The Watch Thread - Part 13

delrosa81

I had sold it back then due to financial crisis in my biz and I needed all the funds I could get my hands on and inject into the biz.

if he knows what he want, he won't ask already. :s13:
plus why sell if had it before and he liked it?
unless got some other reasons then bobian

delrosa81

Yup agreed on this also. Usually I buy to keep for the long term and not for reselling. Unless there are financial issues, I would keep the watch for the long term.

-1 he already said he likes the ROO and even had one b4. He should buy what he likes, what suits him (we dont know his character, how he looks) and what makes him happy. For me what I like is always 1st.

+1 mostly agree. Ppl who can afford dont really see the need to save a few $k to pre owned. One reason Rolex pre-owned/resale is high is because many want it even though they cant afford it so every amount less they spent they want it. And the good resale further compounds it and effect snowballs.

delrosa81

Headache thing is, I like the AP ROO in terms of design and the PP bcos of the branding and I never owned one before.

My concern with the AP ROO is u keep the same watch for 10 yrs. Will it become outdated in the world of WIS? It seems to me AP is following more on trends and PP is solely focused on watching making.

gaoxing84

Headache thing is, I like the AP ROO in terms of design and the PP bcos of the branding and I never owned one before.

My concern with the AP ROO is u keep the same watch for 10 yrs. Will it become outdated in the world of WIS? It seems to me AP is following more on trends and PP is solely focused on watching making.

yes that is true. AP also got good movement but the QC hit or miss
servicing quite ex.

patek design never really change, they focus alot on watchmaking and quality.

patek can keep forever. you want AP to keep forever, Royal oak then. design never change, just got bigger, better bracelet etc etc.

delrosa81

Yeah tons of hardwork. And Im getting unhappier by the day lol. Someone offered to buy over the business sometime back. I rejected and now Im regretting it. Its a small biz la so tats why selling it for the offered price seems rather boh hua for the effort I put in.

That means you are back on track now, tons of hard work I am sure

gaoxing84

Rubber strap on mm300 quite comfortable
Don't feel top heavy.
0B47B8C1-2ECC-4471-BDBF-6336397F4893_zps0ohamg4v.jpg

gaoxing84

Haha but still struggling la. Just wanted some pampering to keep myself going. The business climate is getting tougher and tougher...wanted to get some motivation.....

Hoot liao. Shiok alr. Work harder. Recover the money spent.

rachdanon

Gotta decide which is more impt for you. AP brand is not weak at all to say the least. Looks like if your business goes well I can see you getting both i the future

Looks like the AP ROO characteristic look is that chrono with subdials at 12 6 9. One thing I cant shake off though is that its the same sub dial positions as the Valjoux 7750:s13: Perhaps someone van chime in on how long the AP ROO chronos have beem around...

If u want brands that 100% dont follow trends then PP and ALS. AP clearly is more Tag Heue and Hublot like who belive in reinventing themselves and catching the heart of the young (coincidentally Jean Claude Biver also feels strongly about gearing to the times, and he has worked in all these 3 haha...hmmm)

Look at the multo coloured AP ROO chronos and divers and you see the effort there to engage the rich young. It is an intentional move. But they retain the tradition in the RO as GX stated.

All in a Day

Haha but still struggling la. Just wanted some pampering to keep myself going. The business climate is getting tougher and tougher...wanted to get some motivation.....

If it's intended to be motivation/reward, then you should get what u like best, instinct, gut feel...

If you settle for what you do not like best, it'll be like the itch that you didn't scratch away

Better to have the itch lingering longer than to have a temporary cure to the itch which you know will come back begging for a permanent cure.

Any waiting/availability issue should contribute to the motivation and not take it away. :D

gaoxing84

Gotta decide which is more impt for you. AP brand is not weak at all to say the least. Looks like if your business goes well I can see you getting both i the future

Looks like the AP ROO characteristic look is that chrono with subdials at 12 6 9. One thing I cant shake off though is that its the same sub dial positions as the Valjoux 7750:s13: Perhaps someone van chime in on how long the AP ROO chronos have beem around...

If u want brands that 100% dont follow trends then PP and ALS. AP clearly is more Tag Heue and Hublot like who belive in reinventing themselves and catching the heart of the young (coincidentally Jean Claude Biver also feels strongly about gearing to the times, and he has worked in all these 3 haha...hmmm)

Look at the multo coloured AP ROO chronos and divers and you see the effort there to engage the rich young. It is an intentional move. But they retain the tradition in the RO as GX stated.

AP roo is module one. On top of their movement.
Seconds at 12.

Henabi

that's why PP tagline is:
"You never actually own a Patek Philippe. You merely take care of it for the next generation." :s13:

Gymrat76

Jackroad no 3% for credit.

True but prices also a little higher than Kame-Kichi, where I bought my last watch. So around the same in the end (at least for that watch) :)

Edit: actually looking back I still paid less even with the 3% surcharge at Kame-Kichi. But will bring cash next time lol

All in a Day

U've got WIS wisdom stacked up against you if WIS views matter to you.

In the WIS world, the ROO is a generally frowned upon line of the otherwise highly respected AP brand name.

It's all about perspective and image. Traditionalists see the ROO as AP cashing in on ostentatious noveau rich consumerism that is not very swiss "holy trinity-ish".

If you follow edmw, embracing change for AP (or other holy trinity brand) vs embracing change for Apple (or other tech company) is like sinkie vs AMDK analogies.

So u want to be sinkie or AMDK? :s13::D:s13:

slow_mo

U've got WIS wisdom stacked up against you if WIS views matter to you.

In the WIS world, the ROO is a generally frowned upon line of the otherwise highly respected AP brand name.

It's all about perspective and image. Traditionalists see the ROO as AP cashing in on ostentatious noveau rich consumerism that is not very swiss "holy trinity-ish".

If you follow edmw, embracing change for AP (or other holy trinity brand) vs embracing change for Apple (or other tech company) is like sinkie vs AMDK analogies.

So u want to be sinkie or AMDK? :s13::D:s13:

No SinkieDK?

rachdanon

U know...we always think highly of tradition. But I wonder if you dig deeper that "tradition" at that time was looked upon as "nouveau" and clashing with tradition. I wont de surprised we are looking now at the future admired "tradition". Gotta live in the now folks! :)))

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.