The Watch Thread - Part 12

indigo22

So true, still got simi Etoot House and stuff..

To us guys, the only ladies "accessories" that matter are the lai sah and lai kor, all else not impt. :s13:

Still find the hesalite of the Speedy to be the most captivating..never gets old.

gQvDI27.jpg

simi is lai sah and lai kor? rarely seen it on them leh :s34:

if u know what i mean

pervert-smile-o.gif

tictactor

On a side note, is anyone doing the 10km challenge. Damn gaowei sia
oKCaRUJl.jpg

Sent from LGE LG-H815 using GAGT

haha I thought I was the only one who wore it like that!! But I thought over liao the 10k steps a day cause nothing to redeem anymore!
Can try wearing on the other wrist also; that's what I do too.
Also can use s health app and use phone to count steps, i feel this tracker from HPB (though free) quite inaccurate

Ga Li Kong

haha I thought I was the only one who wore it like that!! But I thought over liao the 10k steps a day cause nothing to redeem anymore!
Can try wearing on the other wrist also; that's what I do too.
Also can use s health app and use phone to count steps, i feel this tracker from HPB (though free) quite inaccurate
Apparently there's a season 2. Challenges ends on April.

Sent from LGE LG-H815 using GAGT

gaoxing84

Finally Tuesday is done
http://i.imgur.com/tGSck3ol.jpg[IMG]

[URL="https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.shiportal.hwzreader&referrer=utm_source%3Dsignature%26utm_medium%3Dforum"]Sent from Xiaomi MI 5 using GAGT[/URL][/QUOTE]

this watch goner, kena polished till like that.

cyrenic

tFmht4m.jpg

Quite happy - Sunday sent it in to K2 watch hospital, Tuesday get it back. Mr Goh told me "调了现在不错”. Highly recommend!

Unclemun

Yes!! I can afford this, whew!
Do boutiques offer over 20% off for this range of omega?

I am sure they give some discount. Some bros here who have bought Omegas should be able to help
I only know people from WOS, Cortina and JLC.

paul02

Should be 100% fake.... wrong font, wrong hands, lume looks weird, rolex crown looks different size, Units Per Hour wrong placement and many more. :s13:

I looked you up. Poor thing looks like it has aged-vintage look.

Ceramic bezel for your next piece?

TeenTitan01

Self healing metal and crystal does sound awesome, I would call the watch, 'Logan' :s12:

Knowing Rolex, it is really hard to say, they have quite a large budget for research and development, and they tend to be very secretive about their plans.

I do agree that my 114060 will probably look the same after 50 years, especially with the ceramic bezel, a material which have been used for many years in a variety of applications and not shown to age. However, I do hope that the dial will show signs of aging (hopefully from UV), to lightly contrast a shiny bezel. :s13:

i think dial hard, its glossy. maybe u hope it will crack. spideweb dial

:s22:

the aging patina so prized by collectors are due more to accident/happenstance and lack of QC in the materials used rather than by design. because back in the day when materials science R&D wasn't as advanced as today, different batches of dials/bezels were made with varying specs/quality, resulting in the much sought-after effects like yellowing/orange/brown tritium patina, cracked/spider dial, "tropicalized" dials, fuchsia bezels, etc, etc.

because the results were unpredictable and varied, collectors rank them according to rarity and desirability.

imho, rarity and desirability are 2 key factors that drive the collectible vintage market - be it watches, cars, etc.

the mindset of some well-heeled collectors is to own something that is rare and desirable. this will see to certain objects priced to reflect prevailing market forces of supply & demand.

take the case of selected models of the ferrari california 250GT. its success in the race track and as an icon that captured the spirit of an era, together with very limited numbers in mint condition, has driven the price of this collectible investment into the double digit million dollar range!!!

with current modern R&D that aims for perfection & standardization in materials manufacturing, i believe the days of patina and varied aging effects are long gone.

TeenTitan01

Buy if you like, don't buy if you don't like. It's not as if you're opening watch shop and doing it for business.

But more importantly, buy already better don't look down on others and make funny posts that reflect that you think you're somehow superior because of what you have. Often, when you think you're at the top in your mind, there's always a higher peak even by your measure.

i feel i haven't "arrived" if i don't own a rolex. having 2 cult-status, pre-owned, sword-hands, wave-dial, omega seamaster diver & GMT watches still don't cut it. =:p

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.