The Watch Thread - Part 12

indigo22

1st wristshot of latest hoot after a long while.
g8RrEQs.jpg

just sharing..

Momento @ ION Basement 2 has 1 each of this blue samurai and blue turtle, in case you guys nearby and wanna try it...

the blue dial is mesmerising..haha..

TeenTitan01

Can consider Cartier, ladies sure know this brand. The tank series, but most of them are quartz, to some people is not worth to spend so much on a quartz watch.

http://www.cartier.sg/en-sg/collections/watches/womens-watches/tank.html

Sent from HUAWEI MHA-L29 using GAGT

fewer women than men appreciate automatic/manual winding watches. hassle free operation and being "swee" to them is more important. to them, it's "troublesome" to re-adjust automatic/handwinding watches each time the watch they haven't been wearing for a few days stop running. which is why quartz is fine with them, even though they're less desirable among male collectors/watch lovers who appreciate the intricate mechanical moving parts that gives the watch a beating heart & soul.

arc13

Cannot lah this type of answer is 100% get slapped

Tell her, sometimes the watch hand passed by will kena some friction. Over time if got diamond the watch hand will disappear. But if course this one maybe 70% chance of getting slapped.

arc13

Have servicing fee even if don't go ahead with servicing after quotation? Swatch SC don't have this servicing fee, they just return ur watch if u decide not to go ahead

As what gaoxing84 said, RSC Singapore no longer provides authentication services as of 1 January 2017. Was there myself and the person told me.

I have not tried this, but I have been told that you can send in the watch for a servicing quotation and if any parts of the watch are deemed non-authentic, they will refuse service of the watch.

If not, they will continue and before any servicing is done, they will provide a quotation for the recommended service, at which point you can refuse and pay just the servicing fee.

Perhaps any bros who have sent their watches in recently can chime in on what the estimated servicing fee by RSC Singapore is?

TeenTitan01

Do take note that rsc no longer verify the authenticity of the watch.

where's your sauce? any confirmation / official statement from rolex?

thanks.

100% confirmation. Just go down ask.
They no need release official statement.
Confirm by a friend who live die rolex.

Haha they really should make it official. Recently still got a watch dealer at fat east tell me can go rolex authenticate. They dunnoe mei? :eek:

As what gaoxing84 said, RSC Singapore no longer provides authentication services as of 1 January 2017. Was there myself and the person told me.

I have not tried this, but I have been told that you can send in the watch for a servicing quotation and if any parts of the watch are deemed non-authentic, they will refuse service of the watch.

If not, they will continue and before any servicing is done, they will provide a quotation for the recommended service, at which point you can refuse and pay just the servicing fee.

Perhaps any bros who have sent their watches in recently can chime in on what the estimated servicing fee by RSC Singapore is?

It's true, I called RSC the other time, and was told they don't do authentication from a certain date. Can't remember when though.

No official statement but lots of rolex owners in forums/fb groups have confirmed that RSC no longer does verification.

Another method if the watch still has warranty.
Send in for regulations. Say the time abit off.
Actually this shld be done for when sending for verification.
You can save the $100+.
But some buyer humji so let them pay lor.

I did call them myself. It's confirmed they don't do authentication currently.

Would it work if you just tell them you wish to service your watch?

Open up liao they would instantly know genuine or not right haha

They may play delay tactic

Put watch then few days later then quote

Not to the advantage of seller unless buyer already take over, which don't make sense since authencity not proven yet

Ah, didn't think of that, definitely worth the try, especially since regulation is covered under warranty.

Helps that Rolex has a stricter (and self-imposed) standard of +/- 2s per day, compared the the COSC standards of -4/+6s per day.

I did tell the buyer but they lazy wait. So let them pay lor
Lol

Have servicing fee even if don't go ahead with servicing after quotation? Swatch SC don't have this servicing fee, they just return ur watch if u decide not to go ahead
thanks for the replies, everybody!

but oh my! this is serious!! :eek:

without authentication services, how will this affect the huge pre-owned market for rolex here in singapore?!

even with authentication, fakes/frakenrolexes have surfaced! i can't imagine the risks involved now even for the experts without it! cards/boxes/accessories can also be faked.

rolex obviously want to kill the pre-owned market and would rather people buy new instead of pre-owned. cos that's the only way to ensure you get a rolex for real.

TeenTitan01

Hahaha... I knew my question would backfire! :s13:

No money to buy watches, so buy straps instead. :)

what backfire??

bro Azrielsc, you're THE STRAP GOD cos your expertise shines like a beacon in the dark to illuminate the ignorant masses, educating us on the finer aspects of strap appreciation & ownership!!! :s12:

your post below already speaks volumes!!! :D

Try white/grey pattern snake strap? Go for polished instead of natural snake skin. Natural snake skin will have scales curls so would look a bit rough when it is in contrast with the classiness of the Snowflake dial. Polished looks more sophisticated on it though. Look for smaller scales snake skins, like water snake etc, not big scaled snake skin as the bigger scales will overwhelm the strap, esp if you go for a tapered strap instead of an uniformed straight strap too.

Yes, I do like exotic skin straps more. :s13:

Good luck!

bro slow_mo already said it liao! :eek:

Your straps cost more than some of our watches!!!

also you haven't show hand and posted your 全家福 collection. what other preciousssss lurking in your watch box/safe, we also don't know. ;) :D

cyrenic

thanks for the replies, everybody!

but oh my! this is serious!! :eek:

without authentication services, how will this affect the huge pre-owned market for rolex here in singapore?!

even with authentication, fakes/frakenrolexes have surfaced! i can't imagine the risks involved now even for the experts without it! cards/boxes/accessories can also be faked.

rolex obviously want to kill the pre-owned market and would rather people buy new instead of pre-owned. cos that's the only way to ensure you get a rolex for real.
And that also kills a major draw relating to value retention.

Well you could find a third party whom you trust to verify. :)

gaoxing84

pre-owned rolex is probably rolex biggest market.
because people buy rolex liao will sell in awhile one.

RSC cancel the whole verification is quite a d1ck move.

but we consumer lan lan! boycott rolex nao!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.