The Watch Thread - Part 16

fade_white

Anyone tried this before:

Watch Protector
Apply a layer of this on the metal parts of the watch to protect it from scratches.

112_1000x.jpg

https://thewatchprotect.com/products/liquid-skin
Watch how to apply:

I’ve got a more revolutionary product and 100% keep your watch from any damage even if you drop it - It’s called a watch box. Yeah the drawback is you can’t wear it on your wrist, but worth the trouble for a pristine watch right, right?

Renzokukenz

Porcelain is an entire piece of material, while enamel is a coating on a brass/copper substrate for dials. Naturally, I'd prefer porcelain, but the Seiko ones are... just saying, you get what you pay for. The porcelain on the Presage and the Eichi II are worlds apart.
I read that enamel ones will peel off the metal base layer overtime,
I guess it sync with what you said

Renzokukenz

So you intend to spend £129 to “protect” your current or much talked about future Seiko?

Wuss.

Grow a pair and if you want to buy a watch, buy already.

Not sian of making the kind folks here jump through hoops for you?

Must help you spot issues on watches that AREN’T even yours.

Must coddle you when you have weird outbursts about how Seiko names their models.

Must reassure you about anti-magnetism.

Must find dealers for you who will actively spot every minute misalignment on a SEIKO.

As one guy summed it up, want a 1k watch but expect 100k worth of details.

Your self proclaimed 4hrs per day on online surfing watches has led you to liquid metal protector and porcelain dials?

People in this thread are generally polite and patient enough to put up with your inane questions and incessant barking but I’ll be straight with you, you’re a coward who doesn’t dare to commit to a purchase even when the parameters are set so clearly by YOURSELF.

In reality you don’t want a watch, you seek to hours of horology masturbation FANTASIZING about buying said watch.

Just be normal and surf porn 4hrs a day la huh. Do us all a favor and spare us from your constant billowing hot air.
1. This is a forum
2. you don't own the forum
3. a forum is for discussion by definition
4. I wasn't asking this or chatting about this for the purpose of making a purchase, this is for knowledge as an enthusiast, to learn more about the hobby

5. you must either be someone who is not a watch enthusiast or don't understand what enthusiast is, or you are just someone in this "hobby" for circle jerking

in case point forms are too tough to understand for you
this is a public forum. the purpose of a forum is for discussions by definition

discussions can be for (1) knowledge (2) information sharing (3) people sharing their beautiful watches (4) sharing of opinions and ideas - discussion

if you cannot stand discussions
don't join a forum, by the way, this is a forum in case you don't know

if you want a purely pictorial selection of watches and no discussion, no text, no questions, no conversations:
You can try Google Image search and in case if you're someone out of touch with this world, you can try Instagram and another image-based watch forum

if you still don't understand what I am saying, I suggest you seek help,
or at least, don't showcase your beautiful personality publicly

Bodentic

1. This is a forum
2. you don't own the forum
3. a forum is for discussion by definition
4. I wasn't asking this or chatting about this for the purpose of making a purchase, this is for knowledge as an enthusiast, to learn more about the hobby

5. you must either be someone who is not a watch enthusiast or don't understand what enthusiast is, or you are just someone in this "hobby" for circle jerking

in case point forms are too tough to understand for you
this is a public forum. the purpose of a forum is for discussions by definition

discussions can be for (1) knowledge (2) information sharing (3) people sharing their beautiful watches (4) sharing of opinions and ideas - discussion

if you cannot stand discussions
don't join a forum, by the way, this is a forum in case you don't know

if you want a purely pictorial selection of watches and no discussion, no text, no questions, no conversations:
You can try Google Image search and in case if you're someone out of touch with this world, you can try Instagram and another image-based watch forum

if you still don't understand what I am saying, I suggest you seek help,
or at least, don't showcase your beautiful personality publicly

You make a good point.

This IS indeed a forum meant for discussion, and I’m putting out there, for discussion, that you’re an annoying little dipshit.

Which magical looking glass did you travel through to reach the land that you would be considered a watch enthusiast?

Puhleeze, having a ridiculous outburst about Seiko’s naming conventions qualifyou as an enthusiast? You’re merely a second rate, cheap-mouthpiece-pretender who has nothing of value to add to the discussion which you emphasize so much upon.

And don’t be daft la, which of the points I made about your stupid questions is wrong?

Just because a forum is for discussion means it’s a blanket rule to enable clownish divas like yourself to ask inane crap?

Also funny how you mention circle jerk, when the only one jerking off 4hrs daily to watches is you.

Renzokukenz

Puhleeze, having a ridiculous outburst about Seiko’s naming conventions qualifyou as an enthusiast? You’re merely a second rate, cheap-mouthpiece-pretender who has nothing of value to add to the discussion which you emphasize so much upon.
thank you so much for contributing to this thread!!!
this is so insightful and definitely related to the topic of Watches!!

Bodentic

thank you so much for contributing to this thread!!!
this is so insightful and definitely related to the topic of Watches!!

The feeling is mutual!! I’m so thankful and I’m sure I speak for everyone here when I say that your invaluable discovery of a new way to coat our watches have us giddy with delight!

Also, we’ve all been so ignorant until you graced us with all the minute details that $1400 can get us!!

