The Watch Thread - Part 10

1. i'm not a rolex owner.
2. only a watch noob is unaware of how cheap the stamped metal rolex clasps were in relation to its inflated price, and for the longest time, the rolex rattle came courtesy of non-SEL and folded metal bracelets.
3. for many years, omega milled clasps were among the best watch clasps there is out there, and it's only quite recently that rolex recently and finally upped its game and equipped its watches with quality milled clasps befitting of its status.

Yup I know about the old stamped clasps.. My Tudor has one of those. But in case I didn't make things clear, I'm referring to current models... And oh I thought you had a Rolex, my apologies.

I don't give a damn which watch design is original. If it's nice, I like the look, and it has a good movement at a price I like, I'll take it. Sorry, just because 20,000 or more people think that some brand damn atas and quality doesn't mean I have to follow. I'm a human, not a sheep.

Steinhart's designs may or may not be original, but their value for the price is undeniable.

I haven't seen a CWard in the flesh.. So.

Kinda wish steinhart made more original designs that I'm sure they're capable of. Such as the new ocean two which is gorgeous btw

I have no desire to get a Rolex or an IWC. Could I buy them?

Sure, in a jiffy, but I got better things to spend my money on. :s13:

Oh true, if you've no desire then that's good. It's just that I learnt the hard way of buying inferior watches to substitute what I really wanted and made losses cos in the end I still had to buy the one I originally wanted. Just sharing

Actually come to think of it.. Are you Beepok? :s11:

I have no clue on who beepok is but I'm willing to bet $5000 on the authencity of any of my watches. We can go verify any of my watches at RSC or any reputable shops lol. I've never ever purchased a single fake thing in my life.

Then you should see patek and ap bracelet.
And rolex was using stamp clasp till late 2000s. Omega bracelet was king till rolex decided it was threatened and decide to redesign the clasp.

See. Rolex doesn't react to change fast and is slow in innovation. They focus alot on markering and maybe refining their watch.

I've seen AP and Patek bracelets... They're really a work of art but I can't afford either now. I'll never buy an AP though, no love for that watch at all

gaoxing84

I don't give a damn which watch design is original. If it's nice, I like the look, and it has a good movement at a price I like, I'll take it. Sorry, just because 20,000 or more people think that some brand damn atas and quality doesn't mean I have to follow. I'm a human, not a sheep.

Steinhart's designs may or may not be original, but their value for the price is undeniable.

I haven't seen a CWard in the flesh.. So.

it's true. rolex is seen on everyone wrist (well almost, fake or real) and yet it cost 5 digits.
sigh, one of the idiots but i still managed to source for cheap LOL

steinhart cost 500 and it looks slightly different. ppl ask rolex? say bo la steinhart, you buay hiao one.
LOLOLOL.

there's no end game but only buying what you like and how much you value the watch at.

I have no desire to get a Rolex or an IWC. Could I buy them?

Sure, in a jiffy, but I got better things to spend my money on. :s13:

OMGGGGG

2efefb17061b758f99c024da0e8d59c5.gif

cyrenic

it's true. rolex is seen on everyone wrist (well almost, fake or real) and yet it cost 5 digits.
sigh, one of the idiots but i still managed to source for cheap LOL

steinhart cost 500 and it looks slightly different. ppl ask rolex? say bo la steinhart, you buay hiao one.
LOLOLOL.

there's no end game but only buying what you like and how much you value the watch at.

OMGGGGG

2efefb17061b758f99c024da0e8d59c5.gif
Hahaha my point is buy what you like.

Even if DW makes you happy and you like it and stuff, you're entitled to it mar. Don't buy a watch cos everyone says it's good. Don't discard a watch cos some random YouTube fatty says it's a shitter.

Have your own mind, it's your money your life your watch. :)

I like all of my watches, even the cheapo Marina Militare homage that I got for a song. Those that I don't like I sell loh. Hahaha.

gaoxing84

Oh true, if you've no desire then that's good. It's just that I learnt the hard way of buying inferior watches to substitute what I really wanted and made losses cos in the end I still had to buy the one I originally wanted. Just sharing

what is inferior?

would like to know more

gaoxing84

Hahaha my point is buy what you like.

Even if DW makes you happy and you like it and stuff, you're entitled to it mar. Don't buy a watch cos everyone says it's good. Don't discard a watch cos some random YouTube fatty says it's a shitter.

yeap. standby that but as a brandwhore, i still like rolex. because everyone will go WOW ROLEX WORRRRRRRRRRRR

cyrenic

yeap. standby that but as a brandwhore, i still like rolex. because everyone will go WOW ROLEX WORRRRRRRRRRRR

Ok la if you brand ***** and name dropping the brand of the watch you wear makes you sibeh song I also happy for you. :s13:

As long as you don't claim that your watch is the best, other watch all cannot match up to it..

Watches like people, got so many dimensions. Measuring a watch by its brand and perceived quality is as good as judging someone based on their highest qualification

gaoxing84

Maybe in 7-10 years time. I can't afford or carry that kinda watch as a student. Wanna get another iwc pilot or Portuguese, a zenith captain elite and a GO (or JLC) before I even think of a Patek or VC. One step at a time.

wah 10 years can afford patek. not impur!

:eek:

Pretender watches that try to be something they're not and also watches with lower grade movements and materials are inferior to true luxury watches. No offense but Just my opinion.

pwillie

I have no clue on who beepok is but I'm willing to bet $5000 on the authencity of any of my watches. We can go verify any of my watches at RSC or any reputable shops lol. I've never ever purchased a single fake thing in my life.

Good for you... no need to bet, just asking.
but it'll be interesting to have him drop in once in a while :s13:

cyrenic

Pretender watches that try to be something they're not and also watches with lower grade movements and materials are inferior to true luxury watches. No offense but Just my opinion.
So you'd pay a premium for an IWC with ETA movement?

I won't.

gaoxing84

Ok la if you brand ***** and name dropping the brand of the watch you wear makes you sibeh song I also happy for you. :s13:

As long as you don't claim that your watch is the best, other watch all cannot match up to it..

Watches like people, got so many dimensions. Measuring a watch by its brand and perceived quality is as good as judging someone based on their highest qualification

lol obviously i am trolling leh. if not u think i buy microbrand and $50 seiko to zhng meh

i am open to all watches as long i like it. lolol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.