The Watch Thread - Part 3

javincho

meh went to airport omega stores today... too expensive the deville...
crazy out of my range badly haha.

Whats a good sub 2~4k watch which is something similar to the omega? At airport buy can get 35% off with staff purchase!

looking for something with roman print and day plus date.. was considering the visodate but looking for something slightly higher end?

TIA!

It is something new that airport even can get up to 35% for staff discount including 7% GST off.

Pls go into FC, Longines or Hamilton for some selections.

javincho

i felt that the new omega pieces are of top tier 2 quality but the brand doesnt justify that kind of $$

5 to 10 years back, you want buy used omega..everything all under 2k.

i remember that i was shopping in isetan scotts, they have a brand boutique by all watches and omega watches was priced cheaply..

the smp quartz 2264 41mm if i rmb correctly was selling for only 2.5k retail. automatic 2254 was only 3.4k or 3.6k

nowadays the omega pricing is ludicruous.
6.5k for a limited edition 2500 cal smp :s22:

not an inhouse movement or a watch built with exquisite materials

Not only Omega, other Swiss-made watches are also raising their prices... my bro bought Oris auto diver for $700+, Fortis auto $1.3 and Bretling quantz $1.8K in last 7~10 years. He sold off last 2 pieces not making any loss.... :)

javincho

the chopard is really nice. And at 6.5k it does sound like a good price, too.
Rather surprised LE watches can still get discount ... even up to 25% from Cortina.

Generally LE does not get any more discount...

That Chopard is really a beauty and the colour combination is striking... worth getting....:):)

javincho

I'm the only poor guy here?
Just got a Seiko 5 today, haha
8325704216_795df13e47_b.jpg

8325711478_c2076b1d7c_b.jpg
Congrats Bro.... nice watch in blue :):)

javincho

its interesting that u like the watch b4 u know its on a printed dial, knowing that its printed it changes your mind ASAP. I think I read ETA and longines uses chemically blue method and not traditionally bluing of steel like JLC and nomos.

I don't think any PP or GO owners will think their watch is cheap. even if they care what ppl on the street feel, no one on the street will think a PP is cheapo. LOL

Agree... we should look at overall design package.. printed on dial to me doesn't look cheap at all....:)

It is associated and blends accordingly to the design/ classic vintage.

javincho

yep. simple designs are nice. life is too complicated to get a watch that has so many complications :s22::s22:

Visodate is still my number 1 choice for simple classic design, clarity, causal dress most important unbeatable value for money....:)

javincho

well i love my PO 8500 :D

ceramic bezel, applied numerals n logo, see through caseback, nice finish...

Omega-Seamaster-Planet-Ocean-Co-Axial-Chronometer-26.jpg

OMEGA%2BSeamaster%2BPLANET%2BOCEAN%2BCal.%2B8500%2B10.JPG

i was actually deciding between PO 8500 and rolex explorer which r of the smiliar price range. i even considered rolex exp 2 which is more expensive. took 3 of them n compare n i felt PO 8500 still looks much better.

still not convinced i waited for a month, did a search for similiar price range watches n none can compare to its quality.

in the end after a mth, i still wanted the PO 8500 n ended up with it :s13:

all swiss watches r overpriced lah. all it depends is yr preference..for me i would never buy a rolex at the price range..tried it on countless times n still doesnt speak to me at the price range.thats why i think its overpriced, overhyped n would never buy it :o

Well thats my opinion.....In before Rolex snobs n Omega haters :( :s13:

Great omega purchase....
But prefer Explorer II in white and my next target

This will compliment my black smp well....:)

javincho

sincere at mbs offered me 25% off. i believe i can get more if i push harder

cheers.

i dont think can try ocbc & cortina tie up because net amount is less than 3k.

but of course, go around and ask for best price
Pls use Citicard that offers up to 32% for selected B&M models... tie up with Cortina.

Vadher

Pls use Citicard that offers up to 32% for selected B&M models... tie up with Cortina.

I want that B&M! No CitiCard and no time to sign up for one because the promotion would be over by then.

How much is the discount without CitiCard? If too significant difference w/o, I will have to wait...

Velton

I want that B&M! No CitiCard and no time to sign up for one because the promotion would be over by then.

How much is the discount without CitiCard? If too significant difference w/o, I will have to wait...

ask yr fren or someone with citi cc to pay for u first lor.

javincho

Hmm i am pretty much decided on the Chopard Chrono GMT 2012 LE @ 6.5

_MG_0239.jpg

GMT Master IIC TT

2toneGMTs.jpg

TT i was looking to it side by side with a Black Dial Daytona and Explorer 2. Totally no fight the GMT has too much class. In terms of sportyness the Chopard reign supreme. The price point is perfect it was retailing @ 9.3K at cortina but after 25% its around 6.5K

I considered the longines but didnt get to see any on display so will KIV any advice on where to see this

s.12_longines_grande_zb_braun.jpg

Bro... if u can get that LE at this price, pls share with us..... I checked with Cortina but they do not offer such discount on LE watches.... a gd deal if u can get it....

javincho

std discount 20%.... but u may try 25% at most....

its interesting that u like the watch b4 u know its on a printed dial, knowing that its printed it changes your mind ASAP. I think I read ETA and longines uses chemically blue method and not traditionally bluing of steel like JLC and nomos.

I don't think any PP or GO owners will think their watch is cheap. even if they care what ppl on the street feel, no one on the street will think a PP is cheapo. LOL

I've never understood this idea that printed = looks cheap. When I think of PP or Lange, I associate them with "printed". It just depends on the style of the watch. I certainly like the "printed" look on most pilot watches, for example; the applied markers on the IWC spitfire look pretty awful actually, nowhere near as nice as the markers on the big pilot etc.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.