The Watch Thread - Part 13

fade_white

ai seh AD price is back! finally, you're the dark knight now.
everyone else don't matter. i let go liao ah, my batman (which i sold) got stain with my dirty waxy hands what. trolololol

anyway, jin satki! :D

zhun bo? means grey dealer can go jiak sai liao? lol

or you know the AD boss? lol

edit: people like me only can afford 2nd hand crap. anyway good job on getting a AD piece. :)
let's bury the hatchet yeah. I take back any of my unwise and immature comments as well.

all i'll say is...networking counts ;)

fade_white

edit: people like me only can afford 2nd hand crap. anyway good job on getting a AD piece. :)
everyone got different preferences on where they want to put their money. 2nd hand is not crap, I don't think i said that and if i did then it may be in the heat of the moment.
I've got no judgement over people who get new or used watches, just that for some reason I preferred to get this new.
Hope that clarifies, cheers

gaoxing84

everyone got different preferences on where they want to put their money. 2nd hand is not crap, I don't think i said that and if i did then it may be in the heat of the moment.
I've got no judgement over people who get new or used watches, just that for some reason I preferred to get this new.
Hope that clarifies, cheers

:D

no worries. enjoy the batman. :)

BallGag

ai seh AD price is back! finally, you're the dark knight now.
everyone else don't matter. i let go liao ah, my batman (which i sold) got stain with my dirty waxy hands what. trolololol

Will pay premium for MM-scented Batman pls pm

Ga Li Kong

Late lunch after the kids Zzzz...

9wEqRyC.jpg
This at boat quay? I was having lunch earlier today

Sent from Kong Island using GAGT

Ed.YEO

尽管市面经济还是处于低迷状态,"挑多"自家芯bb 还是受紧控。刚刚不久前走入一家錶鋪询问,打了折扣还是要价4500。

gaoxing84

Will pay premium for MM-scented Batman pls pm

hahahaha i should do a campaign of melting MM over the batman
but i no more batman.

who can spare me one? :s13:

confirm good marketing campaign for my product LOL

chows99

Hey bros,

Me too noob in LKK rollies.. but i try share 2Cs.

Try to find the timepiece as "original" as possible k..
There is tooo many things to know..
most collectors will loathe Rolex Service parts (esp dial).. sadly, these do take a chunk out of its value.
"matching" hands.. for some (e.g the lollipops used for the BCs,"swords" used for the milsubs and the dauphine hands on the 2998s) these r almost as impt as the dial..
Matching hands for aesthetic value too! Will you like shirts with sleeves of different colour? Admit it.. We r vain people.

Well.. a "franken" movement could be using a later (e.g. hacking) movement for a watch manufactured during another (e.g. non hacking) period.. Not so impt tho.. these parts are "hidden" beneath the dial and hands.

And..
Dun need be smoked by those dealers seemingly so "honest" to "declare" that the crystal is the ONLY NOT period correct part. Bencoolen? LoL. GG.

"Closely guarded secrets"? Not really.. oftentimes there is just too much to knowledge but too little i know. rather than be clouded by different opinions, why not discover for yourself what you like?
"Modern" Vintage collecting is another league.. because everybody keeps their best and seldom ppl sell.. there is lack of good pieces in the market today.. So, too bad, there is no "fixed" price on a timepiece.
You like it, you will have to PAY for it!

Wah lao.. like so long winded..

On holiday :)

Hi friend,

You are very knowlegable in Rolex vintage. Can you share if you know about 90s watches with common issues of different levels of patina between dial markers and hands due to different suppliers?

Which gmt is better in your opinion 16750 16700,16170 or 16760? Thanks for sharing!

ashcrow

guys. need some help..i am on lookout for a explorer 1. got these 2 deals i am considering..:o

• 114270 - $4200. with box & paper. but no bracelet!
  • 14270 - $4700. from dealer shop. no box no paper.

both watches are in very good condition. an authentic bracelet should cost around 1k i think? or...should i wait for a better deal..in full set...or lower price..? hmmm. :o

gaoxing84

guys. need some help..i am on lookout for a explorer 1. got these 2 deals i am considering..:o

• 114270 - $4200. with box & paper. but no bracelet!
  • 14270 - $4700. from dealer shop. no box no paper.

both watches are in very good condition. an authentic bracelet should cost around 1k i think? or...should i wait for a better deal..in full set...or lower price..? hmmm. :o

https://www.rolexforums.com/showthread.php?t=38868

help you abit

a authentic bracelet can go upwards of 2k for vintage.

i suggest getting the bracelet. if you're not selling it, no box and papers doesn't matter.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.