The Watch Thread - Part 10

Victor25

Yesterday, while on the way to Boon Keng, I thought to myself, I was going to ask permission from the watch shop owner to take photos of his vintage watches that were in his showcases. But alas, the watch shop had ceased operation and no longer there. I was so disappointed as I was there a few times before and really wanted to take photos but didn't dare to ask. Now, no chance liao.I guess the old folks must have decided to retire.

Shot this photo previously.
25152981856_71a2c7f1b4_k.jpg

Was a frequent visitor. Iirc, the shop ceased operation on 1st April due to sky high rents. Was told by the uncle that he still does watch servicing at his home.

cichlid

At Hougang Hainanese Village (market)
8192387391_f5049e6031_k.jpg

At Sungei Rd
8121896287_73dab56019_k.jpg

At Tekka market, 2nd floor.
8073683899_48d2456a0f_k.jpg

One day, I must take K2, lol.

snowver

So much history and passion in these photos. Great stuff guys!

At Hougang Hainanese Village (market)
8192387391_f5049e6031_k.jpg

At Sungei Rd

At Tekka market, 2nd floor.
8073683899_48d2456a0f_k.jpg

One day, I must take K2, lol.

Timekeeper by Kiatography, on Flickr

took this one @ toa payoh...Mar 2015 iirc..

Yesterday, while on the way to Boon Keng, I thought to myself, I was going to ask permission from the watch shop owner to take photos of his vintage watches that were in his showcases. But alas, the watch shop had ceased operation and no longer there. I was so disappointed as I was there a few times before and really wanted to take photos but didn't dare to ask. Now, no chance liao.I guess the old folks must have decided to retire.

Shot this photo previously.

Ed.YEO

Was a frequent visitor. Iirc, the shop ceased operation on 1st April due to sky high rents. Was told by the uncle that he still does watch servicing at his home.
錶鋪老大叔跟你說他那鋪子是租的?
不是吧。。。
金都錶鋪在明地米亞商廊已經有很多年的歷史了。如果是靠租鋪來營業的話,在2000年產業鼎盛時期早該收檔了,怎麼可能還會頂到2015?要知道,單靠賣錶,賣鐘,修錶,兩老的收入根本不能支撐的。

我住在這一區已經33年了,33年裡也只跟他們買過一隻電子錶,帶去當兵用的。。。鐘錶業有起有落,加上以他們的銷售價格來看是熬不過產業鼎盛時期的。

reikizi

At Sungei Rd

wah....Sungei road flea market... long time no step in liao ...

Bro cichlid, is it still around ?? if yes then its time to go there makan snake and gai gai again :D

last time near club street oso have a small flea market .. dunno still have a not

cichlid

wah....Sungei road flea market... long time no step in liao ...

Bro cichlid, is it still around ?? if yes then its time to go there makan snake and gai gai again :D

last time near club street oso have a small flea market .. dunno still have a not

Should have ba, the photo was taken 1 or 2 years back.

Victor25

錶鋪老大叔跟你說他那鋪子是租的?
不是吧。。。
金都錶鋪在明地米亞商廊已經有很多年的歷史了。如果是靠租鋪來營業的話,在2000年產業鼎盛時期早該收檔了,怎麼可能還會頂到2015?要知道,單靠賣錶,賣鐘,修錶,兩老的收入根本不能支撐的。

我住在這一區已經33年了,33年裡也只跟他們買過一隻電子錶,帶去當兵用的。。。鐘錶業有起有落,加上以他們的銷售價格來看是熬不過產業鼎盛時期的。

Yeah. He told me he cannot afford to pay the rent anymore, that was y he decided to end business there. The old uncle is really kind and knowlegable. He even had his young photo displayed in one of the display cases. Very yan dao!

Ed.YEO

.。。I guess the old folks must have decided to retire.

Ciclid師兄猜的也許比較貼近我的看法。
錶鋪兩老已經年邁了,老大叔我如果沒有猜錯的話,該有70多了。
如果這裡任何師兄在2015有上門看看的話,應該不難發覺錶鋪還是那麼的雜亂,物品沒有整齊的分類,還是那麼陳舊。。。恕我冒昧直言,以他們的年紀,能做的實在有限。
老師傅的優勢,是在於他修錶對於任何機芯不設限,可以搞就能搞。。。大陸機芯除外。因此有不少擁有俄國機芯錶款的擁有者上門找師傅修錶。。。可是,單靠修錶的收入,還有數量,加上本身的能力有限。。。 越早退休越好吧。

Ed.YEO

Yeah. He told me he cannot afford to pay the rent anymore, that was y he decided to end business there. 。。。
我也就老實的說出我的看法吧。。。
在整個明地米亞商廊的商家之中,除了鄰近幾步的男士髮廊之外,就數金都錶鋪最老了。其他的鋪子多數都是在產業鼎盛時期換血的。
老師傅說他頂不起高昂租金,也許是比較婉轉的理由。退休的機率比較高。不然就是有難言之隱。。。以現在明地米亞商廊的單位價格來看,賣掉鋪子,就能轉到一比可觀的“退休金”了。。。

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.