buy again :D
36853558240_19a6805d39_o.jpg

Must buy amulet from Thai monk to resist :D

Wow that is nxt level! Never dreamt of watches before :s13:

...single old ugly Uncle. Nothing much to dream other than cpf and batam

Relaxing weekend

Very nice. I had a chance to get this once but turn it down in hope of getting a blue dial. In my opinion, the white 5711 is like the Rolex Yachtmaster. It's either you like it or you don't.

Granzon

Looking for a watch for my dad below $1000. His wrist diameter should be around 5.5 cm.
He is in his 70s already so I guess he will like older fashioned watches. I guess kinetic movement should be good? (no need battery? or are there hybrids of battery and kinetic movement)

If you can recommend particular models/photos and also where to buy/browse at leisure, it will be deeply appreciated.

My plan is to shortlist 1 or 2 recommended models, then find the best place to see the watches (and to see the other watch models at the particular place), then let him decide himself. But I don't wish to tell him yet so just want to do some evaluation and shortlisting for the time being.

peaceheart

Looking for a watch for my dad below $1000. His wrist diameter should be around 5.5 cm.
He is in his 70s already so I guess he will like older fashioned watches. I guess kinetic movement should be good? (no need battery? or are there hybrids of battery and kinetic movement)

If you can recommend particular models/photos and also where to buy/browse at leisure, it will be deeply appreciated.

My plan is to shortlist 1 or 2 recommended models, then find the best place to see the watches (and to see the other watch models at the particular place), then let him decide himself. But I don't wish to tell him yet so just want to do some evaluation and shortlisting for the time being.
Get a citizen titanium eco-drive? Affordable, hassle free, reliable and light/tough.

Got my dad a citizen excalibur

binnie

Must buy amulet from Thai monk to resist :D

...single old ugly Uncle. Nothing much to dream other than cpf and batam

Very nice. I had a chance to get this once but turn it down in hope of getting a blue dial. In my opinion, the white 5711 is like the Rolex Yachtmaster. It's either you like it or you don't.

Which Yachtmaster bro? The rose gold one on rubber?

Kyo_kusanagi86

Just sharing my experience from these "PawnShop" selling watches today.

They offer trade in, so I just figured to no harm ask based on my GMT Master II 16713 (TT)

Shop: Er, this watch GMT watch ah, got Box, cert and Manual and full link anot ah?

Me: Have box and full link but no cert only RSC cert for bezel replacement 2 months back.

Shop: if no cert -500, if no box -200 , if no full links each additional missing link around -180/each

Me: er.... ok so how much u taking this in?

Shop: wait ah, let me see see (Attempts to use something to pry open the bracelet to look at model and serial)

Me: (Worried that she might scratch my watch) I shared with her that this one is K series (2001,2002) and any estimate on my watch value?

Shop: wait ah..(referring to some value book)... okok this model take in 4-5k

Me: (Stunt look), er then the full steel 16710 (Coke, Pepsi) version leh?

Shop: That one if full box, cert, full links around 3-4k.

Me: (Thinking she wanna chop me liao), hmmm then this rolex watches (pointing at Daytona, submariner, Datejust) got box and full links mah?

Shop: All these watches will be our shop brand watch box and comes with only 8-10 links max, if you need additional links will be $180 each.

Me: Wah, then like that I pass you my original Rolex box and full links, you give me back your shop box + I have to top up each link to match my full links. Hard leh, thanks anyway ah (Faster take back my watch before she attempt to open my watch backcover) :s11:

TLDR: DONT EVER EVER SELL/TRADE IN at those pawn shop, you likely kanna pawn and if unlucky watch kanna scratch for no reasons. :s8:

slow_mo

They offer trade in, so I just figured to no harm ask based on my GMT Master II 16713 (TT)

Shop: Er, this watch GMT watch ah, got Box, cert and Manual and full link anot ah?

Me: Have box and full link but no cert only RSC cert for bezel replacement 2 months back.

Shop: if no cert -500, if no box -200 , if no full links each additional missing link around -180/each

Shop: wait ah, let me see see (Attempts to use something to pry open the bracelet to look at model and serial)

Me: (Worried that she might scratch my watch) I shared with her that this one is K series (2001,2002) and any estimate on my watch value?

Me: (Thinking she wanna chop me liao), hmmm then this rolex watches (pointing at Daytona, submariner, Datejust) got box and full links mah?

Shop: All these watches will be our shop brand watch box and comes with only 8-10 links max, if you need additional links will be $180 each.

Me: Wah, then like that I pass you my original Rolex box and full links, you give me back your shop box + I have to top up each link to match my full links. Hard leh, thanks anyway ah (Faster take back my watch before she attempt to open my watch backcover) :s11:

TLDR: DONT EVER EVER SELL/TRADE IN at those pawn shop, you likely kanna pawn and if unlucky watch kanna scratch for no reasons. :s8:

Pawn shop are usually for those who urgently needs cash. Hence the low ball price. Those who can wait will sell their watches themselves.

Thai_Rak_Thai

Thanks for sharing

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.