick to me because I'm not use to the feel
but once I got used to the feel.(1 year) even my original glasses felt "ok"

then from there I realised my swissflex were originally supposed to be curled behind my head instead of bent behind my ears.
so for a lot of straight templed frames I started doing that and they stop slipping.

the actual weight distrubution is behind the ears, and the frame must fit your head size so that you have the extra length to tuck it in(the thicker heavier part of the tips) to grip the head.
assuming the frame is suitable the weight should be distributed evenly left right and center so that you would not feel the weight at the front.
but take note, for those who are sensitive it make not help since it would then create other problems.

I feel lah, don't shoot me, double aspherical don't reduce weight that much since most who use it, desperate already , super thick not much to reduce.
but those high astig ones especially funny axis like 30 will feel more comfortable with less distortion. tia gong lens saleman say one about the distortion.

Have you tried Silhouette? I have a pair for close to 6 yrs, still one of my favourite. Only change the lens cos the lens get scratched super easy.

oldbreadstinks

Yes typical broad head with the sides broader. That is why i cannot wear straight temples. I can only look for japanese frames that have curved temples. The designs have the curve built-in to ensure a better fit than those that require the legs to be opened up & curved at the back.

Oakleys are too heavy & not curved enough for me. I have a titanium oakley sitting in my cupboard at hme because i felt it too heavy.

oakley I think you have to take bracket 8.1 or something.
the rest to me .... to light and fluffy , even though I like transistor. but head too big cannot wear.

oldbreadstinks

Have you tried Silhouette? I have a pair for close to 6 yrs, still one of my favourite. Only change the lens cos the lens get scratched super easy.

rimless usually polycarb for impact resistance so they'll scratch easier??

if you're not worried about breakage can switch to hoya 1.6 . quite scratch resistant even if other aspects lose out.
tough enough for normal wear but can't block off punches and golf balls

oldbreadstinks

nope, too mature for me. they're pretty tough since no screws but the presence is too weak... look too "decent"

oldbreadstinks

Still have to go back service centre. Now at Outram, more out of the way.

I going to try ByWP next. Actually wanted to make a Oakley Transistor, luckily din.

Mine earsock also max half a year. Probably retiring my wiretap finally. It is starting to have pittings liao. =(

last half year ones..... comfirm never wash glasses everyday :D nosepads all green or brown liao.

oldbreadstinks

I wash everyday... but the earsocks still turn sticky and disintegrate. The quality getting from bad to worse.

ok lol I remove the ear socks before I wash then blow dry and put back.

the sweat really eats into the rubber

same thing for tag heuer reflex for the old legs. new ones I tia gong got improvement but not sure

sgt_hippo

hey people.. vision link at yew tee selling tag heuer damn cheap..can buy online somemore

VisionLink Optical and Contact Lens | Singapore's Premier Online Store for branded eye wear such as Braun Buffel, Mercedes and many more!

by the way i wanna make a pair of spec online..probably at

Glasses & Designer Sunglasses Online | Prescription Glasses from £6

i wanna make from there as price and shipping cheap.. gonna get oakley crosslink..

BUT i need to get my eye reading rite? can go any specs shop? will they give? accurate not?

u call the tag heuer prices cheap?

:s13::s13:

oldbreadstinks

retail price for reflex is 620 SGD.
its possible to get 608 or less with crizal lenses and full warranty. at my old place

if got shop willing to break rules desperate for sales 30% off undertable with warranty $430 only slightly more than online liao

wait... I think there was an increase in price half year ago so maybe640 is correct

but at that price not possible to give warranty

might as well buy overseas cheaper

sgt_hippo

retail price for reflex is 620 SGD.
its possible to get 608 or less with crizal lenses and full warranty. at my old place

if got shop willing to break rules desperate for sales 30% off undertable with warranty $430 only slightly more than online liao

wait... I think there was an increase in price half year ago so maybe640 is correct

but at that price not possible to give warranty

might as well buy overseas cheaper

how come the price u quote, is cheaper with lens den without lens

:s22:

Tag Heuer track 7103 in SG retail is how much ah?

xxllbb

any recommendations where to get lens fitted and buy contact lens in bulk around north east area? i have a prescription. thanks.

oldbreadstinks

how come the price u quote, is cheaper with lens den without lens

:s22:

Tag Heuer track 7103 in SG retail is how much ah?

before I left and before the increment

620 was retail(before customers bargain)
if you only get 10% less authorized dealers it works out to 558

but they were doing that offer with 1.56 crizal so it works out as a set to $608
I think the sign said opening sales so probably were doing opening sales.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.