The Spectacles Thread.

chengs21

bad as in its like having some green green thing.which is quite irritating.
how much does it cost?

my specs is over 3 years liao

Seannie

It has been a while since i last used a "L - shaped" temple specs, previously mainly oakley straight temples. Hence initially felt a bit weird with the temple touching the back of my ear. Getting use to it now. There is slight sliding down on my nose, maybe because of my oily face and personal preference to have it right at the top of my nose bridge.

I have used Oakelys, Levis (heavy sucky stuff), and some unbranded frames.
Oakleys - Wiretap, box-spring, evade, wingspan.

How is the LC-002 ? Have you collected it?

hi raptor, i am quite similar to you as in I also like to wear it high up my nose, but no matter how high its perched on my nose, still tends to slide down, just whether more or less depending on the distance of the nose pads. When im wearing oakley it slides even more, and i have to get the nosepads adjusted closer together. It is unavoidable that specs will slide, for me i have to keep wiping and clearing the oil off my nose bridge & ears a few times a day so that my spec will have a better hold. I have already employed best possible solution, which is minimising the weight of the spec so that sliding can reduce. Silicon nosepads seem to be an option, but they get worn off pretty easily & algae grows (as in the case of oakleys mentioned by some here). So i suppose plastic is more durable & lasting. Just have to be more troublesome spending extra effort to wipe the oil off.

Have not collected LC002, RX lens take longer maybe this week or the next. It will become my private collection, going to be stored away neatly in my private drawer. Not ready to use it just yet.

Malakite

Hi guys, need some advice regarding sunglasses.

Is it better to have a dedicated pair of sunglasses as opposed to a pair of transitions specs?

I used to own a pair way back, the transitions never seem to tint dark enough, I still end up squinting some.

The one I got quoted at the optical shop is by crizal. With my 400 plus degree and astima, lenses was about 400.
OK pricing?

So guys, I'd really want to hear your thoughts on specs + sunnies or transitions.

TIA!

CombatKrieg

I have a separate pair of shades, glasses are normal Hoya I got sometime ago.

Don't really fancy the transitions thingy since it's so sunny in Singapore...

ComPuiTer

will anyone buy this type of frame for ard SGD 370? Specialeyes...anyone heard of it? Review?

8983_spe-8316-1

atypical

hi raptor, i am quite similar to you as in I also like to wear it high up my nose, but no matter how high its perched on my nose, still tends to slide down, just whether more or less depending on the distance of the nose pads. When im wearing oakley it slides even more, and i have to get the nosepads adjusted closer together. It is unavoidable that specs will slide, for me i have to keep wiping and clearing the oil off my nose bridge & ears a few times a day so that my spec will have a better hold. I have already employed best possible solution, which is minimising the weight of the spec so that sliding can reduce. Silicon nosepads seem to be an option, but they get worn off pretty easily & algae grows (as in the case of oakleys mentioned by some here). So i suppose plastic is more durable & lasting. Just have to be more troublesome spending extra effort to wipe the oil off.

Have not collected LC002, RX lens take longer maybe this week or the next. It will become my private collection, going to be stored away neatly in my private drawer. Not ready to use it just yet.

I take a different approach to prevent my frame from sliding down my oily nose and ears:

I go for temple length 145mm minimum, lens distance 16-19mm with narrower nose-pads spread. Lens width 50-55mm gives me the best overall frame width, depending on frame design. I do lens at 1.67 index most frequently because it gives me the best dollar-to-weight ratio. Not really a fan of metal. Handmade Celluloid is a material to behold. :D

Raptor1

I take a different approach to prevent my frame from sliding down my oily nose and ears:

I go for temple length 145mm minimum, lens distance 16-19mm with narrower nose-pads spread. Lens width 50-55mm gives me the best overall frame width, depending on frame design. I do lens at 1.67 index most frequently because it gives me the best dollar-to-weight ratio. Not really a fan of metal. Handmade Celluloid is a material to behold. :D
Any Celluloid material brand to recommend? Hehe.. may plan to make 1 "fun" specs :D
I don't think i will go for handmade unless its cheap.. :p

Malakite

Hmm, are there any real benefits to buying an Oakley frame if I don't use the lenses due to prescription? Interested in getting the Cross link.

