The Watch Thread - Part 12

rboyboy

Got it from a friend at a good price.
It was bought locally. 5mil series. Shld be 1977.
Older than me sia the watch.
Below 9k. With original bracelet.
The insert is I buy extra and put it in.
Cost me about $700 for the faded mk3 insert.
Probably now can sell for 700usd
5513/5512 price are creeping up. Above 10k at least.
Plus dial, bracelet, case, insert and bezel all plays a part.
Must be careful of fake cause alot nowadays.

I am looking for 1675 next. But likely to hoot a modern Satki piece before going back into vintage.
Before all these, need to find a job first hahaha

Buying vintage requires a lot of research and best to bring a friend who knows to be the second pair of eyes.

Have fun while finding.

Now that RSC doesnt authenticate preown watches now makes things so much harder.

Thai_Rak_Thai

Buy entry is ok. But dun buy just cos its omega.

Tried entry lvl tank solo yesterday. Feel it fits me better than reverso.

OITbW5T.jpg

Is your wrist a little small? Wear a ladies Reverso!

gaoxing84

Also, not forgetting service history, and if one has a watchmaker with experience on vintage pieces that doesn't charge exorbitant prices for parts. Other possible inconvenience includes things like water resistance and lack of lume, among the many factors to note in pursuing vintages.

Any chance you are waiting for Basel 2017 to see what modern pieces you want to hoot? Still awaiting your AP hoot. :s12:

If you buy vintage you won't bother with lume and water resistance.
There are watch makers in sg that can deal with vintages to deal with water resistance.
But people aim for nice patina and aged clean dial with little to no polished case.
To fully service this 1680 probably will cost 500 odd.

Yeap. Likely ap. Waiting for funds to drop from sky.
Just need 4 numbers to open Zhun Zhun Hahahaha

edchys

Sensible_

Now that RSC doesnt authenticate preown watches now makes things so much harder.

You can still ask for a service assessment.

It costs $107 if you don't agree to the servicing but you get an invoice with the serial number and details of your pre-owned watch proving authenticity.

gaoxing84

You can still ask for a service assessment.

It costs $107 if you don't agree to the servicing but you get an invoice with the serial number and details of your pre-owned watch proving authenticity.

Not going to risk sending a vintage in.
Those with vintages know well enough not to send into RSC.
They're gonna screw it up for you.
And take your dial or any parts that they replaced and sell outside to dealers. Because those are the ones that is worth a fortune.

snowver

Ya my wrist quite small. Tried the mid size already. The straps keep fighting against my wrist and the case is thick. Does not look flattering on my wrist. Maybe the old ultra thin might fit. Who knows.

Is your wrist a little small? Wear a ladies Reverso!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.