The Watch Thread - Part 3

kenkaw

U sure?? Only the chrono uses a 3133 others is based of eta or Unitas
Alexander Shorokhoff uses the calibre 3105 for the Avantgarde Regulator that I got (according to the watch manual at least). Some say the 3105 is the calibre 3133 minus the chrono module. But if the 3105 is indeed based off the ETA or Unitas, that's great to know :D.

Regardless however, it still means that the watch does not come with quick date set and hacking minutes. But otherwise, a nice watch.

KohChris

Your $400 Rolex Sub has a bezel lume pip that looks like a pimple about to burst. That's one obvious tell tale sign. :)

Below is what a genuine one looks like. Seriously, when one buys a genuine Rolex, it's paying for the movement inside the oyster case, not for the outer looks.

rolexpip_zps2f57618c.jpg

Jin swee. Actually even if stand close to you (half a meter away) I oso can't tell whether real or fake. And most strangers usually don't stand tat close to u. Unless v close frens, or your partners then can notice the fine details.

Not really..

1. Rolex watches are fitted with a sapphire crystal (the glass face
of the watch) that can only be scratched with a diamond.

2. The ‘cyclops’ date window in a real version is dead centred above the number.

3. The quality of the printing on the dial should be perfect, with indicators and type evenly spaced and no fuzzy edges.

4. The genuine Rolex movement sweeps smoothly round at about 28,800 revs per hour – each second is broken down into eight steps. Even when a fake uses a Swiss-made movement, the second hand’s ticking is usually visibly jerky.

5. Over where ‘Swiss made’ appears, the brand’s logo is
laser-etched into the crystal. In a genuine Rolex, this is made
up of hundreds of dots set at different heights throughout the crystal
(so it doesn’t create a weakness in the glass) and as such is barely visible – to see it clearly you have to look through a loupe (the small magnifying glass used by jewellers and watchmakers).

Read more: An idiot's guide to buying a fake Rolex | Mail Online

But I know where u r coming from...........

1. To me and to everyone, i think the prevalance of AAA replicas is so widespread that it is automatically assumed that anyone wearing a rolex watch would be interpreted as wearing a fake.

2. The real and fake rolexes actually have no differences in particular, and here is a photo of a fake submariner, from a thai website.

10156898_0.jpg

do note that it is entirely the same as a real one.

Therefore, i can never understand why people buy real rolexes. Anyway, i just assume every rolex is fake unless proven otherwise

KohChris

This is also a fake one.

rolex-16610-223558.jpg

As a result, rolexes now are

1. Not longer a status symbol, as everyone owns it.

2. Should be discouraged from purchase whenever possible since its a default watch for the masses who want to buy watches

3. Not a choice of WIS, since non watch lovers are also attracted to it

4. Of course, on the subject of authenticity, i would just assume that all tag heuers is real. And all rolexes are fake.

Hence i feel that tag heuer is subjectively better than rolex

KohChris

I welcome all rolex owners, and i mean all rolex owners to take on me.

Trust me, down the road, your rolexes will not be better off than any other watch brands because your rolexes will eventually drop in demand because nobody will buy rolex anymore since its so heavily counterfeited on a global scale.

People wear luxury because it makes them feel good for having a high quality product. But what high quality product can we speak of, when rolex AAA are of the same quality?

Besides, if a rolex makes people doubtful of the owner's actual status - eg. "the owner could be wearing a fake", then wouldn't it better that the owner is better off not wearing a watch at all?

With my tag heuer, the world knows its real. I know that the world know its real, and i rest assured that nobody else can have the same watch unless they paid an equal sum of money.

Its what i call exclusivity.

KohChris

cheers to tag heuer

Tag-Heuer-Aquaracer-500-watch-1.jpg

A watch that everyone sees and knows that a definitive value is attached to it.

Alot of sore rolex owners are bitter with me and some of them actually resorted to mudslinging me.

But trust me, a tag heuer boosts your image more than a rolex anyday.

People are not stupid enough to assume your rolex is real.

Grow up.

