The Spectacles Thread.

lontonglah

recently bought hi-index 1.8 lens at optical 88, high astig (3.5) and degree too (10.0), price was $400, is this about the market price?
also, another problem with having such hi-index glass is that almost any kind of frame will slip down eventually, for now I use ear hook, but any of you guys know of any suitable frame for hi-index lens? right now i'm using some armani frame ($240)

noobzpro

What kind of lens they have there? Any pics of your hoot?

1474371_10151908565062935_700889838_n.jpg

not exactly sure wat lens they got...but this is the rodenstock colormatic lens....changes colour very fast! now plastic frames in fashion so try try lor

Seannie

recently bought hi-index 1.8 lens at optical 88, high astig (3.5) and degree too (10.0), price was $400, is this about the market price?
also, another problem with having such hi-index glass is that almost any kind of frame will slip down eventually, for now I use ear hook, but any of you guys know of any suitable frame for hi-index lens? right now i'm using some armani frame ($240)

U shd have gotten hi index plastic lens instead. Strongly discourage mineral glass as its too heavy and if slippage problem is of your concern. Clarity of lens, yes better but dont forget now plastic lens technology also getting v good and more researched. There is tokai think index can reach up to 1.76? Other brands will at least let u have up to 1.74 so why not go for plastic instead? Much lighter, safer option too. Double aspheric design will make it even thinner such that its comparable to the 1.8 glass u made. Only ting is the price factor. U may have to pay up to 1k or more just for lens but its worth it. At the end of the day, no spec frame u hunt can compliment the heaviness and thickness of your glass lenses. Only optionis to look for a lighter frame to go with a lighter plastic lens. Good luck.

Seannie

Bought spare specs at new china optician highly recommended frames old skul looking with rodenstock colormatic lens 100 nia lol

frame made in taiwan, but the nosepad arms design looks good.

what is the brand of your car, cant see from pic lei. You must be earning decent.

ahboy82

what is the brand of your car, cant see from pic lei. You must be earning decent.

noobproz come from elite family la. he owns iwc and rolex leh.

*stand at 1 corner and emo*

and he is still only in NS(if not completed NS liao). but he is a humble guy la, as compared to many others in edmw.

:s22:

ahboy82

1474371_10151908565062935_700889838_n.jpg

not exactly sure wat lens they got...but this is the rodenstock colormatic lens....changes colour very fast! now plastic frames in fashion so try try lor

this is nice. how much and where to get it? thinking of going HK see got any specs frame to buy

Seannie

and he is still only in NS(if not completed NS liao). but he is a humble guy la, as compared to many others in edmw.

can tell he quite loaded from the way he speak, and also quite young as he said his mum tells him he wear tagheuer half rim not nice :o wakao u also not too bad yourself mah, JLC lehz... :s22:

hmmm, i m not sure about whether rich = mostly proud. But i think maybe some have forgotten that they were also once upon a time poor. Those born wih a silver spoon are lucky, though they may not realise it. Life is ironical. Just be contented.

noobzpro

yes made in taiwan! i require nosepads those plastic frame sit on my nose very easy pimple.....

not my car la parents de...simple civic can go from a-b can liao no need so atas...i ns only rah! tmr ord!!!

noobzpro

this is nice. how much and where to get it? thinking of going HK see got any specs frame to buy

yes! new china optical as posted a few pages back! very nice and friendly people! but as some ppl posted a while back....many ppl dun go there becoz not atas enuff lolz...its next to davis guitars

noobzpro

wah not elite la....dun anyhow say.....haha ya today last day ns!

cravenz

I've read bits and parts of this thread from page 500 onwards and I'm honestly none the wiser over what shop to go to?

Wondering if anyone has advice for a professional shop who knows their stuff but isn't out there to cheat you etc i.e. good service.

I'm looking just to get a check up first and get some contact lenses then further down the road, I'll need to replace my current pair of spectacles i.e. I'm looking for a store to stick with in the long run.

Any recommendations / advice would be greatly appreciated.

noobzpro

I've read bits and parts of this thread from page 500 onwards and I'm honestly none the wiser over what shop to go to?

Wondering if anyone has advice for a professional shop who knows their stuff but isn't out there to cheat you etc i.e. good service.

I'm looking just to get a check up first and get some contact lenses then further down the road, I'll need to replace my current pair of spectacles i.e. I'm looking for a store to stick with in the long run.

Any recommendations / advice would be greatly appreciated.

I guess have to see whichlocation u are at? What kind of range u looking at?

cravenz

I guess have to see whichlocation u are at? What kind of range u looking at?

I knew I forgot to add something to my question? :D

Preferably in the west/central area. I'm putting up at Queenstown.

I don't really have a price range, but I'm definitely not looking at the $1k range either. I don't mind paying a little more for lens quality etc.

At the moment $500 would be my budget but it all depends on what I can get with it I guess? But again, contact lenses first, then glasses sometime later probably. So my budget may increase.

noobzpro

I knew I forgot to add something to my question? :D

Preferably in the west/central area. I'm putting up at Queenstown.

I don't really have a price range, but I'm definitely not looking at the $1k range either. I don't mind paying a little more for lens quality etc.

At the moment $500 would be my budget but it all depends on what I can get with it I guess? But again, contact lenses first, then glasses sometime later probably. So my budget may increase.

ctc lens from wat i heard msia cheaper...can get a stock from there...maybe first set sg store.....kwong shin, pearl optical, new china....this few at bugis/cityhall area go check em out they noe what they are doing

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.