yattokame
loubys? 10char
I took out 16760 for the reason of accessibility and cost. It would be amazing to have the 16760 but prices might be too prohibitive. I reckon the others would be more available locally? Please correct me if i'm wrong.
i think harder to find 1675 in a good condition but there are quite a number in the market
16760 more rare but cheaper i think.
1675 bezel can cost up to 2-3k depending on how faded it is.
for me 1675 hands down. painted lume plots ftw
Which model of GMT would you guys go for if you had to choose from these below?
1675, 16750, 16700 or 16710?
watchlimcod, tiagong quite shady.
proceed with caution.
I wouldn't say very few. But sure asking alot and problem is they want to sell anot.I'm not into the faded bezel thing though. i'm leaning towards the 16750 or 16710 w tritium. Bonus if there is a 16760 in good condition.
Seems like there's very few complete sets for these, is that correct?
Interesting find - Rolex Transitional Exp 2 - didn't know got this ref, 16650
Got issues with the dial, white gold surrounds and it will turn yellow under UV
Fat Font bezel somemore
Rolex got it sorted out and release the 16570
The asking now is almost 10k USD
Not alot ppl know about the reference i think, happened to stumbled upon!
http://forums.watchnet.com/index.php?t=tree&goto=844727&rid=0
more info can be found here
http://www.woundforlife.com/2015/04/22/under-the-loupe-rolex-explorer-ii-16550/
Lol...probably the genuine are just to sell off the fake as genuine, because it doesn't make sense the other way round i.e. selling the genuine in a replica shop. In short...scammer alert.If i recall, someone mentioned he got open a watchshop in holiday plaza in JB, mostly selling replica watches but also got sell used genuine watch as well.
Unfortunately Explorer 2 simply lacks the cult status of the Sub and GMT Master. I think the desirability is probably from a monetary value and Rolex history perspective, rather than a pleasing aesthetic perspective.
having your watch appreciate would be a bonus. it can be a huge bonus if you chose correctly. The picture in your post is of a 16570 tritium dial. You rightly pointed out that the 16550 is a transitional model with uses white gold surrounds for its markers. The hands of the polar model are also white gold instead of black coated. They are pricey because the dial turns a 'cream' color after ageing. But not a very popular reference.
If i recall, someone mentioned he got open a watchshop in holiday plaza in JB, mostly selling replica watches but also got sell used genuine watch as well.
Lol...probably the genuine are just to sell off the fake as genuine, because it doesn't make sense the other way round i.e. selling the genuine in a replica shop. In short...scammer alert.

totally agree.
but mai kan cheong. be patient.
heck there was a time when even the hotly pursued GMT Master II languished in the display cases of the ADs and only priced slightly above the Exp II when they were still being sold. the GMT Master II only picked up steam upon the cessation of the aluminum bezel pepsi versions.
likewise the "paul newman" daytona and 1655 Exp II. they were not popular back in their day and rolex couldn't give them away if they tried. then somehow the herd mentality changed. and viola!
anyway, buy what attracts and makes you smile when you look at it. unless you're a dealer or speculator out to flip for profit.having your watch appreciate would be a bonus. it can be a huge bonus if you chose correctly.
somehow got in there during manufacturing..
it happens
my GS also has 2 specks of dirt, but after hearing horror stories, I reckon its not worth the risk to send back to Japan via TS just to remove two specks of dirt, plus its a numbered piece.
But RSC is in SG, much lesser risk
It's more of having to ship all the way back and waiting la. Then if got problem ship back again. End up hardly see the watch you buy. But only if got problem la.Japan clean room not as clean as Singapore?
Or Seiko jap standard not as high as Rolex Singapore
I wouldn't say very few. But sure asking alot and problem is they want to sell anot.
I would put 1675 above the rest.
There's a couple of 16710 or 16750 on caorusell.
Asking 8k odd. Full box and papers.
I think gone ale.
Now got one at 12k lol. Crazy price.
I like the 1675 with its less bulky case that slips comfortably under shirts. Not to mention its rarity and uniqueness (not 2 pieces can age exactly the same)
With the current market.. u will be lucky to find a nice 1675 all period correct.. thread lightly w care!
My humble piece says hi...
Pang kang liao!
I certainly would consider a 1675 if the price is right, though I wouldn't know how to tell if it was the correct period.
No leh. You see the sale post?
The case engraved is 16550