The Spectacles Thread.

xiaokaka

Other than the Prada which I got,

I saw something unique today,

Does Gucci (Japan) makes Titanium spec frames?

I thought it suppose to be made in Italy only?

Some. not all.

Dont be surprised if gucci products are moving to china for assembly~

xiaokaka

Hi! I have just received my new specs with the following specs.

Old:
R- 750-150 X 172
L- 800-125 X 170

New: HOYA Nulux 1.67
R- 725-175 X 175
L- 775-150 X 170

PD 62

May I ask whether the lens is HOYA HVP coating?
I found a strange thing with my new specs. When I cover my left eye and see far, the image is very blur. Unlike my old specs where the left eye and right eye are both clear. Is the new specs ok?

Thanks for your help in advance! :D

The price u pay can tell if its SFT. Nulux HVP rrp at $280. SFTat $350

Image blur den check with the shop again. maybe wrong power given by hoya. maybe incorrect sight test. maybe u are on certain medications or health conditions might cause your eyes cant focus well.

ZippyRa

hey guys im actually looking to make new spec wondering if u all got any place to intro? :X

Im looking for get a oakley frame and if possible get transition lens...not very sure about transition lens as its gonna be first and i heard its pricey :( my degree wise i cant really remember but its quite high to the extend need those ultra thin lenses

can i get some advises :)

TIA

Magickiller9

Anyway , just to share something about northern optic.

I went to NO few years ago to purchase this current specs. The price quoted was 490. Zeiss transition lens, enhance scratch resistance(add 50bucks for that) .

But then i realize, there's a card for Zeiss lens( which i didn't receive any) and this lens is just some cheapo made in china lens with transition lens not the Zeiss. =/. Hopefully this time round the hoya lens will be good(provided it's the correct lens) .

Panerai88

Got my Tag Heuer rim less frame, how long does the rubber arms last, my optician says it will melt after a year.

If true, then why bother with Tag Heuer frames? Mine cost about $1k after making the lenses.

Seannie

Hi! I have just received my new specs with the following specs.

Old:
R- 750-150 X 172
L- 800-125 X 170

New: HOYA Nulux 1.67
R- 725-175 X 175
L- 775-150 X 170

PD 62

May I ask whether the lens is HOYA HVP coating?
I found a strange thing with my new specs. When I cover my left eye and see far, the image is very blur. Unlike my old specs where the left eye and right eye are both clear. Is the new specs ok?

Thanks for your help in advance! :D

yur new specs is not ok. Which shop did you get it from? Your right side new lens axis is different from the old lens by 3 degrees that is why it can make such a big difference to you. Power not the problem as only 25degree difference. Try to wear your new lens for a week & aftertat cover your left eye again & check whether still a huge difference. If still the same means axis prescribed wrongly. If doesnt make such a huge difference anymore means you have get adjusted to new power. Hoya seldom gets the prescription wrong especially it gave you the card with your prescription on it how to go wrong? Very likely its the spec shop fault. Either prescribe your lens wrongly or didnt check your lens when hoya sent back to the shop or the last possibility is that the shop knows that your prescription is wrong but yet still dispense to you. Actually hvp or sft makes no difference. I made a small test myself with hoya sft lens. I used a screwdriver to run lightly across the sft surface & it has been proven that sft coating is not invincible. Still get scatched. Maybe just not as easily but ultimately still scratched & i didnt even use too much force in my scratch test.

Seannie

Actually they do, tempted by a few of them already. :s22:

So what is considered good coating? I only know hoya and Carl Zeiss. Understand that the former is quite expensive though.

Forget about essilor, all marketing nia.

u sure u want to continue get tagheuer frames? their new frames uses autoflex silicon nosepads. And tagheur also seems to be abt marketing tats why so expensive no discount even when their quality not tat superb relative to their prices. If im not wrong one pair costs abt sgd600+

Good coating should have good anti-reflective properties. I suppose hoya is ok in anti-reflection. Ya its expensive no choice la. But if you decided to get a pair of hoya lens i suppose should last you a couple of years if you don intend to change. Good anti-reflection means when you stare at the computer screen your eyes feel more comfy & not glaring.

