The Spectacles Thread.

oldbreadstinks

wa crazy prices siah. lol

like I said, it's a club. if you're a worker it make no sense to buy one no matter.

but to impress your peers into trusting you certain accessories are required . and that price is considered cheap if things work out well.

no one is going to invest millions of dollars in you if you don't dress the part.

if you just buy a neighbourhood pair of $40 glasses and talk to your client to ask for more business, first thing that comes to mind...."is his business doing well? how come dressed like beggar?"

and they look at your cars as well.

I knew a guy who went bankrupt after he made money. he went crazy and gotten a BMW to draw girls in. bring them on overseas trips to eat cheesepie

splash the cash and lived a fine life, the suppliers all thought he's doing well never chased him hard enough for payment even extended credit

people only realised things weren't doing so well when he fled sg

ahboy82

like I said, it's a club. if you're a worker it make no sense to buy one no matter.

but to impress your peers into trusting you certain accessories are required . and that price is considered cheap if things work out well.

no one is going to invest millions of dollars in you if you don't dress the part.

if you just buy a neighbourhood pair of $40 glasses and talk to your client to ask for more business, first thing that comes to mind...."is his business doing well? how come dressed like beggar?"

and they look at your cars as well.

I knew a guy who went bankrupt after he made money. he went crazy and gotten a BMW to draw girls in. bring them on overseas trips to eat cheesepie

splash the cash and lived a fine life, the suppliers all thought he's doing well never chased him hard enough for payment even extended credit

people only realised things weren't doing so well when he fled sg

oh ic. so it's all abt upkeeping the image la? lol

dress satki, be satki, and remain satki!

oldbreadstinks

oh ic. so it's all abt upkeeping the image la? lol

dress satki, be satki, and remain satki!

yeah, you actually get a lot more oppounities that way.

bank acc no money outside look rich, people trust you more.
sometimes piak liao then girl realised thought she fished a golden tortoise :s13:

every meal eat maggie also girls fly to you like honey.

ever heard people saying?
"he so rich won't cheat me out of so little money lah"

then gg liao.

no matter how capable you are, dress like a beggar boss treat you like a beggar. promotions go to the guy who looks like a manager and acts like one.

heard of this story in a related to glasses trade area. why the logistic guy every year screw up still nothing happen.
every year go regional meeting talk until very satki, "this is how we do things, that's our system"
come back never do work still same screw up.

ahboy82

yeah, you actually get a lot more oppounities that way.

bank acc no money outside look rich, people trust you more.
sometimes piak liao then girl realised thought she fished a golden tortoise :s13:

every meal eat maggie also girls fly to you like honey.

ever heard people saying?
"he so rich won't cheat me out of so little money lah"

then gg liao.

no matter how capable you are, dress like a beggar boss treat you like a beggar. promotions go to the guy who looks like a manager and acts like one.

heard of this story in a related to glasses trade area. why the logistic guy every year screw up still nothing happen.
every year go regional meeting talk until very satki, "this is how we do things, that's our system"
come back never do work still same screw up.

no wonder so many ppl now are dressed up from top to bottom everything branded....

Seannie

I think you don't understand the way it works.

I'll have to say no such frames unless I see it. npnt

and if it's a small neighbourhood shop it makes it all the more unlikely not to have a non branded japanese frame.

japanese sales staff don't come here to promote their stuff anymore, and the known cheaper ones are seiko/nikon/charmant. evisu? and all these aren't MIJ anymore. these are considered branded btw

everything's made in china for the last few years

I'll still have to say there's no non branded jap frames here unless it's bought in direct from japan by the shop herself which if virtually unheard off in SG for neighbourhood shops where cost is a factor

:s22::s22::s22::s22:

I took a year and a half to assemble my current glasses and I still have to take me hat off to you.

korea? I think they need frames for higher bridges with all the plastic surgeries going on.
and.... virtually all the korean frames sold here suspiciously look like it's from PRC. even though it's TR material.
I'm trying out ultem myself but with the results on TR I don't think ultem's going to turn out that well.

actually whether the frame is made in japan or not doesnt really matter, as long as it is designed to that kind of fit. Ultimately who cares & who really bothered to know, nowadays everything is suspicious & things just dont last that long.

By the way, the neighbourhood shop im referring to is a neighbourhood chain store. They have about 8 shops in sg? But all of them are in the heartlands. The brand i bought from them is not a known brand, but im pretty sure other shops dont carry it as well, becos i have not seen that brand in any other shops in sg. But nowadays i noticed that this chain store are taking in more branded stuff.

Frankly if i see jap frames i will whack them off the showcase, so if you take jap frames i will also go to your shop & take a look. And i shall not hesitate if i have the extra $. And, as for other types of euro brands, even if you give me for free i will not take them.

Raptor1

Hi all, need some recommendations on brands, Looking to make a pair of specs soon,

I am currently wearing Oakley Wingspan. Pretty pleased with it except for the fact that the frame coating is coming apart at some places, and there is a minor tear on the earsocks.

This time round, would prefer something non-oakley :) Is Charmant Z a good brand? Or any other brands to recommend? Thanks.

