The Spectacles Thread.

noobzpro

hmmm wif all this fight...i think i shud siam jap lens and get zeiss le...

ahboy82

fight simi la like that also want to fight.

those who refuse to believe either nikon is better or hoya better, then just hoot 2 specs with one of each and compare yrself. ask for advice but refuse to believe den ask for wat?

Mancunian2

hoya is not a known brand in japan so you can forget abt asking japanese people again. Hoya is only famous over here. Optician here used to say nikon is good but not now anymore. Camera lens maybe but not for spectacle lenses. I tried once, damn blur. Then hoya never disappoints me, so i never look back. So its not a case of bias here. Its gauranteed alrdy. Don say i dont tell you guys. Later got problems not clear or you got chopped dont frown or kek sim okie.

tokia could be more known in japan. Seiko? Forget that also lar. Its being phased off liao. just like AO. Anybody did AO before? I did the last batch of AO before it was phased out even in msia. Its cheap. But reasearch & technology is old.

So. Hoya is your best choice la. Dont think liao. Just hoot first. :s12:

Paris miki Hoya 1.6 + frames package $138 good deal anot?
How much is the lens by itself?

How much more for Nikon?

oldbreadstinks

I think a lot of you don't realize what I meant by "political" when it comes to lenses
Certain shops may favour certain brands
And with more and more people who can afford better stuff buying from shopping centres. You'll encounter chain stores who have an alliance.
One obvious link is Optical 88/ thong sia / Seiko
How it's going to go from here since Hoya and Seiko now have a chummy relationship, no one knows
But it's not that for nikon/essilor . Although someone seems think so
As for sola / ao/ Zeiss. . As for as I know, there are going to be some big changes for consumers in the next few years

Another thing is, for those who haven't noticed, only Japanese lenses have bi -asp lenses.
Which is why for anyone who favors any brands here... it's pretty much hogwash to me.
It's common sense, if "brand X" is so damn good everyone else would be dead by now, but results shows Essilor's marketing allows them to possibly control up to either 3/5 or 3/4 of the market.. pretty much means Hoya as a brand isn't cutting it.

Hoya lenses with sft coating vs Nikon see coat with both being bi - as would not have discerning differences. No matter what some people may think.
Tokai has good lenses too. Same specs
But why some brands are more recommended, even in Japan, in fact especially in Japan. as I say again, isn't due to the product itself but the company's policies toward its customers

oldbreadstinks

Fight? Chill people.

Any recommendation for quality "acetate" glasses specifically in tortoiseshell colour?

Alain Mikli used to be quite good. If you can find old stock

Lindberg ?

Cost wise on the cheaper end there's Levi's if you don't like nose pads, along with evisu. But with screws they tend to loosen quickly.

Prodesign ? From Denmark. Ordinary design but don't seem to break easily.

Personally speaking, I do not think there is too much of a difference in quality for acetate frames below $400 .

oldbreadstinks

its common anecdotal then. many feel that way too, not just me alone. just letting u guys know. but anyway if choose not to take my words also ok lar. No problems. To each his own risk. Willing take risk explore its ok. As long as you dont feel kek sim if u dont like the final product.

Nikon lenses i had before the multicoating is terrible (1.67 aspherical). The customised 1.67 double aspheric also had before, no coating problem, but problem with the clarity and the edging as well. Specially ordered lenses from japan i had the card even. Not sure where it was edged, maybe local nikon lab. But the edging work is sub standard. To you maybe its acceptable. But not to me. The lens obviously did not fit into the groove as well as i would have liked.

So far, hoya does not have many fitting problems. MAybe once in a blue moon there is exceptional one-off cases. BUt not always. Their quality is checked & controlled.

If you ask me between essilor & hoya, please choose hoya.

Nikon is already eaten up by essilor, whereas AO eaten up by Zeiss. NOt sure seiko kena eaten up or not cant remember. Hoya still standing. If the day when hoya's numbers are up, i switch to zeiss if no other choices left. Think for yourselves, how good are companies which become eaten up? Nikon now becomes under essilor. Will essilor promote and put more effort research into their own brand or the nikon?

Exceptional one off cases? Lol they're exceptional, but definitely not one off :s13:

Imperado

Thinking of making a new spec.. however im driving and sometimes the reflection is just too strong.. Any recommendation of sunglasses with degrees and astig?

Or should I just make transition? But hows transition lens when using computer?

oldbreadstinks

hmmm wif all this fight...i think i shud siam jap lens and get zeiss le...

They actually offer different things . Service different segments of the market.
Zeiss can be really great lens but you can't buy their run of the mill stuff.
It's their premium stuff that allows them to remain market leaders

oldbreadstinks

Thinking of making a new spec.. however im driving and sometimes the reflection is just too strong.. Any recommendation of sunglasses with degrees and astig?