Omnia1

Quartz not better meh? ...
In this electronic world, I get a sense of amazement whenever I observe Mechanical watch movements - little springs and cogwheels working together in perfect harmony with minuscule error tolerances to measure time; all without the use of electric power. Somehow Quartz movements do not evoke the same kind of awe and wonder in me.

actually, i dunno whether you all stupid or wad la.

Why bother to buy real one when can buy fake one.
Real and fake oso same 1.
If all you want is a watch that would fool someone into thinking that you own a Rolex or some other luxury brand, in the hope of getting more 'respect' from others, then by all means get a triple A fake.

But I suspect many luxury watch owners buy these watches because they enjoy the tremendous work that had gone into the watch's movement, the tradition and heritage of the brand or model which they identify with, the fantastic attention to detail or simply just to show off their time pieces to like minded friends. A fake luxury watch would just not cut it for them.

I don't own a Rolex because I'm not prepared at the current time to pay the price that is being asked for it. Instead, I would rather get an original time piece from various more 'economical' brands with price points that meet all needs (eg: Tissot, Christopher Ward, Stowa, Vostok, tonnes of others). They have a wide range of designs (including diver designs like the Rolex), and the finishing and movements of these watches are better than most if not all fake watches. More importantly, I know that the time piece that I'm wearing has it's own character and heritage, and not trying to fake it.

I buy watches that speak to me, they are not meant to fool others. So wearing a fake watch seem rather pointless to me.

gt_5454

KohChris, your argument is extremely flawed. I own Rolex, Omega and Tag watches but no one has ever suspected my Rolex is fake. Maybe you didnt carry yourself well enough and that makes people suspect that you are wearing fake.

I dont think I buy rolex to show off but rather I appreciate their design and robust movement. I also admire omega for the same reason anyway. .. dont understand why u have to bash Rolex at every oportunity... unless deep inside you wanted one badly but cant afford or cant bear to part with your money to get one

socketer

offer $20 for your watch

PS. The JLC received 7 likes from forumers.

deal! :D self collect outram area on weekends, robertson area on weekdays. pls bring exact amt.

and yes, the jlc is a nice watch! i find it nicer than the aquaracer also.

socketer

socketer

2. The real and fake rolexes actually have no differences in particular, and here is a photo of a fake submariner, from a thai website.

10156898_0.jpg

do note that it is entirely the same as a real one.

if exactly the same i will buy from thai and pawn immediately for profit lor... you sure its the same inside out? dun self say self songs wor

Panerex

cheers to tag heuer

Tag-Heuer-Aquaracer-500-watch-1.jpg

A watch that everyone sees and knows that a definitive value is attached to it.

Alot of sore rolex owners are bitter with me and some of them actually resorted to mudslinging me.

But trust me, a tag heuer boosts your image more than a rolex anyday.

People are not stupid enough to assume your rolex is real.

Grow up.

Have you not chanced upon a fake tag?

Other than Rolex, what abt other high end watches? Do you think they are all fake too when you see them on the streets?

Probably you have not reached the status ( monetary and physiologically) to appreciate high end watches, be it Rolex or others like JLC or patek.

Maybe you shd work harder more, earn more money, get immersed in more social business events. By then, you may start appreciating the finer things in life.

Try your luck at Rolex ROC forums and see if you can convince them. Let the experts there give you a tip or two

seaknight

isn't this case worse for tags? by your own yardstick tag is nowhere better... :p

but just buy what u like lor... no need to buy a tag and then go demean rolex owners mah

Wanna hijack a bit, basically, I do not condone buying replica aka fake as it can indirectly cause the livelihood of the honest workers working for the manufacturer, loss of job as ppl buy fake rather than the real thing. However at the other side of the coin, ppl buy fake as they either cannot afford the real thing or just don't wanna pay a premium price for it. At the end of the day, you judge yourself on whether it is worth it.

Panerex

if exactly the same i will buy from thai and pawn immediately for profit lor... you sure its the same inside out? dun self say self songs wor

Support this.

People who are in the know can tell fake from real.

People with just basic general knowledge of watches maybe cannot tell.

But hey, at the end of the day, why kid oneself?

A person with a fake watch will be so embarassed to get discovered, just imagine if the girl you are wooing is just next to you when you are discovered with a fake...

