The Spectacles Thread.

warhunter

ur obviously a noob. or u have a poor command of english.

who ever said anything abt over-prescribing?? im talking abt giving ur patients a comfortable vision. how will adding -1.00 to their -2.00 make them see or feel comfortable? maybe u could try adding -1.00 to your current prescription and tell me if u feel comfortable :s11:

and ur examples are way off...if an electrician requires a lower degree, y wouldnt u prescribe the lower degree? im assuming an electrician does near work most of the time. by lowering their degree by a mere -0.25 or even -0.50 to -1.50 will most probably make his near work better, no? this is even more the case if ur electrician is presbyopic, right?

many eye-care practitioners (tats wat u guys are called right?) like urself only care abt long distance vision i.e 6/6 vision but how many pple here make use of tat 6/6 vision all day long? most of us are cooped up in cubicles facing computers all day long! and wat good does a 6/6 vision do for near work? u being TRAINED in healthcare should know better.

im not trained like u. but i read up a lot in this area cos i treasure my eyes. i visit my regular optical shop pretty often too as i like to collect spectacles and they share a lot of information with me and after speaking to u, its good to know tat i've been visiting the correct place all these years :)

which part of my reply do you not understand? We cannot give in to overboard requests. Patients comfort IS REQUIRED. Only if its not at the expense of his/her health.

There is indeed Patients who are more comfortable with -1.00 ADDDED to his prescription. In this cases we would treat them for other conditions like binocular vision. If its as simple as giving in to Patient's requests, we wouldn't even need to train optometrists or even opticians.

That is where our prescribing rights come in. We must take note of a patient's daily requirement of their visual ability. Blur vision even with a (-0.25>-0.50 FOR YOUR COMFORT) would result in a decrease clarity of the retinal image. the body reacts to this blur image and triggers the elongation of the eye ball leading again to MYOPIA PROGRESSION (most common in children to about ages of 18-20). THIS is where 6/6 is often the golden rule in CLEAR VISION.

Of course to Presbyopes that require a near addition. different prescription would be required. multifocals or even mono vision may be discussed BUT again NOT AT THE EXPENSE OF HIS COMFORT OR HEALTH

Read carefully before you doubt somebody's idea.

MeMph|s

which part of my reply do you not understand? We cannot give in to overboard requests. Patients comfort IS REQUIRED. Only if its not at the expense of his/her health.

There is indeed Patients who are more comfortable with -1.00 ADDDED to his prescription. In this cases we would treat them for other conditions like binocular vision. If its as simple as giving in to Patient's requests, we wouldn't even need to train optometrists or even opticians.

That is where our prescribing rights come in. We must take note of a patient's daily requirement of their visual ability. Blur vision even with a (-0.25>-0.50 FOR YOUR COMFORT) would result in a decrease clarity of the retinal image. the body reacts to this blur image and triggers the elongation of the eye ball leading again to MYOPIA PROGRESSION (most common in children to about ages of 18-20). THIS is where 6/6 is often the golden rule in CLEAR VISION.

Of course to Presbyopes that require a near addition. different prescription would be required. multifocals or even mono vision may be discussed BUT again NOT AT THE EXPENSE OF HIS COMFORT OR HEALTH

Read carefully before you doubt somebody's idea.

its not abt giving in to patient's request. u obviously do not understand wat im saying at all. if all optoms were like u, then ur right, we wouldn't need trained ECPs AT ALL.

maybe ur right. i haven been reading properly and have been misled by u.

let me put in a more simple way so tat u will be able to understand.

how can you BE SURE that your prescription is CORRECT? lets not talk abt the patient being comfortable or not (which was my main point in the first place) but how SURE that what u've checked is the EXACT and CORRECT prescription for the patient? how can anyone be exactly sure for that matter.

and tis is honestly the first time i have come across anyone saying that over-prescribing by a whole -1.00 will be required by some patients. or any patient for that matter. NEVER have i ever came across such a case, by word or mouth or otherwise. tis is really something new. to me at least, not sure abt the rest though.

