KqXDzbV.jpg

Nice!

Waiting to hoot a Star Elegant soon. :s22:

cyrenic

Unless it's gold and not plated!!

Actually I don't really think I'll ever go for anything other than silver, cos I don't like gold color, and none of my accessories are in gold, all silver. :s13:

That said, some watches do look gorgeous in gold or rose gold la, in all fairness. Just not my cup of tea. :) My wife does like rose gold though. :)

slow_mo

Getting a sense of y your pending reply may offend the rest.. Though iverson's suggestion should be viewed fromthe perspective that.... It's iverson

Some are 1-watch (expensive branded watch/indestructible G-Shock/favorite daily beater), some are muilt-watch (for different occasion and purpose), some are collectors (vintages and LEs), some are...

To each his own. We should not let other's comments offend us.

Ed.YEO

Getting a sense of y your pending reply may offend the rest.. Though iverson's suggestion should be viewed fromthe perspective that.... It's iverson
其實我不能說“愛花生師兄”的觀點有錯。。。他說的也是有道理的。
只是不能套用在某些群眾上。。。 我還是比較喜歡到處吃雞飯,從東吃到西,從北吃到南,從陸地吃到上空,從新加坡吃到台灣去。志在尋味,不在“舒服”。

Emospence

imho, for the money you're prepared to spend on a speedy, why not consider the omega SEAmaster professional chronometer 2254.50.

you get:
- superior water resistance (300m vs 50m).
- AUTOmatic movement vs manual winding.
- superb lume if you like lume like me.
- chronometer grade vs non-COSC.
- a better SEAmaster clasp vs SPEEDmaster clasp.
- the satisfaction that you've a rarer piece on your wrist.

but that's just me. if you're still keen on a speedy, I'm happy for you. cheers. :D

You below recommend someone save up for sub, down here put being less common as a pro.. :/

snip82

forget about ball. low value retention.

you can get a swiss movement watch for less than S$1k or thereabouts if you're not hung up about the brand (eg look at steinhart, squale, etc).

otherwise be disciplined, save $10 a day for 3 years and your rolex sub date is yours. (rolex has better value retention).

Yesterday went down to see the Ball engineer II pilot GMT .. the feel of the watch is solid.. I tried before Oris 65 but the feel is different.. I haven't see TV commercial before Poster also seldom .. more of omega, rolex, logines.. Maybe I will go see other brand before take a dip..

Rolex still far from my league.. want a daily beater alternative to my G shock 4 years old & seiko criteria 6years old(repair once due to my careless hit the wall causing the glass break)

cichlid

Although haven't worn this watch for a few months, it started ticking the moment I picked it up.
27098889683_a5de9ff468_k.jpg

lumin87

imho, for the money you're prepared to spend on a speedy, why not consider the omega SEAmaster professional chronometer 2254.50.

you get:
- superior water resistance (300m vs 50m).
- AUTOmatic movement vs manual winding.
- superb lume if you like lume like me.
- chronometer grade vs non-COSC.
- a better SEAmaster clasp vs SPEEDmaster clasp.
- the satisfaction that you've a rarer piece on your wrist.

but that's just me. if you're still keen on a speedy, I'm happy for you. cheers. :D
Any tips on where to source one?

Sent from here using GAGT

TeenTitan01

The problem is 2254 is not readily available lol. U intro ppl don't know how find also

just intro mah, to widen their awareness/choice. the patient hunt can come later. ;)

anyway, no disrespect to speedy moonwatch owners. i used to be crazy about them when i first got into watches. i really bought into the hype: iconic watch, been to the moon, flight certified by nasa ... until i found out about:

- the moon landing conspiracy,
- the movement & watch that was flight certified & went to the moon was the column wheel cal 321 (not the modern cam activated cal 861/1861),
- what?! no stop seconds in a chrono?! o_0
- water resistance? what water resistance?!

since i prefer watches with supposed ruggedness, excellent water resistance and lume, i guess divers are what i prefer now - preferably on a s/steel bracelet.

gaoxing84

forget about ball. low value retention.

you can get a swiss movement watch for less than S$1k or thereabouts if you're not hung up about the brand (eg look at steinhart, squale, etc).

otherwise be disciplined, save $10 a day for 3 years and your rolex sub date is yours. (rolex has better value retention).

not exactly. 3 years, money get smaller. haha sibei sian also
by the time the 3 years passed, you won't even buy already.

the fun thing about buying luxury goods is the feeling now, living in the moment feel. if i have to save and scrimp for a watch, i rather use the money elsewhere after the saving ends.

save should be for bigger things like house renovation, cars downpayment, those u know in the moment you cannot own one.

but thats me. haha maybe that's why i am broke. :(
hahahaha!

gaoxing84

gaoxing84

just intro mah, to widen their awareness/choice. the patient hunt can come later. ;)

anyway, no disrespect to speedy moonwatch owners. i used to be crazy about them when i first got into watches. i really bought into the hype: iconic watch, been to the moon, flight certified by nasa ... until i found out about:

- the moon landing conspiracy,
- the movement & watch that was flight certified & went to the moon was the column wheel cal 321 (not the modern cam activated cal 861/1861),
- what?! no stop seconds in a chrono?! o_0
- water resistance? what water resistance?!

since i prefer watches with supposed ruggedness, excellent water resistance and lume, i guess divers are what i prefer now - preferably on a s/steel bracelet.

good choice for you.

i like the speedy for what it is. i don't think the moon landing is a conspiracy. i am a man of science.
the entire movement is the same except for the column and cam wheel difference.
no need water resistance since no water on the moon.

as for stop seconds in chrono, that doesn't affect me that much. haha
how many of you guys actually use the chrono for legit purposes?
it's just that for show la.

