The Spectacles Thread.

Iceman88

how long is the eye check ? unless you got lots of time to waste like 1 hour+, yes go there and have some fun and let the students practice their stuff.

The eyecheck is about 1 hr, of course very busy people no need to consider SPOC. And eye exams are serious business, what are you talking about "have some fun"? As for letting the students practice, don't forget that in future these students will be the optometrists in optical shops islandwide. Even the most experienced & senior optometrists started out as students.

do you know what type of lens you get from the bt timah shop as compared to the type of lens that you got from AZ ? also, the 500+ you paid is some years ago.

how can you say you kena chop when you have no basis for comparison ?
before someone say they kena chop, they have to know what they are comparing with.

I already said my specs from the Bt Timah shop was no-name (both for the lenses & frame), so I consider it in the same budget category as my current AZ Optics specs (apple to apple comparison). And if you stress that the $500+ is some years ago, then by factoring in inflation won't the price gap be even wider?

Obviously in the past I had no basis for comparison, but now with my own AZ Optics experience and having read in this thread & on other websites of budget spec prices for other users with similarly high degree & astig, I definitely have something to compare with now and hence am in a position to say whether I last time kena chop or not. I find it strange why are you appearing to defend this Bt Timah shop, are u their employee or loyal customer? Anyway everyone entitled to their own opinion and with so many optical shops in S'pore every shop will have to find their own way to attract & retain customers.

kypay

Which 1.67 len will u choose?

Nikon seecoat = $288
Hoya nulux = $ 250. Normal coating. No SFT coating for nulux, only EP series.

R: -6.00 -0.75 134
L: -7.25

Thanks..

xiaokaka

Which 1.67 len will u choose?

Nikon seecoat = $288
Hoya nulux = $ 250. Normal coating. No SFT coating for nulux, only EP series.

R: -6.00 -0.75 134
L: -7.25

Thanks..

Nikon Seecoat 1.67 RRP @ $328

Hoya SFT 1.67 RRP @ $350

If u can get nikon Seecoat at under $300.. go ahead.

2pm2am

The eyecheck is about 1 hr, of course very busy people no need to consider SPOC. And eye exams are serious business, what are you talking about "have some fun"? As for letting the students practice, don't forget that in future these students will be the optometrists in optical shops islandwide. Even the most experienced & senior optometrists started out as students.

Eye surgery is also serious business, given a choice would you let an eye doctor undergoing training to become an eye doctor carry out the surgery or an experienced consultant eye doctor do it ?

Yes they will be our future optoms in society, that's is why I encourage people to go and let them practice testing your eyes if you have lots of time and also have some fun while doing so because it's not fun to sit thru one hr of testing.

As for the quality of eye tests carried out by these students, if you think taking a longer time means better quality of care , then i think you should think again. I have taught these students and also see how they perform as a student and fresh graduate, the standards is really not there compared to an experienced optometrist who takes 1/2 the amount of time to test your eyes. That is why you only pay $5. in fact, i think SP or NP should not even charge anything to encourage people to go there become guinea pig.

I already said my specs from the Bt Timah shop was no-name (both for the lenses & frame), so I consider it in the same budget category as my current AZ Optics specs (apple to apple comparison). And if you stress that the $500+ is some years ago, then by factoring in inflation won't the price gap be even wider?
Even though the lenses you got from Bt Timah is a no name , based on your degree it will cost much more in the past. WHy don;t you go back to the Bt timah shop and ask them if they can give you close to that price you pay now. I am sure they can do it too.
Obviously in the past I had no basis for comparison, but now with my own AZ Optics experience and having read in this thread & on other websites of budget spec prices for other users with similarly high degree & astig, I definitely have something to compare with now and hence am in a position to say whether I last time kena chop or not. I find it strange why are you appearing to defend this Bt Timah shop, are u their employee or loyal customer? Anyway everyone entitled to their own opinion and with so many optical shops in S'pore every shop will have to find their own way to attract & retain customers.

Sorry I have no affiliation with this Bt Timah shop. BUT Are you related to this AZ optics since you seem like promoting for them.