warhunter

ur right. i haven been reading properly and have been mislead by u.

let me put in a more simple way so tat u will be able to understand.

how can you BE SURE that your prescription is CORRECT? lets not talk abt the patient being comfortable or not (which was my main point in the first place) but how SURE that what u've checked is the EXACT and CORRECT prescription for the patient? how can anyone be exactly sure for that matter.

and tis is honestly the first time i have come across anyone saying that over-prescribing by a whole -1.00 will be required by some patients. or any patient for that matter. NEVER have i ever came across such a case, by word or mouth or otherwise. tis is really something new. to me at least, not sure abt the rest though.

We are trained to do that. there are many ways to do that both Subjectively and Objectively. Eg. the red-green chart, +- 0.25 challenge. A -0.25 increase would means a 1 line improvement in vision. IF that doesn't occur, We wont prescribe it. Some people (highly myopic patients) require -0.5>-0.75 to improve 1 line in vision. That is an example of a case where we wont give the additional prescription to patients. thats what we are trained to do.

Then you should read up about a binocular vision condition called Acommodative Excess. This are cases of Pseudo-Myopia. In case u do not realise, this condition is very common among young far-sighted patients.

Look at my earliest post. From the start, I've been talking about over and under correction that would give potential effects to patients.

warhunter

A stickied thread about eye conditions should be started to educate people that VISION is not just about getting glasses. ITS about the health of the eye - THE ORGAN itself. Quality of vision can be ensured with a comfortable and good PRESCRIPTION lenses. HOWEVER, quality of vision is NOT EQUAL to GOOD EYE HEALTH. This is MORE IMPORTANT than brand of lenses or glasses.:)

Anyway. my juniors are looking for research subjects with colour vision deficiency. $50 incentive would be given.

MeMph|s

We are trained to do that. there are many ways to do that both Subjectively and Objectively. Eg. the red-green chart, +- 0.25 challenge. A -0.25 increase would means a 1 line improvement in vision. IF that doesn't occur, We wont prescribe it. Some people (highly myopic patients) require -0.5>-0.75 to improve 1 line in vision. That is an example of a case where we wont give the additional prescription to patients. thats what we are trained to do.

Then you should read up about a binocular vision condition called Acommodative Excess. This are cases of Pseudo-Myopia. In case u do not realise, this condition is very common among young far-sighted patients.

Look at my earliest post. From the start, I've been talking about over and under correction that would give potential effects to patients.

so ur telling me u guys cant be wrong? so if optoms cannot be wrong then ophthalmologists will NEVER prescribe the wrong degree?i honestly hope, for ur own good, that tis is not wat your saying.

fyi, there are many complains of wrong prescription from optometrists from many government agencies. i also have many friends who complain of prescriptive problems even though their eyes were examined by optometrist. until they recommended to my optician, they were not having comfortable vision at all.

i believe, to ans the question tat a bro has asked above, the difference between an optician and optometrist is that the optician will most probably give the patient what the patient really needs and the optometrist will give wat the optometrist thinks the patient needs. cos tats wat u guys are trained to do. u follow everything by the book when an eye examination is subjective. there is no hard and fast rule cos every individual will react differently to different examiners.

warhunter

so ur telling me u guys cant be wrong? so if optoms cannot be wrong then ophthalmologists will NEVER prescribe the wrong degree?i honestly hope, for ur own good, that tis is not wat your saying.

fyi, there are many complains of wrong prescription from optometrists from many government agencies. i also have many friends who complain of prescriptive problems even though their eyes were examined by optometrist. until they recommended to my optician, they were not having comfortable vision at all.

i believe, to ans the question tat a bro has asked above, the difference between an optician and optometrist is that the optician will most probably give the patient what the patient really needs and the optometrist will give wat the optometrist thinks the patient needs. cos tats wat u guys are trained to do. u follow everything by the book when an eye examination is subjective. there is no hard and fast rule cos every individual will react differently to different examiners.

