The Watch Thread - Part 10

yattokame

waiting for the train. Blue jacket blue watch blue bag ......no blue hotdogs.

C10316E2-F51F-403D-BFAF-9B7E407815A4_zps79ecazbw.jpg

Seannie

Do not agree with some of your analogies or IMHO somewhat dismissive conclusion that marketing > horological significance, but I respect your perspectives. End of the day, as several guys have pointed out, we spend our money and pursue our hobby the way we like to. No right or wrong, so long there is no ethically questionable behaviour involved. Appreciate your replies; I can imagine the thought and effort put into them. Your passion in watches (and languages) is IMHO very commendable too! Cheers and TGIF :)

Yalor, seldom sinkies got ah yeo's chinese language distinction level, much higher than mine i also respect sia... jin elite. But toking about branding, i think marketing is equally important. If a watch got long history but minimal marketing to build up the branding image how can the brand be as successful and renowned as it is today?

freeztyle

Hi, was new to watch world, i'm looking for a watch which is
1) have world time function
2) solar power
3) at least 46mm case diameter

anyone have good recommendation?
I just graduated and start work like few months, so quite on tight budget, hopefully below 500 sgd...

cyrenic

I don't have an Esteem but don't mind if you want to send me one :D

Maybe is just my sweat corrosive. My BB wallet after 3 years the back side (side that always against my butt) leather also cui..

Oh oops, that was RadEoNic, not you. He was comparing his Retrograde to his Esteem and saying that the Esteem looked fine after 4 years.. Yours is the backside peeling one. :s13:

I wonder if it's because Esteem is PVD, while Orient Star is gold plating.

Henabi

2) solar power

I just graduated and start work like few months, so quite on tight budget, hopefully below 500 sgd...

Best recommendation: G Shock Tough Solar series

kiosai

2) solar power

Dun buy first.. use handphone.
Come back in a few months time when you started work.

Different working environment need different kind of watches.

Outdoor / workshop / factory floor environment in Polo-T and jeans, a G-Shock will be perfect.

Office environment for the executive in long sleeve shirt pants, you may find your G-Shock a little too thick for your shirt cuffs and may want to go for dressier watches less than 46mm.

With your budget, watches from Seiko, Orient can be gotten quite easily. Stretch it a little, can hoot Tissot, Hamilton, etc. But you may have to give up on solar and GMT functions.

indigo22

nt sure if the protrek series is good for you, i rmb i use to like prw-6000 becuz its both sporty & formal

jonleelk

cyrenic

2) solar power

46mm is quite big unless you have big hands leh..

Not so suitable if you work in office.

indigo22

I presume he is looking for "formal" watches in bracelet since he is starting work. Analog with solar, what comes into my mind = Casio Edifice.

http://www.skywatches.com.sg/reviews/media/catalog/product/cache/1/image/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/e/q/eqs-700db-1av_5_2_1.jpg[img]
Less than $400 from here
[url]http://www.skywatches.com.sg/reviews/casio-edifice-solar-mens-world-time-watch-eqs-700db-1a-eqs700db.htm[/url][/QUOTE]

agree on the Edifice series [IMG]http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/images/icons/icon14.gif

patryn33

just intro mah, to widen their awareness/choice. the patient hunt can come later. ;)

anyway, no disrespect to speedy moonwatch owners. i used to be crazy about them when i first got into watches. i really bought into the hype: iconic watch, been to the moon, flight certified by nasa ... until i found out about:

- the moon landing conspiracy,
- the movement & watch that was flight certified & went to the moon was the column wheel cal 321 (not the modern cam activated cal 861/1861),
- what?! no stop seconds in a chrono?! o_0
- water resistance? what water resistance?!

since i prefer watches with supposed ruggedness, excellent water resistance and lume, i guess divers are what i prefer now - preferably on a s/steel bracelet.

Moon landing conspiracy theory? No evidence it's true
321 movement? Just buy old watch... So many moon watch these days besides this.
Moon watch not diving or taking a jacuzzi need what super water resistance.
Non hacking chrono - Zenith EP is same deal.. I wonder Rolex early Daytona same deal. Anyway some tricks to get second hand to stop. Not expert into their watches. Thanx for highlighting this fact
http://forums.watchuseek.com/f20/how-do-you-properly-set-time-speedmaster-386265.html#/forumsite/20758/topics/386265?page=1

patryn33

if you love the ball at $3k, get it cos your enjoyment is what matters.

however, do note that the tritium gas tubes in the ball will glow half-strength in 12 yrs and will die in 25. and you'll definitely suffer a huge depreciation if you try to sell it off.

if rolex is your long-term goal, you can consider saving up a while longer and get that rolex with the money you'd otherwise spend on the ball.

a quick search turned up a pre-owned gmt master IIc ceramic bezel dated jul 2015 (means it qualifies for rolex full 5 yr warranty) can be had for $8,800 (i don't know the seller, nor am i recommending him at all - just using his ad as a price guide only).

the rolex will hold its value much better, for sure. plus the chromalight lume will glow for longer than the tritium gas tubes.

at $10/day, you can steadily save $8,800 in 2 yrs 5 months. so rolex is actually within anyone's league with disciplined saving (and a huge incentive for watch-loving smokers to quite smoking too!) :D

Now cost $8800 2.5 yrs later still this price?

Chromalight lume glow longer than tritium is debatable from
What I read. Not charging and discharging all the time yes, otherwise 12 yrs need to change iirc.

If buy for resale value.... Ok
$$$ is what ppl care, don't buy is best.
Today close to 40M Rolex in circulation.

Life is short, get married worry w charter, have kids worry pay for their edu and ROI, too many things to worry

gaoxing84

Got it at 280$ didn't bargain since carousel seller willing to meet me at my convenience

Need more of you in carousell lol
Anyway k2 got alot of stocks of this if I am not wrong. Price wise not sure.

freeztyle

Thank you very much for all the reply on the recommendation, the reason i'm looking for at least 46mm is because my body size is consider big kind, tried some 42-44mm watches, doesn't really fit me.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.