The Watch Thread - Part 12

indigo22

You can try going for the Orient bambino. It's below 200. And please do not go for dw similar watches (ie rosefield, thefifth, kapten & son)

gOWXFEpl.jpg

Twk97Icl.jpg

Sent from LGE LG-H815 using GAGT

Hi guys and gals, just to check with yall. I wanted to buy DW watches for the longest time, but i just heard from my friend that their mechanics is not really worth the money. Is it true? Should i still get it?

Any recommendations of good classic watches for women that is under $250?

Thanks!!

agree with Ga Li Kong - the Orient Bambino is a more value for money and besides the Seiko SKX007, is one of those which has been continuously recommended by the buddies here throughout the numerous parts of this thread, which attest to its durability and likability amongst us here :o

there are various version of the Bambino, each having slight aesthetics variations and all comes in various color dial color options.

once u find the one u like, u can try visiting Carousell or Bencoolen to shop for one.

cyrenic

Hi guys and gals, just to check with yall. I wanted to buy DW watches for the longest time, but i just heard from my friend that their mechanics is not really worth the money. Is it true? Should i still get it?

Any recommendations of good classic watches for women that is under $250?

Thanks!!

Yes, it is overpriced for what it is - overhyped quartz watch that as Ed.Yeo always likes to point out, you can get for much less at Bugis Street without the branding.

If you like that size, then Bambino should work fine for you. The closest look I would think is the V3.

minnychan17

Yes, it is overpriced for what it is - overhyped quartz watch that as Ed.Yeo always likes to point out, you can get for much less at Bugis Street without the branding.

If you like that size, then Bambino should work fine for you. The closest look I would think is the V3.

wooo thanks a lot you guys so helpful!! will check out all the recoms before deciding which one to go for :s13:

Gainduia

Anyone interested in Marloe's Lomond chronoscope? Hoping to gather 3 more for the early bird collection.

Thanks!

AyuReady

Can try those seagull nomos lookalike ?

Forgot the name and model

gaoxing84

Dun think will and in my own view, vintage is not defined just by lume or patina.

Any good 30 years old watch being passed down will come with its own share or story which the owner can share with their children and can be passed by word of mouth haha

That's not vintage liao. That's heirloom leh.
Lol or estate

gaoxing84

In your opinion 50-60 years later the current watches will be considered vintage or not ah?

If we're all wearing apple watch or some Satki futuristic watch. Maybe.
But I think highly unlikely. Cause a 114060 will look like a 114060.
There won't be aging except for scratch up cases.
The new subs are too up there already.
Nothing more to improve over the next decade or 2.
Rolex has done a Satki job on that.
The 5513 will probably still around and worth millions and I feel it will.
2 reasons.
First, The numbers will get lesser.
2nd, Cause at that time, we will be very detached from the manual mechanical world and we need these to feel human again due to automation and who can afford? The rich and famous.
And the 5513 will still be called a century old vintage while the 114060 a typical old watch.

And it applies to all watches. Rolex is just a example
Not a hard core no rolex no talk fan boy.

AyuReady

Haha u are using aging uniquely as requirement to be deemed as vintage. Abit diff from mine.

As long as it lives to tell a story, I consider it liao haha

Heirloom FTW

2 reasons.
2nd, Cause at that time, we will be very detached from the manual mechanical world and we need these to feel human again due to automation and who can afford? The rich and famous.
And the 5513 will still be called a century old vintage while the 114060 a typical old watch.

gaoxing84

Haha u are using aging uniquely as requirement to be deemed as vintage. Abit diff from mine.

As long as it lives to tell a story, I consider it liao haha

Heirloom FTW

Then it's call heirloom la. Lol heirloom more Satki than vintage.
When making a family coat of arms? Then jitao engrave on the watch. I tell you. No joke. Haha royal family liao

All in a Day

2 reasons.

IMHO, vintage is simply a term for something that would be generally regarded non-contemporary and of age. Technically everything current today will, if they still exist in 50 years, be considered vintage.

How desirable a vintage will be is a separate matter. Reasons contributing to the desirability of vintage Rolexes (as we know of them today) are quite extensively and well-documented on the internet. Many of those reasons may or may no longer apply to "modern" Rolexes. Only time will tell, if we live to that day to discover.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.