Or should I just make transition? But hows transition lens when using computer?

No difference for computer, although the lens is naturally slightly yellow

Some may feel that's helpful.

Try polarized sunglasses?

oldbreadstinks

I've been looking and search around, just to find out there isn't much choice when it comes to this type of frame with prescription specs. I took quite some interests in Ray Ban Wayfarer, but I don't want the sunglasses...

Any idea where can find shop selling big range of wayfarere frame for prescription specs??

Queensway" sengli "

They had a large range of sunglasses. Not sure about wayfarers
Some immediate neighbors carry rayban too.
Capitol in anchorpoint used to carry a nice range of wayfarers but not sure about these days. They still have ray bans though

Joelleyuan

Hey experts here, does anyone know which optical shop or branch carry Giorgio Armani frames?
I'm looking for a specific model GA899. tho can order online, but would like to try it out to
see how it looks on my face....
Thanks in advance.

noobzpro

They actually offer different things . Service different segments of the market.
Zeiss can be really great lens but you can't buy their run of the mill stuff.
It's their premium stuff that allows them to remain market leaders

So which model will i be looking at? Im looking at premium lenses since the doctor didnt recommend lasik thus the cost of lasik is my budget to make 2 glasses... So i dun wan to cur cost for this glasses im about to make...but yet again my degree is only 100+ how premium can i get

ahhian

zeiss individual & tokai bi-as ???

but seriously, u r 100 degrees.

u do not hv to spend that kind of $ unless you choose to :)

So which model will i be looking at? Im looking at premium lenses since the doctor didnt recommend lasik thus the cost of lasik is my budget to make 2 glasses... So i dun wan to cur cost for this glasses im about to make...but yet again my degree is only 100+ how premium can i get

oldbreadstinks

Thanks! What about others above the $400 mark with nose pads?

Are "plastic" frames worth a premium similar to their "metal" opposites?

I do feel that the simpler the design the more lasting it is
So as long as the acetate frame can be supported with Asian fit without Nosepads go for that
Nosepads allow more adjustments to be done, allow a better for but requires more maintenance

I used to sell premium frames(something much higher than $400) , not pointing fingers but it's sad that certain brands used to be worth the price. But recently, last few years the cost cutting in getting into the design. Even the acetate feels.... softer.? They used to "aged" the stuff.

Same for metal frames really, weak points are joints and wielding areas
The less the better.

Above a certain price point it's just these areas that matter

I know some members here like dun, but it's meant for big heads. But frame wise, noticed how those selling glasses do not wear dun?

Premium frames, are fitted based on the look you want, not so much about value.
Would you like to look more casual? Maybe a thicker plastic colourful frame?
Look "colder " for work? A gunmetal titanium frame maybe.
So "worth" isn't a usual question, unless it's about a specific brand
More about personal preferences, if you like plastic you wouldn't take metal and vice versa

oldbreadstinks

Lol lenses wise. If you don't mind, Zeiss individual single vision cost $495

Bargain a bit and get it to $300-400 then request for duravision coating
And if you're getting Zeiss individual lenses, always remember. They MUST take all the measurements.
Pantoscopic tilt, vertex distance, pupilary distance, frame curvature
Ocular height.
Or the lens you buy would have no difference from a $80 pair of lenses
So sadly, before you buy from anyone, make sure they know what they're talking about.
Same goes for Essilor F360

oldbreadstinks

zeiss individual & tokai bi-as ???

but seriously, u r 100 degrees.

u do not hv to spend that kind of $ unless you choose to :)

Zeiss individual comes with 1.5 index. Not for the average customer of course. But it's apparently common in Europe enough for people to suggest maybe we should think differently and start charging based on lens design rather than material index.

Bi -as lenses if he's that prescription, is pretty funny
But other than reducing lens thickness, there's the function of reducing distortion as well.
Especially for people with astigmatism

It's not necessarily, but a difference between cherry QQ and a BMW on a rainy day.
80km/h would rattle the car like crazy for the cherry
120 feels like 80 for the BMW.

It's how the Germans still remain in business.

nidoking_sg

is there a general price list for lenses anywhere online?

Just made a pair of specs recently, and was quote $200 for Crizal Transitions and $300 for Crizal airwear and $170 for a generic Transitions lens for -1.00 and astigmatism +250. And korea made Swissflex copy frames at $120.

Not sure if the price is worth it.

noobzpro

Ok i called kwong shin they charge me 500 for zeiss individual transition. Can lower price if buy frame together. Are they recommended or any other place you guys recommend?

ahhian

plus minus eyepoint, holland drive.

Ok i called kwong shin they charge me 500 for zeiss individual transition. Can lower price if buy frame together. Are they recommended or any other place you guys recommend?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.