The Watch Thread - Part 10

Shyn85

tbh, i feel a luxury watch IS TO HAOLIAN - to yourself and/or others that you made it and also the sheer enjoyment of its romance, backstory, precision engineering, component quality and emotive qualities!

nowadays, telling time from a watch is incidental - we can reference time from our phone, computers, TV, etc. nothing a $10 quartz can't do even better, really.

trying to keep it honest here, folks. cheers. :)

not much ppl can be honest here...

let me start first, I like the fine precision mechanical and the fine finish. I am a CNC programmer in precision engineering, more or less I know how difficult to be done the precise component part.
Brand, yes. actually I don't like some micro-brand just becoz they just simply copy design and buy movement then sell to us... we all know the most difficult for the watch is the design and movement durable. yes, a lot of some luxury brand also use eta for their entry model but do u know they even not just simply buy a raw movement and polish then put in to watch, they will change the mostly important part and resign for the raw movement for the accuracy and durable. That's why I respect designer and real-watchband.
Why I choose iwc becoz not much ppl know about iwc, some my friend ask me is my watch just 2k ba... hahah... nobody know so really love it can make me low key

And to me must read watch to telling time, even I play on the phone also have to see my watch to telling time, if u ask me to read on the phone, I have to find the clock display even it is on the top center screen and read carefully... lol

pardon my poor english:o

TeenTitan01

Haha bro i know about that model but out of league for a poor guy like me.:s13:

don't say like that. :)

no harm with an aspirational piece or dozen here and there to spice things up. :D

treat it as watch porn loh. ;)

and don't get me started on JLC atmos clock, hor... =:p

guynextdoor80

Haha bro, that JLC Atmos Clock is truely poisonous, I got consider saving up to get that for my new house.=:p

don't say like that. :)

no harm with an aspirational piece or dozen here and there to spice things up. :D

treat it as watch porn loh. ;)

and don't get me started on JLC atmos clock, hor... =:p

TeenTitan01

I like the Reversos, wanted to get one but after trying quite a few models, none fit my wrist particularly well. This is the latest duoface reverso, very chio but very ex also.

:lick: :love: :D

a "tribute to 1931" design with a silver grain dial! epitome of the art-deco zeitgeist!

uber classy & sexy!!! :s12:

TeenTitan01

Haha bro, that JLC Atmos Clock is truely poisonous, I got consider saving up to get that for my new house.=:p

wait till dai dai kor iceflight flashes his complete starfleet machine black badger collection! :eek:

(ps: speculating nia, but i won't be surprised). :D

http://www.mbandf.com/_newsletters/201605/index.html

http://www.luxuo.com/watches/let-it-glow-mbf-starfleet-machine-black-badger.html

http://www.mbandf.com/machines/performance-art/BlackBadger/#/collection

franco8822

tbh, i feel a luxury watch IS TO HAOLIAN - to yourself and/or others that you made it and also the sheer enjoyment of its romance, backstory, precision engineering, component quality and emotive qualities!

nowadays, telling time from a watch is incidental - we can reference time from our phone, computers, TV, etc. nothing a $10 quartz can't do even better, really.

U r right but doesn't apply to all. I buy what I can afford and most impt its I liked it. That's y I say I got a seiko too. I had been wearing watches since when I was in primary school. Tudor is not a atas brand too. It's after all a watch. :)

Seannie

Atas brand leave to atas people. Important know where we stand mah. I middle-income level so i get mid-level product good enough. But at times society by and large may judge you based on what they see you. Eg. if you very rich but always just wear a $10 watch ple say u are a stooge or if you are actually not well-to-do but trying to act rich wearing atas above your level. No meaning like that already.

franco8822

Atas brand leave to atas people. Important know where we stand mah. I middle-income level so i get mid-level product good enough. But at times society by and large may judge you based on what they see you. Eg. if you very rich but always just wear a $10 watch ple say u are a stooge or if you are actually not well-to-do but trying to act rich wearing atas above your level. No meaning like that already.

Too bad the society we r bought up with had came to such a atas mindset. To each for his own. Buy what u like and wear it and admire it lol. This is the most rewarding for own self hard work. This is what I do. Stealing glances as and when the watch is on my wrist or kept in the cupboard Keke.