If you say that based on the same type of no name lens and if you had asked the Bt timah shop for a quote NOW (not few years ago) and it's 500+ compared to AZ optics where you got for 200+, then i would say probably Bt Timah shop want to chop your carrot head. But then again the 500+ was few years ago ??? How to compare to now ???

Few years ago LCD TV so ex , but then now so cheap. I buy few years ago does it mean i kena chop ?? :s8:

palmy999

Hi all,

I haven't change my specs for the last 10 years so very out of touch. Due to aging, decided to make a pair of progressive and was shocked to discover the price of lens can reach $700. I was told the frames can affect the type of lenses so my questions:

1. What is the price diff between soft and hard lenses? General idea will do.

2. Thin, half-rim, rim-less frames can only use soft lens? Or hard lens? Plastic frames leh?

Any good and cheap optician here in the forum that forumers can recommend?

Panerex

got a free pair of Rayban Aviator sunglasses.

as i do not wear contact lens, i am wondering if i can change the sunglass lens to sunglass-prescriptive lens?

roughly what's the damage will be? thanks

mikeeeey

nice leh. looks fashionable. my gucci specs in comparison look too subtle. even my frens say they dun noe i am wearing gucci
thanks.. i was concerned if the design is too "loud" but it seems rather fine. lol

ahboy82

thanks.. i was concerned if the design is too "loud" but it seems rather fine. lol

where did u get that gucci frame ah? me want to change spec frame le after seeing yrs lol. i just love the green red green trademark gucci design on yr specs. dun remember seeing such a frame in the previous shop i went to make my specs

mikeeeey

where did u get that gucci frame ah? me want to change spec frame le after seeing yrs lol. i just love the green red green trademark gucci design on yr specs. dun remember seeing such a frame in the previous shop i went to make my specs
got it @ seng li queensway. its supposed to be the only pair in the shop cos its a limited range (supposedly, never check if they got display another one after I left, haha) you can check with other authorised dealers see if they got this also.

also, its actually a sunglasses. changed the lens to clear lens. ;)

ahboy82

got it @ seng li queensway. its supposed to be the only pair in the shop cos its a limited range (supposedly, never check if they got display another one after I left, haha) you can check with other authorised dealers see if they got this also.

holy sh*t i got my glasses also at seng li queensway leh. kao i nvr see this design man lol :s13:

oh so actually can ask for sunglass frame ah. didnt noe that. so wat yr damage??

xiaokaka

What the differences between Nikon seecoat and seemax?

Seecoat is standard lens. stocks in sg. rdy within 4 days.

SeeMax is customised. ideal for high prescription and high astig.
takes 3weeks++ to get done. Shipped from japan direct nikon lens factory.

Seannie

Bi aspherical designs are like 'compressed thinning'

providing wider viewing angle and less distortion.

Basically its like the cream of the crop.

I just want to know for those people with low or normal power, do they feel any big difference between normal nulux and nulux EP?

mikeeeey

Sent u a PM :)

joprincesin

Hi all,

Some history about myself...Been wearing my current pair of army specs for over a year now. Looking to change a new pair of specs because the lenses are badly scratched.

My prescription is very high, -8.50 (Sph) and -0.50 (Cyl) for both eyes.

I m looking at making a pair of specs that I can wear on a day to day basis and also for use in sports.

Any recommendations which brands of frames will suit my needs? My budget is about $450 all in.

TIA! :D:D:D

warhunter

Hi all,

Some history about myself...Been wearing my current pair of army specs for over a year now. Looking to change a new pair of specs because the lenses are badly scratched.

My prescription is very high, -8.50 (Sph) and -0.50 (Cyl) for both eyes.

I m looking at making a pair of specs that I can wear on a day to day basis and also for use in sports.

Any recommendations which brands of frames will suit my needs? My budget is about $450 all in.

TIA! :D:D:D

How come ur prescription so high u need chiong sua?

Panerex

got a free pair of Rayban Aviator sunglasses.

as i do not wear contact lens, i am wondering if i can change the sunglass lens to sunglass-prescriptive lens?

roughly what's the damage will be? thanks

anyone to advise pls?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.