The Watch Thread - Part 3

Samfreak

curious to know which jobs require you to wear expensive watches to project success? :s11:

Exactly the reason why i die die dont want a Omega, Tag, Tudor, Tissot, etc. The douche image that many Swiss/Euro brand carries put me off. Dont get me wrong...I love some of the Euro brands(Nomos, Glashutte, JLC etc) but some others are just.....:vijayadmin::vijayadmin: Its a shame cause these makers do produce some fine timepieces just the image is bleh.

I'm lucky my job no need to project image.

Project success don't need to wear expensive watch one la...

Successful ppl wear fake also can project that image. How many ppl ask to view watch.
I wonder what job need to show that? I rather the person take me out and wine and dine throw how a few grand then show me a few grand watch that belongs to him.
That's a projection when he can afford to spend

Oh, don't mean to start any arguement here. I'm not the fashion police. Just expressing my views. I choose the watch I wear based on the business setting. But the price ceiling for a Japanese watch for me would be $200 (or even leasser) - doesn't matter what a technological wonder it is. And I would not buy certain Swiss brands too - like Tag & Rolex/Tudor. Peace.:)

balzebub

Just wear what u like lor. Have met many uber rich people that either don't wear watches or is happy with their seiko 5 or casio, perhaps they are the old school people. I do think the younger generation now place way too much emphasis on status symbols and branded stuff

One Month Notice

for the watch expert here. are all AD for Rolex te same ? anyone can into one that sells the most competitively if they dun have uniform price . thanks in advance

Seannie

Just wear what u like lor. Have met many uber rich people that either don't wear watches or is happy with their seiko 5 or casio, perhaps they are the old school people. I do think the younger generation now place way too much emphasis on status symbols and branded stuff

okok thanks thanks, you nailed it again. :)

Seannie

curious to know which jobs require you to wear expensive watches to project success? :s11:

bankers? sales? those that need to meet alot of prospective clients so need to project success in order to clinch deals?

Seannie

Lol eat what? Drink what kopi??
Cheap only gets darker not better light. Lol

Treat u good coffee, good wine is $ better-spent than expensive watch right? Maybe you will share with me the secret to success.

Seannie

It is not as obvious as your personal grooming, clothes or, very importantly, shoes.

thanks for highlighting that personal grooming is more obvious and the importance of shoes. I will place emphasis on that. :)

dmitri

for the watch expert here. are all AD for Rolex te same ? anyone can into one that sells the most competitively if they dun have uniform price . thanks in advance
Try it out at any AD then purchase it from a reputable grey and have the watch authenticated at RSC will clinch you the most competitive pricing.

Henabi

i Iinend to try out at Rolex AD then buy from sg-roc.com and thanks to a few dudes here, will be heading down,to golden landmark after come back from biz trip

DempseyRoll

anyone hoot the Rolex 116710blnr already? is it less than $12k?

116710blnr-1.jpg
My fren just bought at airport. ..$10690

balzebub

I just realized that I can't find a single Stowa that has a date display? Is this true? If true why ah? Was looking at pilot watches

sky00sky

Had a couple of watch question so hope i can get some help here. TIA

Am looking out for a watch for my wife.
Her wrist is kinda tiny so a small face is preferred. Her old citizen is something like this, as it pretty old and a couple crystal dropped so i thought of getting a new watch.
Citizen Women's EG2352-52P Eco-Drive Silhouette Crystal Watch: Watches: Amazon.com

With a budget of 3k or so , what are the options avaliable to me if i want automatic watch.

Is it advisable to go to ADs locally or "grey" or online shops like Ashford and buy those brands with interenational warranty?

If ADs usually wat is the amount of % discount i can haggle for?

balzebub

Had a couple of watch question so hope i can get some help here. TIA

Am looking out for a watch for my wife.
Her wrist is kinda tiny so a small face is preferred. Her old citizen is something like this, as it pretty old and a couple crystal dropped so i thought of getting a new watch.
Citizen Women's EG2352-52P Eco-Drive Silhouette Crystal Watch: Watches: Amazon.com

With a budget of 3k or so , what are the options avaliable to me if i want automatic watch.

Is it advisable to go to ADs locally or "grey" or online shops like Ashford and buy those brands with interenational warranty?

If ADs usually wat is the amount of % discount i can haggle for?
3k many many choice for small automatics....go AD better la can molest the real thing before deciding and always easier to get after sales service. Your budget can get automatic ladies size one from longines, ball, oris, Mido, tag etc

Jeremy1

Why leh? :(:( Cause AMDK?

Ppl don't like seiko brand image

Not said don't like but with that kind of price, I had much more better alternative on choosing a better swiss high end watch.

And if u tried to sell a Seiko and a Swiss Brand like Rolex in Singapore, the selling price will still be in flavour to the Rolex.

:)

ComicBoy

Just wondering those SA working in THG or Cortina, they are all wearing branded watch. Don't know is the watch given free to them or they need to buy it at a discount price ? :s8:

They can wear the watch so long as they work in the boutique. If they leave, they either have to give the watch back or can buy it at a discounted price, depending on the age of the watch.

hwaa

my friend in one of the AD told me if rolex they also need to buy with not much discount.. but if house brand then their staff purchase quite good.

samloi

Not said don't like but with that kind of price, I had much more better alternative on choosing a better swiss high end watch.

And if u tried to sell a Seiko and a Swiss Brand like Rolex in Singapore, the selling price will still be in flavour to the Rolex.

:)

I seriously cannot think of a "better" watch than a spring drive GS.....Its got the tech, the finesse, the spiritual side of watchmaking and history(...maybe not so much) to boot. Only thing lacking is marketing and its not made an angmo.

Resale price lose quite abit but its way over exaggerated. I've been trying to find a used SBGA031 but when new 7.8k, sell used(1year old) at 6.5k.....dont really see the reason to get used.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.