TeenTitan01

You below recommend someone save up for sub, down here put being less common as a pro.. :/

bro, dun get me wrong. a rolex sub will always be a rolex sub. it has the seh, the value retention and you feel shiok/proud that you worked hard and saved prudently to afford an iconic watch that anyone the world over recognizes. when purchased pre-owned, you can even break even easy, so it's like wearing a luxury watch (almost) rent-free. what other watches can be like that? not many.

i fell in love with the omega 2254.50 since i laid eyes on its photos. its huge triangle hour marker at 12 o'clock just grabbed my attention. i was lucky to acquire one at a good price, so i keep sharing why i love it so much - like it being oop (relative rarity), a cult watch with classic design and dial/hands that many watch lovers agree is handsome, has date window color matching the dial, gorgeous wave dial, with lume that can go toe-to-toe with a seiko monster, chronometer-grade movement, slim, slight dome single AR coated sapphire crystal, excellent clasp, beautiful speedy-style bracelet, short lyre-style lugs (= no overhang + 41mm case can be worn by people with modest wrist), re-sale price well-maintained, etc.

confusedboi

bro, dun get me wrong. a rolex sub will always be a rolex sub. it has the seh, the value retention and you feel shiok/proud that you worked hard and saved prudently to afford an iconic watch that anyone the world over recognizes. when purchased pre-owned, you can even break even easy, so it's like wearing a luxury watch (almost) rent-free. what other watches can be like that? not many.

i fell in love with the omega 2254.50 since i laid eyes on its photos. its huge triangle hour marker at 12 o'clock just grabbed my attention. i was lucky to acquire one at a good price, so i keep sharing why i love it so much - like it being oop (relative rarity), a cult watch with classic design and dial/hands that many watch lovers agree is handsome, has date window color matching the dial, gorgeous wave dial, with lume that can go toe-to-toe with a seiko monster, chronometer-grade movement, slim, slight dome single AR coated sapphire crystal, excellent clasp, beautiful speedy-style bracelet, short lyre-style lugs (= no overhang + 41mm case can be worn by people with modest wrist), re-sale price well-maintained, etc.

Wah you should be omega seamaster spokesperson! Omega should send you a new seamaster to be their ambassador 😂😂

Ed.YEO

玩錶的定義是什麼?怎麼樣算是玩錶?

在這鐘錶嗜好之下,玩錶有不同定義,不同方向,不同群眾。
有些人玩款(如我),有些人玩值(炒錶),有些人玩迷(他人羨慕),最高級的該算玩心的(不。。。不是玩揸某的心啦!是玩手錶的芯),往往這些芯的市價就能把普羅大眾的名牌踢到兩三尺之外了。

玩款?
什麼玩款?只是說得好聽而已。。。“老實說啦!是旁門左道啦!一點創意都沒有。只有原廠設計才算正宗!”這是我在其他論壇,甚至自己職場聽過,見過,最強烈的反應了。不能否認,市面上有不同暢銷的小品牌,都是騎在名牌設計之上,加上競爭力優勢的低價而受歡迎的。這些錶款一般上都被稱為Homage-致敬款。有些“純錶迷”卻直接稱為“抄款”,還是更加強烈的“假錶”。難道名表就沒“抄”嗎?老叻的“十仔”在歷史上就沒有“抄”的成分?這就有得爭議囉。。。當然除了老叻“十仔”之外,其他廠牌也有其獨特設計呀。。。精工就是其中一個。Swatch更是創意老手了,叫人怎麼跟也跟不到。

玩值?
何謂玩值?值不值得?還是多少“值”的回報?
前者多數與配置有比較大的關係,但是也不能否認品牌能夠“回”的“值”會多高多少。但是一般上,還是後者影響力比較高。。。“炒”的味道也就比較濃烈。就拿幾個月前精工推出的“扇貝”潛水錶來說吧。。。一推出市場,多人強着要。一旁觀亂的漁翁就使出重鈔,能在市面上捉多少“扇貝”就有多少。將第一波,第二波推出扇貝掃斷。心急的錶迷也就栽在這些資金強而有力的漁翁手裡,付出高昂的代價。。。只為一品“扇貝”之味。敗,就敗在“急”字上。“扇貝”只是冰山一角,同樣情形也發生在市場上其他“限量發行”的錶款上。
老叻與其他大眾名牌一樣,不必靠“限量發行”,只要靠廣告來炒,製造假象,自然就有笨魚遊入漁翁的網了。

玩迷?
一個成功的品牌,要如何贏得大眾的青睞?
靠~~~工質?那是七,八十年代,或者更早之前的事囉。。。
靠~~~信念?“買只名錶,不止是對於自己辛勞的一種安慰,也是可傳給下一代的辛勞之寶”?八,九十年代的“觀念”,在2000年後的現代還可用?
靠~~~引力?對。。。老實說,今時今日的品牌印象,就是建立在廣告打得怎麼響亮,怎麼進入“一般普羅大眾”的腦海,心海裡去。買只名表,帶上手,頭上就會有個閃亮的光環。那些什麼七八十年代還是之早的“以工質贏信賴”已經是過去式啦。。。在臉書,在Intagram,在外面得到多少LIKE比較重要了。

玩心=玩芯?
老實說,現代的消費者很少人會去看內涵的。但是有些錶迷卻是專玩機芯的。越複雜越貴,有些價值可買一輛車,甚至一間屋了!真是叫人羨慕呀!!知情的人更是對這“高手”有欽佩之心!!!
但是貴有貴玩,賤有賤玩。我們或許不必玩到捨去一間房子,或者一部車子。。。只要對於機芯有認識就行了。買得了貴錶,不一定能夠承擔保養保修的費用。相對的買得了賤錶不一定要花大錢來保養保修。只要知道怎麼選,也可玩得盡興呀!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.