The Watch Thread - Part 3

javincho

surely visodate lah.. the rest are fashion watches

If understanding is right, Visodate and Bambino can be one of Top 10 contenders based on recent watch thread. They command a lot of interest among us.

Maybe next time can list out all time favourite TOP 10 for watch thread :)

javincho

BTW, I came across an article on China luxury market survey Yr2011 and it was mentioned TOP 5 watch brands are (not in order):

Cartier
Rolex
Omega
Longines
Tissot

It is nice that Tissot is up & coming luxury status for their consumer acceptance.... partially advertising from Huang YaoMing/ China actor helps.

javincho

and the only good fashion watch brand is ck

calvin-klein-watch.jpg

GC watches are good consideration too.... competitively price & swiss-made
I do saw some pretty pieces at Marina Square.

Gambler.

If understanding is right, Visodate and Bambino can be one of Top 10 contenders based on recent watch thread. They command a lot of interest among us.

Maybe next time can list out all time favourite TOP 10 for watch thread :)

lol.. but i nv liked orient, personal thing

javincho

All dress watch are supposed to be very flat. Did u try wearing it under your long sleeve shirt? Your divers watch have no issue going under your shirt?

If u don't like dress watch, any dress watch u also wouldn't like as they are suppose to like that.

If u have such budget to get OP, lots of brands to look at even those Zenith

Zenith is under-rated prestige brand... unfortunately not much great interest among the watch thread. Hope to see strong growth in future. :)

Earlier I saw some in MBS and a few quite nice with own in-house movements.

javincho

I'm thinking of getting a Tag, budget around 1-2k. So far, I like the F1 chronograph and Grande Date Chronograph. What would be the best choice?

These two options are quartz I believe. I also like the Aquaracer 300m and Carrera Chronograph, but I believe these two are out of my price range.

Also, would buying from Europe be cheaper?

With installment plan, it is winthin yr reach...pls get the one your heart goes to... if possible pls go for auto. Europe might be cheaper but factor-in for GST declaration.

KohChris

BTW, I came across an article on China luxury market survey Yr2011 and it was mentioned TOP 5 watch brands are (not in order):

Cartier
Rolex
Omega
Longines
Tissot

It is nice that Tissot is up & coming luxury status for their consumer acceptance.... partially advertising from Huang YaoMing/ China actor helps.

Chinaman staring at my visodate when i eat at kopitiam :D

KohChris

Strongly urge all those with under $7xx budget for a dress watch to buy the visodate.

Anything lower, dont bother getting a respectable watch

javincho

I got 3 watches of the same brand, no regrets

Ya, I also have 2 G-shock and couple of Swatch. Got them during younger days... :)

As for luxury watches, I like to have different brands to have personal touch & part of their linkage... feel shiok.. :)

Anyone can recommend me a gun metal mechanical seiko within $300 range? I am very attracted to the transparent back casing. i know not a lot, but currently only this for budget. thanks!

javincho

Strongly urge all those with under $7xx budget for a dress watch to buy the visodate.

Anything lower, dont bother getting a respectable watch

AGREE..... it looks like $2K or even $5K high end vintage watch. Go for Visodate if u keen swiss-made at this BUD.... or else go for bambino for those budget tight. Both are winners at great prices!!!

Corsair

Zenith is under-rated prestige brand... unfortunately not much great interest among the watch thread. Hope to see strong growth in future. :)

Earlier I saw some in MBS and a few quite nice with own in-house movements.

Zenith is what I call a true manufacture, where every watch contains an in-house movement. They are also presently seen as a value for money manufacture, which has both good and bad connotations.

A very nice article on them:
Valentin Blank — The star is rising again — Pictorial essay and in-depth interview with Zenith CEO Jean-Frédéric Dufour

At present, they are still recovering from the end of the Nataf era, where the watch designs really went "Hublot" wild. They were doing a buy back of some of these, so as to prevent too many from going into the grey market, and damaging the brand equity further.

Under Dufour, they have gone to basics and have something interesting in the coming 1-2 years, so stay tuned.

Another manufacture that really interests me is JLC. My next target is probably something from them.

KohChris

My thoughts on bambino

Pros : good 40mm size, applied markers, simple and affordable

Cons : Bambino has mineral crystal, no day function, no deployment buck, no sapphire caseback and some parts of it is made in 3rd world countries

Try for visodate.

Visodate's sapphire crystal can last and look brilliant if u dont drop or abuse your watch.
If its made in europe, the price is justifiable.

Tissot has better and more complete history as compared to orient

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.