The Watch Thread - Part 12

TeenTitan01

Great watch, loved everything about it except for the thickness.

eta 2824-2 movement. what to do. anyway, a thick profile is not out of place for a tough, manly dive watch.

watches with the eta 2892-A2 can be slimmer on account of its thinner profile.

TeenTitan01

so if i buy preowned, i bring to rsc pay $107 to verify is that the correct method?

actually i quite scared, or should i add another 3k to my budget and buy from AD for a piece of mind..... provided i can find the ss model
i think it will be kidda waste thou, since i am going to mistreat it like crazy :s22:

the hour glass i visited only have half gold :eek:

if you're keen on the watch hobby, yet is cautious, start small with a classic automatic diver that every serious watch lover will respect: the seiko skx007/009. it's equipped with a non-hackable (you can't pull out the crown to stop the seconds hand) and non-windable 7s26 movement (you can't start it/store energy by winding its stem; instead you need to shake it to start & power it from arm movements from daily activities). and learn more about watches from quality watch forums, blogs and websites. if you prefer a hackable & windable automatic, consider the 4r36 equipped seiko monster (black/orange) if you're ok with its aesthetics, or buy a similarly equipped 4r36 seiko turtle. or a PADI turtle if you fancy yourself a budding collector.

otherwise if you're nervous and just want a rolex as a status symbol, and is not willing to be patient & lack the passion to put in the time & effort to learn about rolexes/watches in general and how to navigate the pre-owned/grey market safely, fork out the premium and buy from AD.

why?

cos they're fakes aplenty. and rolex is one of the most counterfeited watches there is out there. buying from AD will definitely assure you that it's 100% genuine.

TeenTitan01

U heng heng ah..
Nice vintage and Nice price very seldom come together.
5513 prices skyrocketing.. hold on to this!

But pls bring servicing la.. if budget permits. Keep it running smooth and nice.

yeah, but WHERE to send a high-value vintage rolex for RELIABLE, SAFE & QUALITY SERVICING without an unscrupulous person swapping out the precious guts or even dial/hands of your precious vintage rolex? rolex is not patek. unless i'm mistaken, rolex do not stock nor fabricate spare parts after a certain number of years. so sourcing for genuine spare parts is another source of headache for vintage rolex collectors.

BallGag

eta 2824-2 movement. what to do. anyway, a thick profile is not out of place for a tough, manly dive watch.

watches with the eta 2892-A2 can be slimmer on account of its thinner profile.

Was actually referring to the Tudor in-house compared to the ETA. I think the 79230 Black Bay is close to 2mm taller than the 79220, but I might be wrong on this.

TeenTitan01

Yeah. I called regarding regulating and he said "Don't want la. Very troublesome" lol. Wonder why he is quite against regulating? Same thing happened when I asked him to regulate my -30s/day turtle.

bummer, man! that's almost breaching the lower bracket of its stated performance envelope.

is yours a local authorized agent set? if so, can send back to thong sia to regulate if you're willing to wait.

TeenTitan01

Was actually referring to the Tudor in-house compared to the ETA. I think the 79230 Black Bay is close to 2mm taller than the 79220, but I might be wrong on this.

whoops, thought you were referring to the 2824-2 tudor rose dial bb. =:p

but dive watches do look the part with a thick, chunky case. not all may prefer a slim profile 2254.50 diver like me. :)

Joe Maya

DSC5954.jpg

I ****ing love Zenith, what's this model name?

gaoxing84

yeah, but WHERE to send a high-value vintage rolex for RELIABLE, SAFE & QUALITY SERVICING without an unscrupulous person swapping out the precious guts or even dial/hands of your precious vintage rolex? rolex is not patek. unless i'm mistaken, rolex do not stock nor fabricate spare parts after a certain number of years. so sourcing for genuine spare parts is another source of headache for vintage rolex collectors.

make sure the person is reliable and make sure you know your watch when you bring it in.

a positive rep will mean more business to a watchmaker than making petty cash from a couple of rolex swap. and more business will definitely sustain in the long run..

there's a couple of places at the top of my head
JW
Png Watches
K2 - i know he can service rolex 1570. he mention it before.

Joe Maya

Harsh. I know a diploMAT who wears a nice watch :D

But back to your question, give us more options. I'd recommend a Jaeger LeCoultre Reverso

Yes! I need a square kind of watch. Even my mum tell me to buy something not round. Know any lobang that sell pre-owned watch at good price?

TeenTitan01

They are bigger in hk than thg in sg. Conglomerate with biz in entertainment scene too. A lot of hk movies made by emperor group if I'm not wrong.

boss albert yeung, right?

notorious hk triad gangster. lotsa bad press about him in hk. from rape, kidnap, coercion, etc. infamous for rumored tarma with joey yung & her mom, among others.

Joe Maya

TeenTitan01

make sure the person is reliable and make sure you know your watch when you bring it in.

a positive rep will mean more business to a watchmaker than making petty cash from a couple of rolex swap. and more business will definitely sustain in the long run..

there's a couple of places at the top of my head
JW
Png Watches
K2 - i know he can service rolex 1570. he mention it before.

thanks for your suggestions, bro gaoxing84!

just some comments, though:

JW - turnaround time is a nightmare for the impatient, right?
Png Watches - was in the news for saying either him or someone he knows in the watch trade got snooked by counterfeit rolexes. go figure.
K2 - hang high to sell. can & willing 2 different things. feedback from bros here already indicate he's not obliging to fix what's requested. also tanjong katong shopping centre. too. bloody. far. (for me anyway). :(

Joe Maya

When it come to brand name where ordinary ppl will know it's a prestigious watch....

1. Rolex
2. Omega
3. Brietling
4.Tag Heuer
5. Cartier maybe?

.......sad to say but normal ppl know nothing about great brand like Zenith, Sinn etc

TeenTitan01

A mat like me wearing Rolex, everyone will think it's a fake LOL

abang, when you're loaded, nobody cares if you're green, purple or zebra lah! :s13:

also, that's why i wear an omega 2254.50. cos no fake 2254.50 that i'm currently aware of mah. (ducks away from the darts, knives & arrows of angry, genuine rolex-owning bros! =:p) maybe when its value rise in the future... :D

TeenTitan01

Go casino bo jio :(

die liao lor! god of gamblers angry liao! :eek:

paiza room here we go! with a stunning scandinavian blonde with blue eyes hanging from the left arm & a sexy persian brunette with green eyes hanging off the right arm. :lick:

no limit baccarat! :s12: after cleaning out mbs singapore, you take your private jet and clean out sands macau! :D

* the above are fictional accounts. always play wisely within your limits. in any casino, not losing your stake = you already win. so when you do win big after a lucky streak, cash out immediately and don't get greedy! buy that investment-grade red sub/double red SD/paul newman daytona you always wanted with your winnings! ;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.