Ind1go

Is there an affordable option to the Tag Heuer frames ?
I really like the rubber arms, but I don't want to spend $700+ all in..

Seannie

Got my Tag Heuer rim less frame, how long does the rubber arms last, my optician says it will melt after a year.

If true, then why bother with Tag Heuer frames? Mine cost about $1k after making the lenses.

tagheuer is about avant-garde style, comfort & branding. Nowadays rarely can find frames design with curved temples.

tagheuer targets the high end group so ofcos the rubber arms dont last. If you are not high end better not bother with their frames.

Panerai88

tagheuer is about avant-garde style, comfort & branding. Nowadays rarely can find frames design with curved temples.

tagheuer targets the high end group so ofcos the rubber arms dont last. If you are not high end better not bother with their frames.

Huh? I need to know how often they need to be replaced so that I can keep them in tip top condition, why ask if I am high end or not? If I can afford them what do you think?

Also there are many other high end more expensive frames around, if other high end frames give me less trouble, then why should I bother with troublesome frames?...you obviously have not reached a level in life where money means not having to compromise on anything, so I don't compromise and accept low quality in the name of style, avant-garde or not, so dun talk big throwing the "avante-garde style" phrase around, as a TH frame owner you think I don't know?

Panerai88

Is there an affordable option to the Tag Heuer frames ?
I really like the rubber arms, but I don't want to spend $700+ all in..

Frankly the rubber arms are over rated, dun believe the hype in the comfort part, they are same as any other frames. The only purpose they serve is the flash factor, walk into any optical shop with Tag Heuer frames and they are bound to give you attention. But outside, no one gives a hoot.

2pm2am

Anyway , just to share something about northern optic.

I went to NO few years ago to purchase this current specs. The price quoted was 490. Zeiss transition lens, enhance scratch resistance(add 50bucks for that) .

But then i realize, there's a card for Zeiss lens( which i didn't receive any) and this lens is just some cheapo made in china lens with transition lens not the Zeiss. =/. Hopefully this time round the hoya lens will be good(provided it's the correct lens) .

is there a zeiss logo on the lens ? if not, it's not a zeiss lens. your transition lens most likely made by Carl Zeiss the company, but not a zeiss lens.

2pm2am

o.o..SO many type of lens..So confusing. I shall show the shop owner this post tmr. Hopefully, they will understand.

if they sell hoya lens and but don't understand, than you should probably go to another shop .

Spectacle lenses is a very technical subject and not like computers.

I find it funny when some people ask what is the difference between this and that, what's the difference between the lens of the different company, what's the difference between the differenct progressive lens..............why are they different in price etc etc ....some wants to see all the price list of the different lenses from the companies.... :s8: you think the optician/optometrist got so much time to explain to you ?

Seannie

Huh? I need to know how often they need to be replaced so that I can keep them in tip top condition, why ask if I am high end or not? If I can afford them what do you think?

Also there are many other high end more expensive frames around, if other high end frames give me less trouble, then why should I bother with troublesome frames?...you obviously have not reached a level in life where money means not having to compromise on anything, so I don't compromise and accept low quality in the name of style, avant-garde or not, so dun talk big throwing the "avante-garde style" phrase around, as a TH frame owner you think I don't know?

Im sorry pal if my words a bit harsh, but honestly if someone is really on the high end, he most likely wouldnt bother how long tagheuer can last becos if a high end person thinks its no longer in tip top condition, he most likely will just change it or replace the whole thing without much of a hoot. Just like people change cars every once in a few months like that. Got new model they like they hoot. Would they care whether how long their toys will last?? I think even before the things even get spoilt, they would already have gotten sick of them & throw them aside.