TeenTitan01

U r right but doesn't apply to all. I buy what I can afford and most impt its I liked it. That's y I say I got a seiko too. I had been wearing watches since when I was in primary school. Tudor is not a atas brand too. It's after all a watch. :)

like scoring my omega seamaster professional chronometer 2254.50 in near mint condition for under 2k? you betcha! :D

KrWeHHB.jpg

and like my citizen diver with 3 year agent warranty on aftermarket navy blue nato strap all for under 200 clams? shiok ttm! :D

tbzt5Vz.jpg

one can certainly derive top satisfaction with good deals from great watches. :s12:
tudor is a luxury brand. just not top lux. but still lux. after all not anyone can casually shell out $3,978 for a stainless steel time-only watch at a drop of a hat.

cheers. :)

TeenTitan01

you want the uncomfortable truth? ;)

the rich remains rich because they wear a $10 watch instead of spending $50,000 on a full gold rolex day-date 40. doing that means they're poorer by $50k already.

the very rich don't need a $50k gold rolex to tell others they're loaded. they know that they are - and that is good enough for them already! only some of the insecure not that rich need a full gold rolex to signal to others that they are loaded. in fact the very rich doesn't like to broadcast that they are that rich in public. it makes them an uncomfortable target. in private gated communities and closed door events with security present - well that's an entirely different story - they flash it to their peers till blingdom comes. after all, pointless to have it and not show it off, right? ;)

nevertheless, the very rich who indulge in expensive toys do so not to flaunt. they don't have to. it's just that their toybox budget is bigger and they just want to have fun. that's all. just ask dai dai kor iceflight. =:p

ps. apologies if i inadvertently offend anyone here. not aiming anyone. just my personal general observation. most important is we enjoy our watches within our means. cheers! :s12:

franco8822

like scoring my omega seamaster professional chronometer 2254.50 in near mint condition for under 2k? you betcha! :D

KrWeHHB.jpg

and like my citizen diver with 3 year agent warranty on aftermarket navy blue nato strap all for under 200 clams? shiok ttm! :D

tbzt5Vz.jpg

one can certainly derive top satisfaction with good deals from great watches. :s12:
tudor is a luxury brand. just not top lux. but still lux. after all not anyone can casually shell out $3,978 for a stainless steel time-only watch at a drop of a hat.

cheers. :)

Most impt u like it. :)Like how I like my watches. The kind of feeling which meant something. I can't describe in words.. Lol. I was looking at orient watch but my wife don't allow me to buy . Even a cheap and nice one. Keke

TeenTitan01

Most impt u like it. :)Like how I like my watches. The kind of feeling which meant something. I can't describe in words.. Lol. I was looking at orient watch but my wife don't allow me to buy . Even a cheap and nice one. Keke

having a CO is liddat one. otherwise it's no sex, no this, no that, nagging till kingdom comes, or am i imagining things?

nevertheless, your wife could be onto to something. buy so many also got not enough wrist time to wear, correct?

so unless she's a bag/shoe maniac, in which case, heheh... you can always open negotiations. ;)

franco8822

having a CO is liddat one. otherwise it's no sex, no this, no that, nagging till kingdom comes, or am i imagining things?

nevertheless, your wife could be onto to something. buy so many also got not enough wrist time to wear, correct?

so unless she's a bag/shoe maniac, in which case, heheh... you can always open negotiations. ;)

She is a saver and a good one. She seldom buy bags and shoes. The last bag she bought was a year ago a mk bag. Lol. I remember when I bought the Tudor she nagged and Suan me for a week. Women are like that got to respect . Not say henpecked. U respect her she respect u back. But as u mention not enought wrist time. Was looking at a normal orient gents watch. Those normal thin and plain type. Keke she say don't buy, I go see when I pass by watch shop lor to curb my itchiness .

pwillie

QFT, guys in this thread are at least a little vain... lets face it. :vijayadmin:

pwillie

I dont subscribe to this "know where we stand" BS.
I'll be more inclined to judge people by their character or actions.
some may find credit card sales ostentatious with their Rolexes and H belts, but if they got it through hard work, hey more power to them as long as they are song with their bling blings ...
No one should dictate how you spend your hard earn money (except your wife :D)
so what if i get my high from collecting $1000 Barbie dolls? :vijayadmin:

* PSA: Spend within your means ok...

gaoxing84

I dont subscribe to this "know where we stand" BS.
I'll be more inclined to judge people by their character or actions.
some may find credit card sales ostentatious with their Rolexes and H belts, but if they got it through hard work, hey more power to them as long as they are song with their bling blings ...
No one should dictate how you spend your hard earn money (except your wife :D)
so what if i get my high from collecting $1000 Barbie dolls? :vijayadmin:

* PSA: Spend within your means ok...

quote first. haha as long you song.

pwillie lumber 1

gaoxing84

received my lazada hoot. Tresor single watch winder. cost me about $80 after discount.
recommended by a bro here. Need it for the watch inside without quickset date (bloody ma fan to change the date).
Very quiet motor, got 4 settings and can do clock wise, anti and both.
Carbon fibre design.
those interested can try.

88EEC4EA-71DA-45BC-88EF-0636066E7871_zpsctczr9qr.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.