The Spectacles Thread.

Kenneth C

Progressive with transition lens is about there especially the better ones. If you are quoted a Zeiss Individual Framefit (which is customise) 1.67 with transition it can cost up to $2k+. A Essilor S series 4D 1.67 with transition is list at $27xx+. Even after some discount it can be pretty expensive.
All those are only lens and no frame.
If you have not made any progressive lens before, try some mid range ones before moving up. Having said that $1200+ may be the slightly above average ones only especially for brands like Zeiss and Essilor.

I have a pair of progressive with transition. Works wonder. Paid above 1 K for the lens too.

Seannie

haha if you don't know it is better, used to be called bifocal.
Now it is progressive. How technology advances.
It is for old people lah.:s13:

If i dont earn enough money now when im younger, it will hit me when im old and needs progressive lens but cant afford it then im worse than dying lor. :( BY then progressives might cost over 2k maybe? :eek: How to afford spectacles like that? Go surgery better

nuky8181

Oh..... wao so exp.... 1k plus. Hope in 10 plus year time it will be cheaper then I can afford it. haha....

den888

Actually can always make 2 pairs for both the near and far sighted problem. May be cheaper.
Progressive also have many different types, not all are that expensive. However if you want wide vision near, intermediate and far as well as all the bells and whistle that comes with it you will have to pay. Be warned. Once you are in to the good modern progressive lens it is difficult to go back.

If i dont earn enough money now when im younger, it will hit me when im old and needs progressive lens but cant afford it then im worse than dying lor. :( BY then progressives might cost over 2k maybe? :eek: How to afford spectacles like that? Go surgery better

Oh..... wao so exp.... 1k plus. Hope in 10 plus year time it will be cheaper then I can afford it. haha....

Seannie

Actually can always make 2 pairs for both the near and far sighted problem. May be cheaper.
Progressive also have many different types, not all are that expensive. However if you want wide vision near, intermediate and far as well as all the bells and whistle that comes with it you will have to pay. Be warned. Once you are in to the good modern progressive lens it is difficult to go back.

ofcos canot turn back, once you upgrade to condo private house, who in their right mind can revert to live in a hdb pigeon hole?

ever since i started using hoya premium nulux EP lenses i can never go back to those CR39 standard lenses anymore.

If lenses go up to crazy prices only way is to go surgery, then wear blank frames or sunglasses for fashion.

Kenneth C

Once you reach certain age, you will need progressive lens unless you opt for surgery.

CloudKami

hi i'm new to this, used to make glasses without going into those indepth details. But decided to get a proper pair of glasses before i start working. What is the difference between a normal i.e 1.67 lens against a branded 1.67 lens by crizal, hoya etc?

Also, is it possible to just purchase any kind of frames online and let the optician fix a lens for it since prices of frames seemed to jacked up high here compared to online purchases. But will there be any constrains like; lens won't fit the frames for someone with high myopia (800-900 degrees)?

Thanks, really appreciate any advice or recommendations as i don't want to be ripped off!

jjxgogo

hi i'm new to this, used to make glasses without going into those indepth details. But decided to get a proper pair of glasses before i start working. What is the difference between a normal i.e 1.67 lens against a branded 1.67 lens by crizal, hoya etc?

Also, is it possible to just purchase any kind of frames online and let the optician fix a lens for it since prices of frames seemed to jacked up high here compared to online purchases. But will there be any constrains like; lens won't fit the frames for someone with high myopia (800-900 degrees)?

Thanks, really appreciate any advice or recommendations as i don't want to be ripped off!

Hi, branded lenses like crizal and hoya normally come with their own brand coating which represent better quality.
You can always purchase a frame online and ask any optical shop to fix lens for it, but dunt get regret that dislike the real stuff or low quality of that frame. coz your lens is not gng to be cheap.

jjxgogo

Hi everyone, just wondering that why singapore got no optical shop sell frame+lens package ? like three price fixed.. went to japan last time saw at least two optical shop is selling package fixed price for trendy frames plus japan made lenses(they claimed). the most expensive convert to SGD is about 120..

jarvisjudas

Hi guys, looking to do my first transition lens spectacles. Any recommendation for shops to do it? I already bought my own frame from overseas.

Seri02

My 1st Progressive

Hi, just ordered a pair of my 1st progressive lenses with normal frame cost me $380 . It's Essilor . Bargain like what but not able to get anything less.Any comment?

Seri02

Wah! Cheap lo!

Really cheap?? If not Essilor can get much cheaper but since am 1st timer - he mention minimum adjustment and to be exact - he said $380 just for the lenses - frame was 'free' that's why cannot choose - normal one ah. I also
Ask how to make sure am getting the Essilor lenses and not just so called - Indonesian Progressive lenses and he mention a card from Essilor with my details will be issued. Let's wsit till next week and ill update.:)

den888

For the price with frame is considered OK (on the lower side).
Of course Essilor also have many different type of progressive lens. Essilor low end range of progressive lens start from Liberty and the next range up is Comfort continued with Physio and Ipsio but the last few can actually be replaced by their S Series of progressive lens like Design, 3D and 4D. I always think the entry level of progressive lens from Essilor is the Comfort range. It is good to start from the lower level (also cheaper) and move up. In time you will realized the benefit of the better range of progressive lens.

Really cheap?? If not Essilor can get much cheaper but since am 1st timer - he mention minimum adjustment and to be exact - he said $380 just for the lenses - frame was 'free' that's why cannot choose - normal one ah. I also
Ask how to make sure am getting the Essilor lenses and not just so called - Indonesian Progressive lenses and he mention a card from Essilor with my details will be issued. Let's wsit till next week and ill update.:)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.