The Spectacles Thread.

YukiJudai

can any bros here recommend a simple black plastic frame thats light ? TIA :)

something like these:

70399899.jpg

13071266.jpg

46209551.jpg

80366535.jpg

mirage_77

i took the plunge though, got my Oakley kickstand 4.0 brushed chrome (incl shipping) @ SDG$152.80. Now trying to source the lens.:s22:

Haha I posted that long time ago, didn't expected to be quoted.

ANyway, I bought from one of the forumers here. CHeck out the MO. Prices may not be that cheap but still more trust worthy then just from ebay. My opinion only.

OmegaSupreme

Haha I posted that long time ago, didn't expected to be quoted.

ANyway, I bought from one of the forumers here. CHeck out the MO. Prices may not be that cheap but still more trust worthy then just from ebay. My opinion only.

Am just reading thru the threads for some info abt lenses when i came abt ur comments.:s22: My bidding price back then is also based on one of the forumers asking price, although slightly off the mark due to conversion rates. The model i wanted was out of stock, so gotta seek the net and tats wer i fd it on ebay.:s12:

Btw, tot of using Essilor Airwear for lenses but had seen quite a few negative comments on long term use esp the Crizal coatings not up to par. I noe the claims for crizal coating adv (5 benefits) are over-exaggerating based on some read ups.

i had a degree of est 500 per side with astig of 75 on 1 side (can't rem which side). i will need hi-index lenses. looking @ index of 1.6 - 1.67 with UV protection coating (above 90%,if 100% being best which i doubt so), anti-glare, impact resistance, optical clarity, light n durable esp for long term of 5 yrs n above (tats y i dun opt for transitions), multi-coat for anti-reflections, no need to say. budget not exceeding sdg$200.

Based on the above, any lenses/optical shop recommendations guyz?:s12:

FireHobbit

Just brought my new pair of eyeglasses.

My frame is Emporio Armani EA 9600 + Essilor 1.56 Orma Thin Super UV crizal A2 70 lens for S$250

emporioarmaniea9600rli.jpg

Don know if the price was good or got slaughtered by the sales personnel

:s12::s12:

-nzy90

how much was ur crizal lens?

pls state ur deg/astig

mine was 500 deg 75 astig quoted $240 for the lens.

if I wan thinest(not necessary as my lens will not bulge from the frame ) it will be $380.

Mine was $400 for the thinnest possible lens for the crizal lens with transition.

My deg is 800.

-nzy90

I just realized my crizal transition take more than 2 mins for condensation to clear off, water droplets does not come off like shown in the tv. pathetic.

Mine condensation takes about 10sec to clear after coming out from my car. Water droplets do roll off but not all. Sure left one or two small droplets.

slashGNR

emPower -> World First Electronic Focusing Eyewear

Check this out, suitable for people over 40 and not comfortable with progressive lens but it's not cheap..US$1200 and above...

atypical

wow! hopefully by the time I lau hua, it would be more accessible and cheaper! woohoo .... !

kazuki666

hi guys, chk with u all.

is there any recommended store in the west side or in queensway i can get monthly disposable contact lenses at gd price?

I need a year supply. Btw, my power is 650 on the left and 700 on the right.

TIA

sprouts

No one get their specs from seng lee @ queensway shopping centre? The shop with the 3 ladies.

Oh...there is also a guy. :)

i know this is an old post.

i was there yesterday and now doing an online search for this shop.

it's called the sunglass shop now. unit 01-36 right? red and white signboard.

the attitude is terrible la!! when we checked out the prices and found out the same model of rayban was selling at $210, we asked if they can give further discount coz other shops were selling at 160 onwards. the girl mumbled" ni man yao mai meh?" like looking down on us.

she was SO RUDE and got angry with us saying that all the other shops' ones were non-aunthentic and parallel imported.

as customers, as if we cared; we wanted cheap and real stuff and good service most importantly.

and can't believe she can bad mouth and sprouts rubbish about her fellow shop owners in queensway.

even if their is cheaper, i will NEVER step into their shop!!! crazy owners who act so crass

jonleelk

i know this is an old post.

i was there yesterday and now doing an online search for this shop.

it's called the sunglass shop now. unit 01-36 right? red and white signboard.

the attitude is terrible la!! when we checked out the prices and found out the same model of rayban was selling at $210, we asked if they can give further discount coz other shops were selling at 160 onwards. the girl mumbled" ni man yao mai meh?" like looking down on us.

she was SO RUDE and got angry with us saying that all the other shops' ones were non-aunthentic and parallel imported.

as customers, as if we cared; we wanted cheap and real stuff and good service most importantly.

and can't believe she can bad mouth and sprouts rubbish about her fellow shop owners in queensway.

even if their is cheaper, i will NEVER step into their shop!!! crazy owners who act so crass

Wah bro...u so angry with them and dig out my old posting? :D

Unit number correct. Red and white signboard correct, which I believed will still state Seng Li on the signboard. My last 2 purchases from them, one VISA slip stated "Sunglass Shop", but the later purchase receipt stated Seng Li again.

The price of $210 the lady quoted u, is it before or after discount? Which lady served you? The tall one, the skinny one or the medium built one? From the way you describe, my guess is the medium built one. :D

btw...none of the ladies is the boss. The boss usually not around in the shop one.

sprouts

Wah bro...u so angry with them and dig out my old posting? :D

Unit number correct. Red and white signboard correct, which I believed will still state Seng Li on the signboard. My last 2 purchases from them, one VISA slip stated "Sunglass Shop", but the later purchase receipt stated Seng Li again.

The price of $210 the lady quoted u, is it before or after discount? Which lady served you? The tall one, the skinny one or the medium built one? From the way you describe, my guess is the medium built one. :D

btw...none of the ladies is the boss. The boss usually not around in the shop one.

$210 after discount. she lady medium built and slim i think. quite pretty la.

so unhappy for what right? cannot sell then tell me cannot match price la. not as if i talking rubbish...

we walked away with a $160 rayban from another shop after that.

ya, me not happy with these kinda service. i owe her nothing ok! so rude!

atypical

you can always give people like these a 25 cents face, in a way, they deserve it! :D

kazuki666

hi guys, chk with u all.

is there any recommended store in the west side or in queensway i can get monthly disposable contact lenses at gd price?

I need a year supply. Btw, my power is 650 on the left and 700 on the right.

TIA

no one??? :(

sprouts

there's this shop called AS optics at lucky plaza that sells contacts cheap and reasonable. even specs and sunglasses.

u need to walk down the stairs and it's on the row that's facing the road but inside the building. signboard is green.

i have been going there for yrs. n the location is more convenient than queensway IMO.

sputnikmoment

What's the best way to take care of lens? Mine recent pair with Crizal lens starting to get tiny dots or scratches, even though I hardly wear. I already only using cold water to rinse and some ophthalmic lens cleaner to clean.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.