The Spectacles Thread.

chrispy78

If the crizal advertisment is fake totally different from real life y can they still show it on air. Isnt this like cheating customer?

can we do anything abt this? I am also a crizal owner but totally disagree with the advertisment show.

Demitrius

Guys, does anyone of you know of any designer frames to recommend for high nearsighted ppl like myself? (650 on both sides)

Apparently, my lens even with high index, looks awfully ugly when fitted on many of these designer frames. :(

cowculator

If the crizal advertisment is fake totally different from real life y can they still show it on air. Isnt this like cheating customer?

can we do anything abt this? I am also a crizal owner but totally disagree with the advertisment show.
as long as they put a disclaimer, nothing u can do. Same with other ads, do u all really think the detergent will get rid off all the stains, or the toothbrush can clean so well, or the shoes can make jump higher, or riding stupid horselike device can help u lose weight?

atypical

Exactly. I'm sure the features of the Crizal lenses are there, but do they work the miracles like Essilor claims they do? Of course not! Wise up guys, just take the ads with a pinch of salt ....

If the price is good for you, try them. Ah boh, try another make.

And please stop that blowing hot air onto the lens sh*t!

:p

Megumi

the multi-coating on the lens may be of questionable quality...

gosh i never knew that, the shop even claimed that all lenses are like that (the ball marks and stains)... until i read about Crizal a few months back did i know that that shop is pretty much crap less talk about their frames...

chrispy78

as long as they put a disclaimer, nothing u can do. Same with other ads, do u all really think the detergent will get rid off all the stains, or the toothbrush can clean so well, or the shoes can make jump higher, or riding stupid horselike device can help u lose weight?

haiz... :(

bendwolf

Seems like there are sub ranges for Crizal. Perhaps those that don't perform well are still authentic but the budget range.

Crizal%20range%20table%20Forte_Alizé%20Plus_Ease.jpg

Reference: http://www.crizal.com/EN/Products/Crizal-Range-And-Performance/Pages/default.aspx

cowculator

nope, even with the best range, it will still not be like the ad. Look, every ad has limited air time and they need to show as much contrast between their product and ordinary ones to draw a connection.

I dun think mr muscle or evelyn tan house is so dirty, but they need to make it so that after wiping, the effect can look magical.

OmegaSupreme

i was quote $380 for a pair of Esilor hi-index transition lens. tot beri ex. my astig oni 0.75 1 side with deg 500 per eye. Read thru e thread (not all of it) and realises e price varies.

Tot of going in msia to do but not sure worth e trouble or not. Crizal lens seem to be e 'in' lens for now. For those who wear transitions lens. how r urs so far. any pro n cons. pls share. thk.:s22::s22:

HKS_Hippo

i was quote $380 for a pair of Esilor hi-index transition lens. tot beri ex. my astig oni 0.75 1 side with deg 500 per eye. Read thru e thread (not all of it) and realises e price varies.

Tot of going in msia to do but not sure worth e trouble or not. Crizal lens seem to be e 'in' lens for now. For those who wear transitions lens. how r urs so far. any pro n cons. pls share. thk.:s22::s22:

Transitions user here

1) Not dark enough when activated. I don't notice it. Strong sunlight will still squirm
2) Won't activate when driving cos the windscreen filter off the UV light liao

Shihtzu

how much was ur crizal lens?

pls state ur deg/astig

mine was 500 deg 75 astig quoted $240 for the lens.

if I wan thinest(not necessary as my lens will not bulge from the frame ) it will be $380.

cowculator

Let me quote myself again. atypical, take note of point 7.

Actually, when we sell photochromatic lens, it's a case of customer asking for it. The option is there as more and more people these days want it for convenience sake. I normally tell people if they want to use in bright conditions, they should get another pair of rx sunglasses. This is not because I can sell more frames but for practical reasons. Let's look at them.

1) Everyone knows that transitions don't turn dark behind a car's windscreen, so they have no added value when driving.
2) They never get dark enough, compared to a true sun lens, even under the brightest conditions and full UV.
3) Contrary to popular belief, the truth is that even clear lenses with the prerequisite coatings also provide 100%UV, the difference is the amount of light transmission, not UV transmission (99.7% light transmission for clear lenses vs 30% to 99% for photochromatic lens). The photochromatic lenses actually are about 99.5% UV protection because a certain amount must be let in to allow the lenses to tint.
4) Absolute Cost - It gets exponentially higher when customers request for higher index and other features.
5) Relative cost - Prescription tinted lenses with UV coating are not that expensive in comparison and can be tinted to how dark or light the customer wants. If the additional amount cost for photochromatic lenses are put to use elsewhere, the customer can get a thinner, even aspherical lens that are stronger or an even more superior coating.
6) Even though improvements have been made from a few generations ago, photochromatic properties are designed to last the life of the prescription only. What will happen is that after 3 years or so, the speed in which the lens darkens and clears is reduced and in some cases, there is a permanent grey cast to the lens.
7) Their optimum operating temperature is between 15-28 degrees celsius. Not only are said lenses sensitive to UV, they are mucho sensitive to ambient temperature as well. Those who live in seasonal climates will experience that in the summer, the lens are clearer and change much slower while they are darker/ greyish during winter. What this means is that the hotter it is, the worse it will work. Based on Singapore and especially middle eastern climates which can reach 40 degrees, you are actually shortchanged when you buy transitions in these regions.
8) Some customers actually mention that transitions type lenses when activated makes them look "dishonest" and "pervertic". I am not one to judge but there are feedback as such.

Anyone who sells photochromatic lenses and tells you otherwise is either hardselling or he has already a large margin in place on top of what the lab charges.

atypical

Thanks bro.

Yes, as convenient as they are, I find value comes when you buy according to your needs. I'm an OM, so everyday, I only have 1.5 hours in the sun in the morning and 1 hour in the sun at lunch. But I spend about 10 hours indoors and in front of the computer!

Transitions, for me, is really not worth the money! kekekeke .....

skweam

hi guys, can anyone comment on this. ic berlin vs oakley?

intending to visit aldric and make a spec which has a tough frame. my lens alone could set me back 200+ was wondering which company make better frames in terms of quality and looks

Kenneth C

hi guys, can anyone comment on this. ic berlin vs oakley?

intending to visit aldric and make a spec which has a tough frame. my lens alone could set me back 200+ was wondering which company make better frames in terms of quality and looks

I think IC Berlin is a good brand and the quality is awesome. But, the frames are expensive. Recently I bought 2 Oakely frames. These are

Oakley Wingspan
http://www.oakley.com/products/6385/23784

Oakley Metal Plate
http://www.oakley.com/products/6262/22850

After some adjustment, both fit well and are comfortable.

skweam

thanks for the reply ken! and yea, the frames u have do look nice. i currently own a ducati shades (input with lenses) and its quite rugged. but prefer something like your metal plate. thanks man. will check out some oakley peddlers on these forums haha

OmegaSupreme

Tats 1 detailed info of objectivity, bro cowculator. Maybe i'll just stick to clear lens then. wat kindda lens will u recommend to mi in terms of toughness n durability, UV protection, scratch resistant and of course hi-index (est 500 deg per eye with 1 side astig of .75)? Airwear lens? :s12:

OmegaSupreme

Yup dats standard price. Like the same glasses too and trying to find reliable lobang for a few months liao. Dun trust ebay enuff to try.

i took the plunge though, got my Oakley kickstand 4.0 brushed chrome (incl shipping) @ SDG$152.80. Now trying to source the lens.:s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.