Seannie: Tempted by your recommendations of Japanese Brands/Design. I stay in the East (near parkway) and work in Alexandra. Hence would be good if you could tell me where to find the brands you recommend too.

oldbreadstinks

actually whether the frame is made in japan or not doesnt really matter, as long as it is designed to that kind of fit. Ultimately who cares & who really bothered to know, nowadays everything is suspicious & things just dont last that long.

I'm careful with mine? I really do expect glasses to last.
current one's 3 years old still looks new

and really people do care. I know you don't but a majority of the people do care. a price is actually attached to it.

raybans got slashed by almost half for new china models .

a lot of buyers don't like the word china on their frames.

By the way, the neighbourhood shop im referring to is a neighbourhood chain store. They have about 8 shops in sg? But all of them are in the heartlands. The brand i bought from them is not a known brand, but im pretty sure other shops dont carry it as well, becos i have not seen that brand in any other shops in sg. But nowadays i noticed that this chain store are taking in more branded stuff.

Frankly if i see jap frames i will whack them off the showcase, so if you take jap frames i will also go to your shop & take a look. And i shall not hesitate if i have the extra $. And, as for other types of euro brands, even if you give me for free i will not take them.

you should go to eyechamp when there's a public holiday
they have jap frames lying around

oldbreadstinks

no wonder so many ppl now are dressed up from top to bottom everything branded....

it works to a certain extend

an ex colleague dress up to the nines and go clubbing just for ons

whacks everyone, married or non married.

some people eh... actually look down on those who go for cartier

they feel stuff like mikli and starck/ theo are way more worth the price.

Raptor1

oldbreadstinks: do you have any brands to recommend too? ^^ I have more or less decided on Hoya SFT lenses. Degree with Astig about 600 each side

Seannie

I'm careful with mine? I really do expect glasses to last.
current one's 3 years old still looks new

and really people do care. I know you don't but a majority of the people do care. a price is actually attached to it.

raybans got slashed by almost half for new china models .

a lot of buyers don't like the word china on their frames.

you should go to eyechamp when there's a public holiday
they have jap frames lying around

fyi, i expect my Dun to last my lifetime & will keep adding on to any more good jap frames to my collection. Japan brands at least still have "Made in Japan" on their frames, even if it may not be true. May be a while before i whack any more frames. Spent a fortune on specs alry.

oldbreadstinks

fyi, i expect my Dun to last my lifetime & will keep adding on to any more good jap frames to my collection. Japan brands at least still have "Made in Japan" on their frames, even if it may not be true. May be a while before i whack any more frames. Spent a fortune on specs alry.

collection?:s22::eek:

see what I mean, you're not a normal end user to use that word

you remind me of someone who wanted to challenge a game of "tekken"
when I told him I've never played tekken before he said he's a beginner too
then I noticed he's holding his ps3 controller upside down.....
and he did infinite combos all the way....:s22::s22:

oldbreadstinks

Are frames from ic!berlin made in Germany or China? Do you think it is advisable to purchase the frame online, and have the lenses prescribed locally? If so, any sites to recommend?

oldbreadstinks: do you have any brands to recommend too? ^^ I have more or less decided on Hoya SFT lenses. Degree with Astig about 600 each side

as far as I know and what they advertise the steel is from italy and the final cutting and finishing done in germany. so they actually have a special for atas customers who want to spend and pay like 15% more and you can order the frame you want in a non listed col combination , takes 2 months.
no one caught them in china yet? but there are a lot of fakes from china. the china KOs will feel softer, looser joints

but 600? 500 degrees is already pushing it ? I do not think ic berlin looks that good with thick lenses
generally nothing above -4.00 unless you have a small head.

I personally like swissflex but I think unless your job is as sedentary as mine it's not that suitable. and you need time to put a pair together.
used to love oakleys
ic berlin? but your degree doesn't really look that suitable.

it's very personal really. like example swissflex suits my habits, and the bridge is comfortable for my nose. but pick anyone off the streets it's likely no one else has the same nose head combination?

I've met a lady who spent 6 years looking in sg and overseas for the perfect fame. :s22::s22::s22:

I found mine? so anything else is just a spare? I'm sticking with the same frame for life.

oldbreadstinks

Do you think it is advisable to purchase the frame online, and have the lenses prescribed locally? If so, any sites to recommend?

ethically I cannot advise you to buy online :s13::s13:

I do know which sites have fake stuff but not which site that's trusted.
if that rayban or ic berlin is being sold for $40usd..... are you sure you need to ask if it's real?
I do know that surprisingly raybans and J&J lenses are cheaper in Japan?
best way is to read the review I guess? if the price is not at least 30-40% off local retail , it makes no sense buying online since a fierce bargainer can get you that in sg, there's shipping as well.
after that then just weigh your options? do you need a warranty with the frame? you'll need to send them back if you do. and wait a month before it's back?
:s12:
I think there's someone here with ic!berlins they can let go?:s12:
scroll back 2-4 pages?

oldbreadstinks

My spectacles have some scratches on it, is there anyway to "fix" it?

