The Watch Thread - Part 3

Jeremy1

Yeah ... if I do want a diver, the UN Marine or Maxi Marine will be in the shortlist (prefer uncommon brands). But the local prices are crazily high compared to online. I want to be able to touch,feel, try the exact piece I will buy and can't do that when buying online.

Moi had one under going overhaul......................:o

Yeah, I think it's expensive here. Get online or through grey dealer........................;)

messi7

my watch just arrived over the weekend

Ball trainmaster 60 second ii
frwo.jpg

Samfreak

Yup i tried on the silver and blue dial Longines Conquest GMT at a boutique and the blue is really very beautiful, the dial is a very nice shade of blue, makes a very reasonably priced watch look much classier. I have also tried on the Oris Artelier at Dickson, I don't quire like it, overall i find the design of the Artelier very "meh" and i prefer a GMT hand rather than another dial

If you like dual time watch with another dial, you should consider the Maurice Lacroix Pontos Decentrique GMT, a really beautiful design with a very nice day-night execution and second dial for 2nd time zone. Pretty high retail but also can get deep discount even from their boutique.

The blue dial is a beauty indeed. The Oris will look better if the two subdials are of the same size. Why did they make one smaller than the other?!?! I prefer not to have the third (or fourth) GMT hand. That's one reason why i lke the UN GMT, they use a easy-to-read number at 9 o'clock and its so easy to use the pushers to adjust the hour hand.

The ML is quite nice but I do not like the 'missing' 3/4/5 o'clock indices.

damdam

Hey guys, anyone can advice on the price range of the iwc IW391007 portofino chronograph after discount? Been wanting to get it for a loooong time

Samfreak

Yes! Yes! I want Grand Seiko liao! Seems like all agreed its a great watch!

Not all agreed :)
I don't. If I have to fork out an unusually large sum of money on a watch it has to be Swiss. Period. OK, I'll consider German if nothing Swiss fits my needs but a German does. A GS, no matter how amazing it is, is still a Seiko = Japanese. I'll be reluctant to pay anything more than $200 for any Japanese watch. Just me - to each his own.:)

Henabi

I don't. If I have to fork out an unusually large sum of money on a watch it has to be Swiss. Period. OK, I'll consider German if nothing Swiss fits my needs but a German does. A GS, no matter how amazing it is, is still a Seiko = Japanese. I'll be reluctant to pay anything more than $200 for any Japanese watch. Just me - to each his own.:)

tbh, I don't mind paying premium bucks for a watch company which use their own movements.

Grand Seiko and Orient Royal Star deserves my top dollar because they uses their own in-house movements in their watches.

http://www.orientalwatchsite.com/orient-vs-eta-and-miyota-a-look-at-movements/

Seiko’s Affinity to Hi-Beat Movement – Part One - Monochrome Watches

Seannie

oh ok... sorry me a noob :o So why u reluctant to pay for japanese watches? Saw a few here like GS leh.. Tot japanese worksmanship is good? Quality not as good as swiss? Or any particular reasons? If jap watches really not as good as you say, then i will forget abt it altogether liao. Saving my wallet in the process. thks.

Henabi

oh ok... sorry me a noob :o So why u reluctant to pay for japanese watches? Saw a few here like GS leh.. Tot japanese worksmanship is good? Quality not as good as swiss? Or any particular reasons? If jap watches really not as good as you say, then i will forget abt it altogether liao. Saving my wallet in the process. thks.

Seiko is well recognized globally for producing high quality and inexpensive automatic watches using their own in-house movements. n Singapore, ask any auntie or uncle about Seiko, and they will say its good, even if they don't know much about watches...

if you don't like japanese watches, then you might as well ditch "swiss brands" which uses Miyota movements, because Miyota is the biggest watch movement maker in Japan.

balzebub

It's all about perception and brand value. When you strap on an expensive grand seiko or citizen or royal orient it's still just a seiko, citizen and orient to the non watch collector. They do not care that the quality, finishing is on par with Swiss brands or that even the cheap Japanese watches have a in house movement. It's snobbery to some extent. It's the huge marketing dollars of the Swiss brands at work. You need to go visit the seiko boutique at vivo and the citizen boutique at MBS to try on their GS and the citizen equivalent, IMO the quality, finishing is on par with most Swiss brands, just that their marketing, packaging hasn't quite caught up with the Swiss yet.

So if you buy a watch for your own appreciation and enjoyment and not as a status piece then rest assured that the GS pieces are just as good as Swiss or German equivalents.

If it's important for you that the people around you know that you have an expensive watch strapped on your wrist then don't buy Japanese, buy a high visibility Swiss brand.

samloi

So....if you had to choose between getting BOTH of these watches

grand-seiko-gmt-blue-sbgm031-automatic.jpg

nomos_today.jpg

OR

just one JLC Reverso

what do ?

GS for sure. Almost pulled the trigger for a nomos 2 years ago(end up with a mm300 in the end) so i do like the nomos alot.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.