The Watch Thread - Part 12

kyteo79

It's really my fault for not being careful but I guess it's a funny story.

I decided that the in-house BB was too chunky for me. Put it up for sale and received an offer almost immediately at a price I wasn't so sure about. Buyer was quite persistent and even played the sympathy card, "please I'm sincere but I'm just a student". So I thought, why not and accepted the offer of 3.6.

Drove over to the buyer's place and he inspected the watch. Wanted to cut down to $3450 because there were no hang tags(LMFAO) and there was a supposed ding on the bezel. Naturally, I refused but I had really long day so I offered to deal at $3550. Buyer said ok, gave me cash(although he offered pay via ibanking earlier) that was split up in a few stacks. Was talking to me about Speedmaster model numbers (3570.50, 311.30.42.30.01.005, etc) when I was counting, which kind of threw me off balance, but I'm very sure that I counted the right amount. What I had kinda noticed was that when I was sorting out the cash, he was moving the cash I had placed on the table around. I didn't think too much of it. When I went to deposit, I noticed that I only had $3250.

Sent that guy a message, no reply. Oh well, lesson learnt. Google'd his mobile number and found out that he's dappergentleman who used to frequent the Hair Thread and sells hair grooming products online. Strange, I'd think that one would use a seperate mobile number - you know that thing about shitting where you eat.

;););)

haha ... just becareful ...alot of crooks out there ...

BallGag

:eek::eek:
how much did he list it for?

There is a listing for a 79230n bought on 10/2016 from WoS - going for $4,300.

It's a different account, and it could just be a coincidence, but eh, I'll be damned if the timing just isn't so zhun.

BallGag

Anyway.. Yesterday was really sunny.

yuqIxa5.jpg

kyteo79

Days later there is a 79230n sale listing on Carousell. Same purchase month, same AD.

Hahaha.

i collect religious artifacts. could collect each statue in thousands of dollars. Due to the space constraints and OC nagging, have to reluctantly let them go. most were let go at 50% or less in exchange that they are not to be resold for profits. (otherwise i better give it to dealers at 75% took in prices) ..

Guess what ? Same situation as yours above.

- Dealers not any better. when you purchase from them lots of promises or guarantee take back price but when you try to offload, billions of excuses. Some even so funny that you want to think that these dealers think we consumers are idiots. (let me cite some examples ; i took in this artifact at 1.5k. within a span of 3 years this artifact pricing has rose to 2k. There is virtually non to be sold in the market as advised by dealer. i told the dealer to offload for me getting my 1.5k back. the profits he can keep himself. No news for 6 months. I told the dealer to eat it ... he cited about his financial constraints. i told the dealer why not he physically eat it FOC, slowly chew i can sponsor whisky or water. This dealer i have tens of dealings ...

If space is not a constraint and no OC to nag.

Now ? donate to needy better ...

kyteo79

It's a different account, and it could just be a coincidence, but eh, I'll be damned if the timing just isn't so zhun.

Simple ... put the info to your friends and then catch him out can liao ..
But a word of fairness ... he is not wrong to be a dealer but chop his hands if he stole your money ...

if chopping hands you feel is cruel, then break it ...

gaoxing84

Simple ... put the info to your friends and then catch him out can liao ..
But a word of fairness ... he is not wrong to be a dealer but chop his hands if he stole your money ...

if chopping hands you feel is cruel, then break it ...
Lolololoooool
For a couple of hundred?
Seriously.

gaoxing84

He got multiple accounts. Likely to be him.
Maybe can get someone to sound him out.
But seems like too much work.

TeenTitan01

It's really my fault for not being careful but I guess it's a funny story.

I decided that the in-house BB was too chunky for me. Put it up for sale and received an offer almost immediately at a price I wasn't so sure about. Buyer was quite persistent and even played the sympathy card, "please I'm sincere but I'm just a student". So I thought, why not and accepted the offer of 3.6.

Drove over to the buyer's place and he inspected the watch. Wanted to cut down to $3450 because there were no hang tags(LMFAO) and there was a supposed ding on the bezel. Naturally, I refused but I had really long day so I offered to deal at $3550. Buyer said ok, gave me cash(although he offered pay via ibanking earlier) that was split up in a few stacks. Was talking to me about Speedmaster model numbers (3570.50, 311.30.42.30.01.005, etc) when I was counting, which kind of threw me off balance, but I'm very sure that I counted the right amount. What I had kinda noticed was that when I was sorting out the cash, he was moving the cash I had placed on the table around. I didn't think too much of it. When I went to deposit, I noticed that I only had $3250.