You’re such an asset to the hobby! Don’t stop being you, champ!!!

Renzokukenz

The feeling is mutual!! I’m so thankful and I’m sure I speak for everyone here when I say that your invaluable discovery of a new way to coat our watches have us giddy with delight!

actually, that coat was designed for Rolexes

since I don't have all the resources to have an extensive collection of Rolexes, I was wondering if people with Rolexes and who are watch experts like you use them.

Thank you so much for answering.
While you have some learning disability and can only express your knowledge in a manner that only mothers can love, I still manage to learn from you that -

"no, coating watches (Rolexes) with coating, is not widely practiced, and looked down upon by most watch collectors"​

you can try and use that template to express yourself next time!!

Renzokukenz

Nothing wrong with sharing new stuff but what's the point of asking about stuff when there is no plan to buy them??
I already know what I want to buy
as I've mentioned, all my questions are for me to learn

like the new kid with his new stamp collection
I want to know what is the norm to Watch lovers in Singapore, literally

for example
Porcelain vs Enamel is a new topic of interest of mine
It was apparently more common in the past for dials to be made of these materials

I have read articles on what the difference is, but only a forum filled with people with experiences (all of you), can share with me what their real-life experiences and thoughts are

none of the questions I've asked recently is related to my purchase
genuinely wanting to learn more about the hobby, what people do, what is the norm, and what are some of the weird hacks people might have

for example I also just learn that changing the date with the hours from 11 pm to 3 am, is damaging for the watch mechanism!! this might be common knowledge to all of you but this is the type of knowledge that I want to gain.

genuinely here to learn more about watches

PS: nice explorer

Bodentic

since I don't have all the resources to have an extensive collection of Rolexes, I was wondering if people with Rolexes and who are watch experts like you use them.

While you have some learning disability and can only express your knowledge in a manner that only mothers can love, I still manage to learn from you that -

"no, coating watches (Rolexes) with coating, is not widely practiced, and looked down upon by most watch collectors"​

Oh wow, you’re the gift that just keeps giving, thank you immensely for the template!

I also want to express my gratitude that despite my learning disability, you made such detailed and salient points, repeatedly, hammering home what milking a measly $1400 can get you.

No doubt you are an authority on a mother’s love as well, you man-who-wears-many-hats. The warmth (for you) emanating from her ample bosom is so awe-inspiring, especially considering how mentally deficient you are.

Aren’t mothers Grand!!

gaoxing84

So you intend to spend £129 to “protect” your current or much talked about future Seiko?

Wuss.

Grow a pair and if you want to buy a watch, buy already.

Not sian of making the kind folks here jump through hoops for you?

Must help you spot issues on watches that AREN’T even yours.

Must coddle you when you have weird outbursts about how Seiko names their models.

Must reassure you about anti-magnetism.

Must find dealers for you who will actively spot every minute misalignment on a SEIKO.

As one guy summed it up, want a 1k watch but expect 100k worth of details.

Your self proclaimed 4hrs per day on online surfing watches has led you to liquid metal protector and porcelain dials?

People in this thread are generally polite and patient enough to put up with your inane questions and incessant barking but I’ll be straight with you, you’re a coward who doesn’t dare to commit to a purchase even when the parameters are set so clearly by YOURSELF.

In reality you don’t want a watch, you seek to hours of horology masturbation FANTASIZING about buying said watch.

Just be normal and surf porn 4hrs a day la huh. Do us all a favor and spare us from your constant billowing hot air.
LOLOL He does keep the thread moving with questions and dicussions. some of them are really weird tho.

gaoxing84

where got such thing as for rolex.
as long your watch is made out of metals.
but dumb sia, simi coating, cock leh. just wear it like it is. all these useless one la.

gaoxing84

I already know what I want to buy
as I've mentioned, all my questions are for me to learn

like the new kid with his new stamp collection
I want to know what is the norm to Watch lovers in Singapore, literally

for example
Porcelain vs Enamel is a new topic of interest of mine
It was apparently more common in the past for dials to be made of these materials

I have read articles on what the difference is, but only a forum filled with people with experiences (all of you), can share with me what their real-life experiences and thoughts are

none of the questions I've asked recently is related to my purchase
genuinely wanting to learn more about the hobby, what people do, what is the norm, and what are some of the weird hacks people might have

for example I also just learn that changing the date with the hours from 11 pm to 3 am, is damaging for the watch mechanism!! this might be common knowledge to all of you but this is the type of knowledge that I want to gain.

genuinely here to learn more about watches

PS: nice explorer
not entirely true. only for certain movements. it's a world out there but don't need to throw common knowledge or anything that can be found on the net.
but hey, you are right, discussion is for the forums. so discuss away.

cyrenic

On sticker protectors and liquid protectors -

My view is that I buy a watch to own it. I am the owner. If I am carrying the watch and thinking of so many ways to protect it, then maybe I shouldn't buy the watch.

If I am buying the watch to flip it, then better not to wear it at all.

But if you want to use it, it is your business. I think some of these products are overpriced for what they are though. I mean, I also use a phone case and glass protector, for practical reasons as replacing a phone or having a spare standby is just too much hassle. I've seen friends using expensive iPhones without any case cos they want to enjoy it as the designer intended, which is their choice and I also understand where they are coming from. :) Cheers.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.