The Watch Thread - Part 10

Henabi

Ok... Here's a triple for you to quote the font!

In other watch forums, people also pointed out the different fonts used by Rolex over the years.

Up for moderator!

You see me too up liao lolx. Exercising self discipline is far better imo ^.^

Reikizi...Your Orient DOME is Soooooo.... Curvy....

reikizi

Can teach how to remove scratches from glass and bracelet?

For bracelet and case, if shiny buy cape cod.

if brush finish use those polish pen or some say scotch brite (cannot polish or scratch ..don't find me) :s13:

or google to find out more

But to save your headache, after a few years you can bring down to a watch polisher and polish

lastly this is an old watch, the glass are plastic so easier to polish and scratched. new type sapphire or harden mineral glass are near to impossible to polish and also quite impossible to scratch (I is very chor lor pple , but my sapphire glass wan all swee swee) :D

gaoxing84

In other watch forums, people also pointed out the different fonts used by Rolex over the years.

You see me too up liao lolx. Exercising self discipline is far better imo ^.^

Reikizi...Your Orient DOME is Soooooo.... Curvy....

But but but. You speak like one. Got the caliber! One vote for mod henabi!!!

Henabi

For bracelet and case, if shiny buy cape cod.

if brush finish use those polish pen or some say scotch brite (cannot polish or scratch ..don't find me) :s13:

or google to find out more

But to save your headache, after a few years you can bring down to a watch polisher and polish

lastly this is an old watch, the glass are plastic so easier to polish and scratched. new type sapphire or harden mineral glass are near to impossible to polish and also quite impossible to scratch (I is very chor lor pple , but my sapphire glass wan all swee swee) :D

Very true actually... after a few yrs just send to a trusted 3rd party watch repair shop for a good polish.

Seannie... if you wanna DIY... can check out this link
http://www.howtocleanstuff.net/how-to-clean-a-watch/

paul02

All along, from what I know thus far, this watch thread never endorse replicas and fakes. In fact the moment we discovered any watches shared here are fakes or replicas, we Diss, flames and agressively invite them to get out of this thread and take the discussion elsewhere.

People who wanna openly discuss fakes and replicas, even where to buy them, are always invited to started their own discussion thread.

What's being discussed here is ways to spot fakes and replicas, which imo shouldnt be ban in this watch thread at all, as one of the most FAQS here is buying watches from 2nd hand shops and grey dealers.

On the other hand, homages and custom-made luxury watches are welcomed here.

Anyway... if some of you guys here are not comfortable with each other, kindly take your personal comments out of here, go to EDMW... or you can simply save your eyes sole pain and block some particular hwzers

hjhZXwPh.jpg

Thank you for welcoming homages! :deg:

paul02

Dai kor... don't lidat leh ^.^

Otherwise i cfm would have tio ban for posting my Steinhart also

Omg.... so bright still can take lume shot 0.o

Henabi approves so go post!

Lume was supercharged by my 700cd+ torchlight. I heard using UV torchlight supercharges better.

This one no need authentication. :s13:
27802472596_de15e2c457_k.jpg
27802413356_3ef31298df_k.jpg

Whoa your photo quality so good! Only my dad can take photos like that!

Seannie

Very true actually... after a few yrs just send to a trusted 3rd party watch repair shop for a good polish.

Seannie... if you wanna DIY... can check out this link
http://www.howtocleanstuff.net/how-to-clean-a-watch/

Orh thanks, think i will send back to RSC to polish. By the way usually how long is recommended to send back for servicing?

coern

Whoa your photo quality so good! Only my dad can take photos like that!

bro cichlid is well known... photo of orient look like grand seiko, photo of rolex sub look like red sub, take chery qq look like ferrari.

I think he take our photo will become Andy Lau! :s13::s13:

Ok I may be flogging a dead horse but the discussion this afternoon made me curious enough to dig up old photos of my 114060 which I got from AD to compare with the grey Hulk that I traded it for...

114060 AD:

sM4xib8.jpg

Grey Hulk:

QVYmS1J.jpg

Looking closely I realized that the font on both SUBMARINER have clear serifs on the "A"... which lead me to google and this page:

http://www.5513mattedial.com/Serifs.html

FWAH. got people write so much about rolex font sia... :s13:

Also this article on SJX:

http://watchesbysjx.com/2014/07/com...00-refs-16600-vs-116600-with-live-photos.html

"Though the text on the dial is exactly the same, there is a subtle change in the fonts used. That’s most noticeable for “Sea-Dweller”, which is in a serif font on the old model, and a simpler font on the 2014 model." :eek:

Therefore, whether got serif or no serif on modern rolexes, also have! :s13:

gaoxing84

Dont troll so much lar. Go find job go. Else enrich yurself. Mai hiam $100/day liao better than waste time.

i got troll you meh? why you like that think of me?
sigh.

i jobless, useless bum one. waiting for seannie kor kor to intro me job or can i work under you? pls?

$100/day too much for me la. $20 a day for me can liao. kym?

:D

gaoxing84

bro cichlid is well known... photo of orient look like grand seiko, photo of rolex sub look like red sub, take chery qq look like ferrari.

I think he take our photo will become Andy Lau! :s13::s13:

Ok I may be flogging a dead horse but the discussion this afternoon made me curious enough to dig up old photos of my 114060 which I got from AD to compare with the grey Hulk that I traded it for...

114060 AD:

http://i.imgur.com/sM4xib8.jpg[/]

Grey Hulk:

[IMG]http://i.imgur.com/QVYmS1J.jpg[/IG]

Looking closely I realized that the font on both [B]SUBMARINER[/B] have clear serifs on the "A"... which lead me to google and this page:

[url]http://www.5513mattedial.com/Serifs.html[/url]

FWAH. got people write so much about rolex font sia... :s13:

Also this article on SJX:

[url]http://watchesbysjx.com/2014/07/comparison-rolex-sea-dweller-4000-refs-16600-vs-116600-with-live-photos.html[/url]

Therefore, whether got serif or no serif on modern rolexes, also have! :s13:[/QUOTE]

the power of vintage rolex
1 model, many version.
i believe modern rolex, is pretty standard.
last time they chut many many pattern.
now standardised

Henabi

Omg.... so much discussion just on fonts used in Rolex watches

What the @@#*$$&&@,!&'&×&×€/&

Learnt something new today

Paul kor kor homage watches, as far as I know, no objections from the mods, admins and fellow watch lovers here =D

And mai haI Wah leh lolx... I just a regular watch lover. A mold not mod =X

Shyn85

Dont troll so much lar. Go find job go. Else enrich yurself. Mai hiam $100/day liao better than waste time.

i got troll you meh? why you like that think of me?
sigh.

i jobless, useless bum one. waiting for seannie kor kor to intro me job or can i work under you? pls?

$100/day too much for me la. $20 a day for me can liao. kym?

:D

hey bro, two of u pls don't mind open a new thread or go to edmw? here is watch thread not for u two ppl suan lai suan ki.

thx for cooperation.

paul02

Omg.... so much discussion just on fonts used in Rolex watches

What the @@#*$$&&@,!&'&×&×€/&

Learnt something new today

Paul kor kor homage watches, as far as I know, no objections from the mods, admins and fellow watch lovers here =D

And mai haI Wah leh lolx... I just a regular watch lover. A mold not mod =X

4LCFtyc.gif

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.