Ok so if you are looking for less trouble, please don look for tagheuer frames cos they are really going to give you loads of troubles, thats all i can say. Depends on how particular you are. If you are a very particular person, tagheuer frames will fail you & get you v disappointed in their quality.

I myself have made 3 different models of tagheur frames in the past 2 years and i can only say that im rather disappointed in them & have not used them anymore.

Carnage

Im sorry pal if my words a bit harsh, but honestly if someone is really on the high end, he most likely wouldnt bother how long tagheuer can last becos if a high end person thinks its no longer in tip top condition, he most likely will just change it or replace the whole thing without much of a hoot. Just like people change cars every once in a few months like that. Got new model they like they hoot. Would they care whether how long their toys will last?? I think even before the things even get spoilt, they would already have gotten sick of them & throw them aside.

Ok so if you are looking for less trouble, please don look for tagheuer frames cos they are really going to give you loads of troubles, thats all i can say. Depends on how particular you are. If you are a very particular person, tagheuer frames will fail you & get you v disappointed in their quality.

I myself have made 3 different models of tagheur frames in the past 2 years and i can only say that im rather disappointed in them & have not used them anymore.

I like their rubber band legs leh. They don't last?

Jialat, need to go back to Oakleys for sports wear? My current pair feels lose when I jog.

super365

yur new specs is not ok. Which shop did you get it from? Your right side new lens axis is different from the old lens by 3 degrees that is why it can make such a big difference to you. Power not the problem as only 25degree difference. Try to wear your new lens for a week & aftertat cover your left eye again & check whether still a huge difference. If still the same means axis prescribed wrongly. If doesnt make such a huge difference anymore means you have get adjusted to new power. Hoya seldom gets the prescription wrong especially it gave you the card with your prescription on it how to go wrong? Very likely its the spec shop fault. Either prescribe your lens wrongly or didnt check your lens when hoya sent back to the shop or the last possibility is that the shop knows that your prescription is wrong but yet still dispense to you. Actually hvp or sft makes no difference. I made a small test myself with hoya sft lens. I used a screwdriver to run lightly across the sft surface & it has been proven that sft coating is not invincible. Still get scatched. Maybe just not as easily but ultimately still scratched & i didnt even use too much force in my scratch test.

Last time when I made hoya lens, I was told that the axis can only end (right most digit) with 0 or 5, because the lab cannot be so precise, so the axis will need to round up or round down. Not sure if all brands are like that.

Iceman88

For those who want an eye check more comprehensive than in optical shops can try Singapore Poly's Optometry Centre (SPOC). Although the initial tests are done by final year students, the final round is done by the lecturer, a qualified optometrist. All for only $5! They will give you written prescription for new specs (some optical shops dun give you copy of prescription to keep), you can also choose to do specs at their onsite spec shop if u want. Appts can be booked online, you can Google for their website.

After reading good reviews of some Queensway optical shops in this thread, decided to check out Seng Li and AZ Optics. Seng Li staff was polite but a bit snooty & didn't seem interested to pursue business further when I was undecided during frame selection. AZ Optics on other hand was very friendly & quickly assisted me to make a choice without being pushy. Made a simple, relatively no-name specs with my high up to -8 sph and astig up to -3.25 for only $200. I went there in early afternoon and by evening was informed my specs already ready! AZ Optics gets my vote for being Triple-Friendly: People Friendly, Time Friendly and Wallet Friendly! They followed exactly the SPOC prescription and my eyes quickly adjusted to the new specs, which also speaks of the accurate skill of the SPOC optometrist.

Previously all my life had done specs at a certain "double noodle" old established shop in Bt Timah, so had no basis for comparison. My previous no-name specs was done there for $500+ some years ago, at that time thought was normal for my high power. Now I know was kena not only chop carrot but chop until like strawberry jam! Moral of story is don't stick to only one optical shop all your life.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.