Sent that guy a message, no reply. Oh well, lesson learnt. Google'd his mobile number and found out that he's dappergentleman who used to frequent the Hair Thread and sells hair grooming products online. Strange, I'd think that one would use a seperate mobile number - you know that thing about shitting where you eat.

;););)

well, well, well! that's one dirty, rotten scoundel! it's unfunny unfortunately, and makes one lose faith in humanity yet again. :mad:

did you take any photos of that criminal conman and made any police report - for the record and for cheating?

does he have another persona? online handle? alias?

apart from being robbed of the money that some earn the blood, sweat & tears ways, there's also the lack of honesty & integrity that's offensive and repugnant to all decent human beings.

thanks for warning us against such unscrupulous, lowball, lowlife scum!!! please expose him so he can't go around preying on others.

BallGag

i collect religious artifacts. could collect each statue in thousands of dollars. Due to the space constraints and OC nagging, have to reluctantly let them go. most were let go at 50% or less in exchange that they are not to be resold for profits. (otherwise i better give it to dealers at 75% took in prices) ..

- Dealers not any better. when you purchase from them lots of promises or guarantee take back price but when you try to offload, billions of excuses. Some even so funny that you want to think that these dealers think we consumers are idiots. (let me cite some examples ; i took in this artifact at 1.5k. within a span of 3 years this artifact pricing has rose to 2k. There is virtually non to be sold in the market as advised by dealer. i told the dealer to offload for me getting my 1.5k back. the profits he can keep himself. No news for 6 months. I told the dealer to eat it ... he cited about his financial constraints. i told the dealer why not he physically eat it FOC, slowly chew i can sponsor whisky or water. This dealer i have tens of dealings ...

I usually let my stuff go at low prices, and I usually make it clear to the buyer that they can flip it for profit and there is no need to feel uncomfortable about that. Some guys though, get offended, flip out and show me pictures of their "genuine collection", only to list the watch they bought from me 2 days later.

Lots of strange people around. Had this one guy try to convince me that I should let a watch go for 1.5k lesser than my asking price because comparisons with digital renders of the watch showed that the fonts on the clasp were different, and that I most likely had a fake.

You also have sellers that are deathly afraid of payment via ibanking for some reason, and accuse you of being broke when you offer to pick something up from them at 11pm and pay by immediate fund transfer.

TeenTitan01

Days later there is a 79230n sale listing on Carousell. Same purchase month, same AD.

Hahaha.

first up, i'm sorry you got robbed, bro BallGag. it's downright criminal! you were even nice enough to drive down, for crying out loud.

you may not feel the pinch of the monetary loss, but sometimes, the principle matters too, and the insult to your person is just too egregious.

what's his account in carousell?

we need to be warned!

thanks

kyteo79

Lolololoooool
For a couple of hundred?
Seriously.

it is not about money ... it is about integrity ..
stealing 1 cent is also steal.

Breaking his hand will teach this low life that dun steal.
In Arab, country nobody will lock their shops and are left unattended.

Needless to say about thieves and robbers.

BallGag

first up, i'm sorry you got robbed, bro BallGag. it's downright criminal! you were even nice enough to drive down, for crying out loud.

you may not feel the pinch of the monetary loss, but sometimes, the principle matters too, and the insult to your person is just too egregious.

we need to be warned!

thanks

Account that made me the offer : wagnermoura

If you search for a Tudor Black Bay Black on Carousell now you'll find a piece dated 10/16. That account has pretty good reviews, so who knows.

kyteo79

we need to be warned!

thanks

Just list your tudor serial number, warranty dated in carousel can liao ... warn the potential buyers...

I feel the dealer should face to face sort out the 250 dollars (no matter who is in the wrong) ..

250 in today context is peanuts but stealing might not be the first time. if ballgag said is truth

TeenTitan01

well, bro kyteo79, there's always the self-storage options that you can rent. some are even climate-controlled. you can consider this instead of being insulted & fleeced by dealers and lowball flippers.

kyteo79

Account that made me the offer : wagnermoura

If you search for a Tudor Black Bay Black on Carousell now you'll find a piece dated 10/16. That account has pretty good reviews, so who knows.

I till todate in carousel has sold nothing ...but actual fact is sold via that channel so what you think ? life is not what you see ...

will get friends to check that chap out ...

can put it in various forums and to grey dealers to watch out for one another.

kyteo79

well, bro kyteo79, there's always the self-storage options that you can rent. some are even climate-controlled. you can consider this instead of being insulted & fleeced by dealers and lowball flippers.

thought of that as well ... thanks for that suggestion
however not possible.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.