The Spectacles Thread.

ahyeo

Colour of multi-coat

I just had my spectacles made few days ago. The sale person told me that they are using lens by Essilor. Is it suppose to be good? She was saying the lens made in Japan is cheaper and of lower quality so I can get cheaper if I go for Japan lens. She never mention the brand.

Also, why some lens got purple coating, some got greenish coating? The sale lady told me they used better quality lens which is purple coating. But when i got my specs today, it was green coating. I feel so cheated. Haha.

Darkangle

I just had my spectacles made few days ago. The sale person told me that they are using lens by Essilor. Is it suppose to be good? She was saying the lens made in Japan is cheaper and of lower quality so I can get cheaper if I go for Japan lens. She never mention the brand.

Also, why some lens got purple coating, some got greenish coating? The sale lady told me they used better quality lens which is purple coating. But when i got my specs today, it was green coating. I feel so cheated. Haha.

Aiyah...seriously...all these rubbish 1 la...lens only who cares if higher or lower quality...cheap can liaos :D tell u better quality is to make u feel better nia

It's not impt...dun worry=:p

ahyeo

Any opticians to share their opinion? Also, my degree is -5.0 on each eye. The hi-index 1.67 lens I have still looks thick...The edge of the lens is about 4-5mm. Wonder if its really 1.67?

bangkibong

Any opticians to share their opinion? Also, my degree is -5.0 on each eye. The hi-index 1.67 lens I have still looks thick...The edge of the lens is about 4-5mm. Wonder if its really 1.67?

hi-index mean thinner lens but only center of the lens is thinner, the edge is still thick. If you choose even higher index, the edge will be thinner a bit, but it will still thicker than the center.

That's what I heard anyway and my last spec is hi index, thin only at the center, edge is also around 4mm. So I don't think you got cheated.

oh and hi index is thin STARTING from center, which means if you lens shape is big, it will get thicker and thicker at the edge. If you lens shape is small, the edge is not as as thick.

I guess hi index is not very useful unless you choose the very very hi index which will cost at least 500sgd

MiG123

hmm wad do you guys think about the oakley cosine series?

slyang87

Anyone know how much does Transition lens cost ?
for Polycarbonate lens (so called unbreakable type ), how much is it ?
wanna find out whether the shop quote is overpriced .

thks

CarpeDiem11

Anyone noe which place gt e widest range of designer eyewear collections(not sunglasses)?
Any place to recommend?

Been looking 4 TAGS but none of all the shops which I've visited gt all the models of a series leh..
sian.. dun understand how could 1 possibly order e frame 1st when they nv even wear, try & see if its compatible anot.. zzz..

Btw Slyang87, Transition lens cost arnd $200 - $300? for Polycarbonate lens arnd $90..
Cant confirmed wif u, been to too many shops..

Darkangle

Anyone noe which place gt e widest range of designer eyewear collections(not sunglasses)?
Any place to recommend?

Been looking 4 TAGS but none of all the shops which I've visited gt all the models of a series leh..
sian.. dun understand how could 1 possibly order e frame 1st when they nv even wear, try & see if its compatible anot.. zzz..

Btw Slyang87, Transition lens cost arnd $200 - $300? for Polycarbonate lens arnd $90..
Cant confirmed wif u, been to too many shops..

I think...mee mee optics at Bukit Timah Plaza and there's this specs shop at Wisma near the Din Tai Fung there..I think optics 2000 or something

they hav quite a wide range

CarpeDiem11

I think...mee mee optics at Bukit Timah Plaza and there's this specs shop at Wisma near the Din Tai Fung there..I think optics 2000 or something

they hav quite a wide range

tks 4 the info bro, will make a trip dwn down wisma, bukit timah is kinda too far..
btw, anyone made their specs at Integrated Eyecare Centre @VivoCity? am looking for a place wif the widest collection, especially Tag Heuer..

& jus to share wif u guys, making specs in town is much more exp den neighbourhood area by kinda alot of diff.. few of the shops I asked in town quoted me about $1.2k while a neighbourhood shop quoted me only $800+..

So anyone still gt any recommendation? tks in advance!

Darkangle

It's like that 1 la...they hav to cover for their high rental...only thing is neighbourhood shop have to wait coz they have to order that's all

kidz

Anyone knows where is a good place to buy Tag Hauer's eyewear?

Or rather more discount? Thanks in advance. :)

kidz

How's the price and discounts like?

I manage to get ard 20% off.. but i think its pretty standard.

Darkangle

How's the price and discounts like?

I manage to get ard 20% off.. but i think its pretty standard.

Price is fixed...well discounts 20% is quite little...somewhere ard 30% is good. I managed to get 30% but only problem...hav to go all the way to m'sia

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.