The Watch Thread - Part 10

slow_mo

scratch itch = waste money cos that's not what you REALLY one to begin with.

also young people philosophy is YOLO and hoot first, talk later. daring and strong.

my uncle philosophy is lun (ie. tahan) so i won't regret later. old & slow. ;)

know yourself, cultivate your taste/style, budget your resources wisely so that when you acquire the best, you can really forget the rest. just my small voice of inconsequential experience. :)

I also think very long before buying an expensive watch (hence slow_mo). 😅

Ed.YEO

Hi may I know what you guys think it one were to pick between a zenith captain central seconds and a jlc MUT moon and the base glashutte original senator? Of course the zenith is clearly the most reachable but would I be better off saving for the other two? Right now I have a few watches (iwc pilot chronograph, Tudor classic date, longines hydroconquest, omega constellation, seiko 5 and a gshock) but I'm missing a dress piece. So yup as a second year local uni student, what should I save for? Thanks for your opinions!
哇勢!!!才二十出頭,就地看Zenith, GO了啊!!?有前途!
但是咧。。。才起步,麥看貴錶,麥中毒過深。存一條錢,十千也好,二十千嘛好,尚好是厚到有便入一個枕頭,到時經濟危機來時,免驚無安全枕好擋。

那是你忍袜條,買錶先看卡經濟咧錶款先。。。慢慢來,麥急。
麥聽什麼“頭一炮就該買勞啦,會保值啦~”有的沒的。。。

尚歹聽咧事實- 手錶保值永遠袜保100巴仙啦!

slow_mo

but he say GS not satki. haha

actually tbh, seannie know his stuff one la.
if not he can talk so much.
i think his knowledge surpassed many in here.
definitely way way way above me of course.

and 2824 is not "top" grade eta.
AFAIK it's the workhorse and most widely use basic movement

There are different grades with the ETA 2824-2 namely Standard, Elabore & Top (not sure if they have a chronometer grade).

franco8822

Most impt have wrist time for the watch. If not buy too many also leave it there to collect dust. Collecting dust also waste $$$. Or maybe wear 2 watches at each of the hand lol.

TeenTitan01

Very cultured piece of Tudor.
In fact this can also double as a half-dress watch... if you don't mind.

Cuz in fact many watch lovers here wear PAM, SUB, GMT, SMPO with suit and tie

my omega 2254.50 seamaster professional chronometer is perfect from a business suit to a birthday suit! :s12:
eac27d74fb.jpg

franco8822

I dont wamt Gshock lar i already have. I kinda thinking should i have gotten the GS instead or not... i think GS quartz also around same price range. Aiya sell u $3k now i lose $900 siah..

Just buy want to sell already? Don't damage the image of this watch leh lol. The watch will feel like an unwanted child. Wear it in good health. This watch needs minimum servicing. Can tahan more than 5 years without servicing considered not bad imo

gaoxing84

There are different grades with the ETA 2824-2 namely Standard, Elabore & Top (not sure if they have a chronometer grade).

i think Tudor got the ebauches and modify them.
likely the standard? haha since they're modifying them.
but seen people saying they got the elabore and modify them.

but ETA, no worries one la, unless one is a movement nazi.

guynextdoor80

Words of wisdom indeed. I totally agree with you. Although i also uncle but i just started on this hobby late last year and went through several rash purchases to scratch the itch because I thought those watches can tide me over. But i soon realise that was a mistake because i keep thinking about the watches that i really want. And in the end, its a costly lesson for me because i sold off those watches at a loss to get the ones i really want.

So now i am very careful with my purchases and i rather save longer to get the watch that i really want than substitute for something which i think i am ok with.

scratch itch = waste money cos that's not what you REALLY want to begin with.

also young people philosophy is YOLO and hoot first, talk later. daring and strong.

my uncle philosophy is lun (ie. tahan) so i won't regret later. slow, old but gold. ;)

know yourself, cultivate your taste/style, budget your resources wisely so that when you acquire the best, you can really forget the rest. just my small voice of inconsequential experience. :)

Nakedtoes

Just buy want to sell already? Don't damage the image of this watch leh lol. The watch will feel like an unwanted child. Wear it in good health. This watch needs minimum servicing. Can tahan more than 5 years without servicing considered not bad imo

hes a troll why entertain him .. he a joker forever not happy one... thats why i recommend him get patek once and for all.. ;)

glad you learn the hardtruth of watch collecting early.

sometimes it's more prudent to buy from the secondary market so that the depreciation you suffer is not so chor.

once you make the big bucks, you can consider buy brand new from AD or if you absolutely have to be sure that it's the real deal.

but let's face it: once you reach vintage-phase of your collection life cycle, isn't it all pre-owned, molested and raba-raba until all koot-koot liao?

and no matter how new or virgin, once worn, sure kena scratches one lah. if pre-owned, you're spared the heart pain. ;)
Yup that's why for me, I willl only buy a watch brand new if I know I'm gonna keep it for life

gaoxing84

Yo...11 and 13 is 2k difference! 11 seems reachable but I'm satisfied with my cheaper Moon Phase watch. 😊

i think is 13k. the movement is damn sex. the backside of it. sweet lord (black dial edition)
the MUT is 11k.

cannot remember.

Seannie

and no matter how new or virgin, once worn, sure kena scratches one lah. if pre-owned, you're spared the heart pain. ;)

Different lei. Preowned is others make the scratches then pass to you. New one is you make your own scratches. Macham different feel. But maybe its just psychological effect. For me i cant pass that road block.

Nakedtoes

Mine already gaining 2-3mins a day!! Is that normal when you just bought the watch?

wah yr 土豆 so power can run so fast.... i told u get patek liaoz... mine patek spot on.. gain few sec / month only;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.