nope, logically speaking not possible

your power is made up of prisms at a certain shape to bend the light

so removing the scratches basically means you're polishing the lens to change the shape which changes the power

which makes even less sense once your lenses are multicoated

you take out the coating and part of the lenses

and even if it's actually possible, economically it wouldn't be affordable for general folks
like how buying a new fan costs you less than $100 but repairs would be over that.

oldbreadstinks

Thank you oldbreadstinks. Yes, counterfeits are a worry to me. While calculating the overall cost is also a factor in mind. I appreciate your valued opinion, and pardon for putting you on the spot.

fakes are actually quite prevalent in singapore.
and the sad thing is a lot of optical bosses don't know the stuff is fake.
it falls under the "if it's too good to be true, it is"
like the contact lens case recently. sellers actually thought they struck gold and bypass local suppliers to get a cheaper price which is actually done for certain stuff in smaller quantities but sadly it didn't work out.

I've personally came across a shop that supplies fake goods to other shops and tried to pass it off as real stuff.
it's possible the ones buying to resell actually thought they were real. some were very close.

a place I've worked for had a magically wonderful person who was so generous to use his contacts in china to bring in "shui huo" and tried to sell to the shop owner
the boss asked me what I thought but insisted it's real and he got the deal because he's a boss and the guy gave him face.
I told him the shape's wrong though it's really close. and the hell, all came with the wrong cases. the rarer ones not the commonly seen cases. even if you stole the goods as he said(one of the stories is the staff in the factory stole the goods for resale)how the hell did you have a bunch of new cases for you to pick up?
not to mention although luxotica took over coach.
the dealer bought in coach from the same contacts. with the old cases which weren't used for 2-3 years? (recently under luxotica they've actually changed to that)
and all coach sunglasses are 2 tone especially that particular model which I've personally came into contact with before.
that particular piece was 1 tone.

the old man's screwed and he doesn't believe his trusted supplier aka contact in china would screw him:s13::s13::s13::s8::s22::s22:

oldbreadstinks

but if you're looking for real stuff in malaysia.

I've heard from a malaysian colleague. she doesn't not understand why the suppliers here have singporean business owners by the balls

not when stock here move so fast.
sinkie pwn sinkie maybe?
overthere assuming if she's not smoking me, the malaysians are more powerful in negotiations compared to sinkie bosses who suck thumb? lan lan accept new price increases.

in malaysia her boss takes branded stuff as a form of advertisment and most there who sell branded do.
and since so many are selling they just press the price all the way down and expect to make a lost?

so for really cheap prices if you can find a shop that sells real stuff in malaysia prices might be pretty attractive

Seannie

collection?:s22::eek:

see what I mean, you're not a normal end user to use that word

you remind me of someone who wanted to challenge a game of "tekken"
when I told him I've never played tekken before he said he's a beginner too
then I noticed he's holding his ps3 controller upside down.....
and he did infinite combos all the way....:s22::s22:

im definitely no pretender like that tekken u encountered la. i just meant that if i happened to come across any more perfect-enough frame for me i will whack, but that doesnt mean it's easy to find. I have spent 30 yrs hunting down the elusive fit, and till today i can only say that Dun is only the closest i have come to in terms of quality, functionality, fit & asethetic ALL In. And i still got to lower down my expectation & try to get used to Dun fitting. Sometimes along the journey i have managed to own exceptionally comfy frames eg Slights, but v comfy frames like these often come with other problems like nosepads fitting, and the material too soft that the shape gets bent easily out of shape & doesnt quite return to its original shape etc. In recent years korea plastic frames also offer exceptional lightness & comfort but being plastic there is no nosepads & slippage is one main concern and plastic material tends to get distorted & loose pretty soon.

I am a normal end user. I dont look for exceptionally branded stuff. The right fit for me. Metallic greyish blue is a very nice colour tone against my skin. Curved & flexible temples, light, higher-positioned nosepads with as little or no adjustments needed as possible. I think thats the direction i am going.

Seannie

I personally like swissflex
it's very personal really. like example swissflex suits my habits, and the bridge is comfortable for my nose. but pick anyone off the streets it's likely no one else has the same nose head combination?

I've met a lady who spent 6 years looking in sg and overseas for the perfect fame. :s22::s22::s22:

I found mine? so anything else is just a spare? I'm sticking with the same frame for life.

swissflex for most people is no-no. Too loose no grip at all. To have grip, a frame must not be too soft or flex.

Do you know how much $ that lady spent? 6 yrs just the amount of time spent, but maybe just "look look see see" only & not actually spending to buy.

If anyone found the right fit, then anything else extra just spares ofcos, unless you can find something better than the current pair, then it becomes a replacement frame, becos frankly once your fit is upgraded, very hard for one to adjust & accept the older & less-fitting pair.

My Dun is still a new frame which i chanced upon 2 months ago. So im waiting to see how well i can adjust to it. If it doesnt get rejected by my face, it could also jolly well going to be my frame for life. I should accept the fact that there is no perfit fit in the universe, so should just try to get used to the best available, readjust my expectations & live on with it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.