Spartanz.

enough of rolex bashing

ht66oh.png

18dugm.jpg

love the blue lume:D...pretty obvious even in broad daylight :s12:

KohChris

If all you want is a watch that would fool someone into thinking that you own a Rolex or some other luxury brand, in the hope of getting more 'respect' from others, then by all means get a triple A fake.

But I suspect many luxury watch owners buy these watches because they enjoy the tremendous work that had gone into the watch's movement, the tradition and heritage of the brand or model which they identify with, the fantastic attention to detail or simply just to show off their time pieces to like minded friends. A fake luxury watch would just not cut it for them.

Actually, contrary to most opinions, a Rolex AAA does not trick others.
It is 100% indistinguishable from the real thing.

A Rolex, fake or real, demands acknowledgement from others, but it doesn't know where it stands.

If you open up a Rolex, the amount of effort that has gone into making a workhorse watch is there. However, a Rolex has the ugliest movement ever made. A Rolex movement does not exhibit any conscientious effort to make things look beautiful.

It is horrible. Even an ETA watch looks better.

Rolex has been involved in white collar crimes, robberies etc.

Movement does not pay attention to detail.
The exterior of the watch, even though it pays attention to details, offers it little value as we compare it against cheapest watches like the PO 8500 that is superior to the new submariner in all aspects.

In fact, all major luxury swiss watch companies pay attention to details

A fake one is a real one.
I don't own a Rolex because I'm not prepared at the current time to pay the price that is being asked for it. Instead, I would rather get an original time piece from various more 'economical' brands with price points that meet all needs (eg: Tissot, Christopher Ward, Stowa, Vostok, tonnes of others). They have a wide range of designs (including diver designs like the Rolex), and the finishing and movements of these watches are better than most if not all fake watches. More importantly, I know that the time piece that I'm wearing has it's own character and heritage, and not trying to fake it.

I buy watches that speak to me, they are not meant to fool others. So wearing a fake watch seem rather pointless to me.

Tissot, Christopher Ward, Stowa, Vostok, tonnes of others do not get mistaken as fake watches.

You see, logically speaking, wearing a fake rolex means getting the quality of the real one at the fraction of the price.

May i quote Jeremy Clarkson, host of Top Gear - "the only watch worse than a fake rolex is a real one."

KohChris

KohChris, your argument is extremely flawed. I own Rolex, Omega and Tag watches but no one has ever suspected my Rolex is fake. Maybe you didnt carry yourself well enough and that makes people suspect that you are wearing fake.

Thats because smart people nowadays ask you how much you buy your watch to ascertain if its real or fake, not by directly questioning the possibility of it :s13:

Or maybe they have already assumed that its fake. Hence there is no need to validate that fact.

I don't even wear Rolex. Even if im naked, with a watch on, i don't need my dressing to reiterate the authenticity of my watch.

One look, from a noob or WIS, they know its real.

However, usually, from what i notice, a typical boss or an office worker will simply dress up in order to match up with the status of their Rolexes.

If this isn't inferiority complex, i don't know what is.

nevermind those ah peks at kopitiam, alot wear lookalikes. :s13:
I dont think I buy rolex to show off but rather I appreciate their design and robust movement. I also admire omega for the same reason anyway. .. dont understand why u have to bash Rolex at every oportunity... unless deep inside you wanted one badly but cant afford or cant bear to part with your money to get one

Their robust movement? No point cos SG not going to war soon.

Anyway, rolexes do get smashed up too. Robust movement counts for zilch if its not a G-Shock

CrackedRolex001.jpg

SmashedRolex.jpg

I will get an AAA grade over a real one.

I can get a real one anyday, but there is zero motivation to do so.

KohChris

deal! :D self collect outram area on weekends, robertson area on weekdays. pls bring exact amt.

and yes, the jlc is a nice watch! i find it nicer than the aquaracer also.

Its alrite. I found a cheaper rolex for $10 :s13::s13:

For the JLC, legibility is a problem at night :o

KohChris

outside the same liao

who cares about the insai :s13:

you dont wear a watch for its movement rite :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.