I'm not saying that we can never be wrong. It is the yearly eye check that is required to rule out any mistakes or catch diseases at an earlier period in order to slow down or even stop the progression. DONT YOU EVER READ? I've been saying that since my first post.

Even if you do get your eyes checked at ophthalmologists, it is not them who do the refraction. Its either the optometrists or optician. They are paid too high a salary to do simple refractions.

You can't list examples of a few nameless black sheeps and condemn all optometrists. Many Singaporeans don't even know if they went to an optometrist or optician. SO, HOW CAN YOU BE SURE if they are who they claim they are? Hospitals DO EMPLOY opticians too. SO, HOW CAN YOU BE SURE?

No, we do not go according to the book. you are right that there are no hard and fast rule. SO, obviously as i've stated earlier. IF the patients makes requests that are not too overboard we would go ahead ONLY if what we prescribe do not endanger the patient.

MeMph|s

on every issued prescription, there is a chop stating the Examiner's name and position right? i haven seen one from an optician anyway.

im not condemning anyone. i just telling u not too be too confident of ur own eye exmination.

u know wat? jus forget it. u simply do not understand wat im talking abt anyway.

u have a good evening.

warhunter

on every issued prescription, there is a chop stating the Examiner's name and position right? i haven seen one from an optician anyway.

im not condemning anyone. i just telling u not too be too confident of ur own eye exmination.

u know wat? jus forget it. u simply do not understand wat im talking abt anyway.

u have a good evening.

This conversation is not getting anywhere. From the start there was NOTHING that said WE ARE ALWAYS RIGHT. I'm just sharing with the forum on what I know and to stress the importance of annual eye check. If you don't comprehend then thats your problem. :yawn:

Anyway. my juniors are looking for research subjects with colour vision deficiency. $50 incentive would be given.

iNETeVO

Just curious... do they follow different course of study for optician/optometrist?

What is taught in Singapore?

So if the same optic shop has got both optician and optometrist, does it matter if who is the one serving you?

warhunter

Just curious... do they follow different course of study for optician/optometrist?

What is taught in Singapore?

So if the same optic shop has got both optician and optometrist, does it matter if who is the one serving you?

Opticians - go thru a year course in refraction, dispensing and lecturers about lenses

Optometrists - go thru 3 year course of all the above + Ocualar anatomy + Human biochemistry + Eye diseases + Binocular vision + etc.

THis link shows you the job scope of optometrists, opticians and CLPs.
https://www.oob.moh.gov.sg/ahp/registrationpage.jsp

This link shows you the guidelines of what an optometrist and optician must do at each visit. If he/she fails to do that. you can sue them as you wish.
https://www.oob.moh.gov.sg/ahp/docs/code_professional_conduct.pdf

Typically, annually your optician must advice u to go to an optometrist or ophthalmologist for a full eye check up before he can proceed with dispensing glasses to you. Children below 8 years old can only be refracted by optometrists or ophthalmologists.

TopCat_52

Any nice frames to recommend :s12:

thinking of changing my tag heuer, havent come across any eye catching design but nevertheless looking for new pair. budget 1k for frames

Gintoki

hey guys ...
any idea where can i get such frames from -
65ba5y.jpg

will it look okay with high degree? or a big no-no ? TIA :o

warhunter

hey guys ...
any idea where can i get such frames from -
65ba5y.jpg

will it look okay with high degree? or a big no-no ? TIA :o

see urself lo. high degree definitely will be thick. no matter how high the lens index there will be some thickness la

any where oso got sell sia. anyway that pic. that guy nosepad so yellow. got mould liao. LOL

itachisama

yay new specs bought from kwong shin. oakley bottlerocket 2.1 polished black :)

IMG_0864.jpg

still prefer old trendy black frame specs. :) like the frame and the frame shape a lot!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.