Seannie

hmmm.. actually i have already been practising what you have shared with us. My ideal temple length is 138mm. If i take 134-136 will be too short for my ears (my right ear is situated further back than my left). If i take 145mm it will be too long for my left ear. Sigh.. So best optimal length i figure out for myself is 138 - 140mm. Lens distance actually quite standardised in the market, most frequently seen are 17-18. For me since i prefer less sliding down my nose bridge, lens distance of 14-15mm will be a preferable choice. I have a theory here to share not sure if accurate or not. My measured PD (pupil distance is 69mm), so i should find total frame length that concides with 69mm to get the best optical centre & focus? For example, lets say i choose frame size of 55 so after adding the lens distance of 14 total = 69 (same as my PD). This should provide the best optical vision for me? If i choose frame size of 54 then i will need to take lens dist. of 15 because 54+15=69, and frame size of 53 will correspond with lens dist of 16 and so on. However, due to my head width i dont think i can take 53, as 53+53+16 = 122mm which too tight on the sides of my head. Currently, my Dun frame is size 55/17/138. The total width is 55+55+17 = 127mm which ensures that the spectacle frame side temples do not touch the sides of my head, but only at my ears. So comparing this 127mm to the aforementioned 122mm it is wider by 5mm. This is how i derived my ideal measurements.

As for lens index i only do 1.67 bi-aspheric minimises the lens thickness and indirectly weight of the lens. I can only do metal frames, as i need nosepads to support & prevent slippage. Plastic frames always slide down unless i can find a very exact measurement frame to match my feature & oily skin texture. I used to do plastic, but has seen given up on it, as I think the fit is not so suited to me. :D

Seannie

Brand: Specialeyes
Made in Jipun

i have seen & tried on this brand at spectacle culture before. Surprisingly light. Made of a special type of plastic polymer which is high resistant & not easily spoilt no matter how u bend or twist it. The material feels v soft as well. However, i am not too sure of its performance level. As this is still a very new brand, even my optician has no reviews from customers so far yet. My concern is whether this type of plastic material can retain its shape well after prolonged usage. Usually normal plastic will go out of shape more easily than metal frames. Which is why i dont fancy plastic as much as atypical guy does. :D

By the way, special eyes frames utilises silicon nosepads (not the usual type but rather bendable types) and the earsocks are made of silicon as well (quite similar concept to ic!berlin). Design wise i feel that it is imitating & taking the designs of a few brands together to come out with its own. Not so creative in my opinion. Only thing special is in its material. Colour wise, seems to be only black, grey or white.

I am also trying to find out more about this brand, but according to atypical dont seem to be able to find any website links to it.

atypical

..... which ensures that the spectacle frame side temples do not touch the sides of my head, but only at my ears. .....

Why temples should not touch the side of head but only at the ears ah? Like that can hold meh?

Seannie

Why temples should not touch the side of head but only at the ears ah? Like that can hold meh?

For a comfort fit. A frame can only touch your face at 3 points:
1) At your nose bridge
2) At the top of your ears
3) At the sides of your head above your ears
These three points will provide the pressure for the grip, which is why the ends of the temples ought to be bent in slightly instead of being straight, the technical term called side bow. The more side bow the better hold. If you hold by the sides of your head, your spec will only slide down more esp if your head is the broad type & oily type.
Dont forget that our heads are asian structure, meaning the sides more protruding at the centre and narrower at the back (the place near the ears) as such the temple ends must bend in at the correct angle as well. When choosing frame width ang mohs can go for size 51 but for us at least 53 or 54 to feel comfortable. Our head width is about 5-6mm broader than the ang mohs and our nose bridge is also about 1mm wider.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.