The Spectacles Thread.

whitelies

Hi Guys,

How do you see the difference between Carl Zeiss Photofusion and Carl Zeiss Transition?

Which is better?

evilster

hi guys, how much is a spectacles normally cost. i am using 325" and 250 "... I know the spectacle lens is about 70 bucks. frame wise how sia ?

whoiamisforutofindout

Oliver Peoples

Hi, Does anyone know where can i find Oliver Peoples Eyewears in Singapore? im looking for an Oliver Peoples Emerson. Many thanks.=)

Joelleyuan

Sian, bought 1 parasite scion3 online. but doesnt fit me. any one interested? looking for a pair of eyeglasses that are rectangular shaped(lens) but with a unique frame?
can post picture anot??

kkchanspider2002

Which optical shop has the largest collection of Tom Ford?

Hi All,

Which optical shop has the largest collection of Tom Ford?

I'm looking for Tom Ford FT5146, cant seems to find them.

Thanks.

KK

Seannie

Hi, may I know:

Qn1: besides Spectacle Culture, which other SG shop carries Dun frames? I dropped by the shop recently, & while the service was good, their DUN frames on display seems quite limited, i.e. around 10+ pairs only & some of them are different colours of the same 'type'? Will like to have a look at more DUN frames in the flesh before deciding.

Qn2: What's the difference between Hoya SFT versus the Hoya HVLL?

Qn3: all else being equal, e.g. price, & assuming the frame allows, is the conventional wisdom always to go for as thin a lens as possible right? Assuming conventional wisdom is that, the more material light as to pass through, the more it alters the image?

Thanks in advance.

Hi bro

Qn1) Dont restrict yourself to just Dun. They have many good brands down there worth a look as well. Recently there is a brand call Spivvy which i find not bad too. If you dont see too many models most likely there arent many nice ones at the moment thats why the shop didnt want to bring in too many frames that look more or less quite the same. If you go other shops like Pearl or Nanyang Optical they also dont carry so many frames of the same brand unless its really very sellable. Its unlike oakley or tagheuer which has a larger following thats why shops can bring in a wider variety. For spectacle culture i realised that they only bring in models that are unique and nice, becos they cater to a certain group of consumers. If you notice most of the frames are high end, they dont have frames within a hundred dollar. If you want variety or caters to mass market, you should go to Pearl or Queensway etc.

Qn2)Hoya sft is premium coating while HVLL is an even more premium coating, maybe the best hoya is offering at the moment in sg? For more info see this website HI-VISION LongLife

Qn3) Ideally as thin as possible for the asethietic appearance and also affects the total weight of your spec. Ofcos size of the frame you choose plays a part as well, and also your prescription, many factors. If you want lesser distortion i suppose the design of lens plays a more important part, eg Hoya Nulux or Nulux EP etc.

boysdontcryy

Does anybody use/like Lunor glasses? They were used by Jobs, though they do have other glasses are well-made and attractive. Yesterday, I went to Alexis to try on a pair. Surprisingly light in comparison to a pair from Oliver Peoples which was quite a bit heavier, well at least heavier enough for my to discern a difference immediately when it rested on my nose bridge.

den888

I have both Photo Fusion and Transition.
Photo Fusion seems to get darker quicker and also a a shade darker compared to Transition. It also gets cleared more quickly. However in the total absent of UV Photo Fusion seems to be not as clear as Transition, it is a shade darker compared to Transition. I suspect the Photo Fusion is similar to Transition XTRActive which has the same properties but is more suited to people who stay outdoors more than indoors.
By the way is there a Carl Zeiss Transition ??.
I thought Zeiss are all Photo Fusion. Transition are used by many other brands like Essilor etc.

Hi Guys,

How do you see the difference between Carl Zeiss Photofusion and Carl Zeiss Transition?

Which is better?

papaya00

Hi People,

I have been wearing those neighbourhood shop budget glasses. I am considering buying a better glasses ( around $500). I have seen the post peopleg talking about zess optical lenses. Can anyone share is there difference for the normal optical lenses compare to zess? Is it worth buying as by 1/2years time the degree might increase and require a change? Possible if you recommend me a shop?

Thank you.

whitelies

Yes. There is Carl Zeiss Transitions. RP for it is $500 while Photofusion is $450.

Photo Fusion seems to get darker quicker and also a a shade darker compared to Transition. It also gets cleared more quickly. However in the total absent of UV Photo Fusion seems to be not as clear as Transition, it is a shade darker compared to Transition. I suspect the Photo Fusion is similar to Transition XTRActive which has the same properties but is more suited to people who stay outdoors more than indoors.
I thought Zeiss are all Photo Fusion. Transition are used by many other brands like Essilor etc.

CHOCOx33

Hi, just bought a new pair of glasses yesterday. The model is Rayban (the geeky one) and Crizal Advanced normal lens with degrees of 400+ on both eyes.

Bought for 320 and scheduled to collect today. At first was offered a special price of 380 for Crizal with transition + Rayban frame(original price 440) but I optioned for the lens without transition

Is it good enough? Did not bought the lens with transition as I have no use for it and I dont really like the sunglasses effect outdoor. And I only stumbled into this thread today when I bought it yesterday! :( read about bad reviews of Crizal. But gonna hope that it will be good enough for me to last for next few years before upgrading to Hoya. Hoya is really costly for me!

boysdontcryy

Wow. This is very interesting. So you guys feel a discernible difference between these lenses as compared with those 100-ish dollars lenses? Are they lighter too? What are the pros of using these?

epigram

Hi, doing lens research.

does anyone know what is the difference between:
1. zeiss individual sv
2. zeiss 3d sv?

also, which shop in singapore uses the iscription machine?

Pryson

just made a spec Dunhill frame with 1.5 zeiss photofusion damage $750.

200 degrees on each eye. don't know got tio chop anot lol

nethdale

den888

Not sure about others but between the 2 these are what I found.
I can only compare the 2 because I happen to have both.
I believe Transition are more popular as they are also used on other brands of lens while I believe Photo Fusion are used only by Zeiss. Not sure if it will be different on different glass as well since there are also Transition on Zeiss (see previous post).
What I have is Zeiss Individual Framefit 1.67 with Photo Fusion and Essilor S Series 3D 1.67 with Transition.

Wow. This is very interesting. So you guys feel a discernible difference between these lenses as compared with those 100-ish dollars lenses? Are they lighter too? What are the pros of using these?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.