The Watch Thread - Part 3

Seannie

U will get help u if stop at "my budget is also 1k".

But u didn't.

I just say that i dont like to stop at 1k budget. I want to be open to more choices. 5k oso not a probelm, but i just dont see the compelling reason to spend that much. Which is why i need to ask for an expert opinion. Maybe i am wrong. Sorry i shouldnt have asked too much.

pwillie

YOu see, you guys helping everybody else, except me.

My budget is also 1k, but ofcos got $100 that is as good as those that cost 1k and just as quality & look ofcos i want $100.

What difference between pilot abd dress watch?

I want auto only.

See any1 wanna give me advice or not or just suan me again.

You mean to spoonfeed you or help you?

Ask about budget you say dont bother about budget = brash
Ask what's the diff between quartz & automatic = lazy
Ask what watch is nice = dumb
From your other replies in the tailoring and shoe threads, i also see this happening...

who would want to help someone who is brash & lazy & dumb?
My advice, come back with a clone account and ask nicely again ;)

pwillie

Used to dislike the explorer 2, but somehow it's lookin very nice to me now! White/black dial both nice!!

Walked around people's park last week. 2nd hand piece iirc 6000 or so, good price boh? Wats a good price for it ah?

And seannie, ppl tellin u nicely to provide budget, but u come back with some longwinded answer, and somemore while most ppl (def includes me) wants cheap, good, and big boobs, the way u say until.... Abit off putting la.

Yes I was thinking very hard when purchasing exp 2. I wore both n compare. In the end, I decided to go for white cause I always own black dial watch.

Not a fan of Rolex, but out of all I like Explorer 2 white dial best.
6000SGD is a decent buy but check out sg-roc first, sometimes you can get good deals.

Tooi Kono Machi De

Any bros here know the price range for the Tag Heuer Carrera Calibre 1887 Automatic Chronograph/Automatic Chronograph Space X?

bloated_one

Seannie

You mean to spoonfeed you or help you?

Ask about budget you say dont bother about budget = brash
Ask what's the diff between quartz & automatic = lazy
Ask what watch is nice = dumb
From your other replies in the tailoring and shoe threads, i also see this happening...

who would want to help someone who is brash & lazy & dumb?
My advice, come back with a clone account and ask nicely again ;)

Yes pls Spoonfeed me, if you need me to say it out myself shamefully.

You hit the nail. I have already admitted i am lazy if you seen my past posts. I dont know what is the meaning of brash, pardon me, i need to go check up the dictionary first.

I think you dont like me, nevermind if you do not wish to help me. Just dont keep insulting me with your words.

jonleelk

This is nice! But 44mm might be too big on my 6.25 wrist. I guess at my budget stowa is the best I can get for a pilot Liao?

I would think so. Stowa's finishing is nice. :)

The good thing about the Steinhart I posted earlier is that it is a sandwich dial. Most other pilots are painted dial. :D

tckrto

I want a good value buy. As i have said, i dont look at branding. As long a good watch that looks nice to everybody & which nobody will think it is just a $100. Not just to certain group of people. I know its hard to understand la. I dont understand why a watch can cost 10k or up to 100k. Watch is still a watch, i take one big hammer whack it still break into pieces, unless you are telling me abt diamonds which is almost unbreakable. Watch is not even a precious metal. Most likely the cost is associated to branding, which i find it senseless. Or unless its an investment purpose. If so, im not looking for a watch for investment. If anybody knows what i mean.

Then just buy a seiko or citizen or any fashion watch will do.

cowed77

Seannie are chiu a fren of wondergirl?

Huai chiu like scare ppl dunno u can or cannot afford sth reh? Relax la.

U look like u are a specs otaku, goin on abt the perfect fit and whatnot. Just accept that there are otakus for other stuff too la.

Erm, so hor, I gather tt 6k is a ballpark figure for an explorer 2, plus minus... 300?

Wat abt a sub? And wat are the drawbacks of buyin 2nd hand from a dealer like those at people's park?

The salesgirl told me, anw alr out of warranty, not much difference... Is that true? If so, why need papers leh?

cowed77

Not a fan of Rolex, but out of all I like Explorer 2 white dial best.
6000SGD is a decent buy but check out sg-roc first, sometimes you can get good deals.

Ya ya ya!! Dunno why the white dial one like... Grows on one hor!! Sigh but I no money to buy........

kinbalight

Ya ya ya!! Dunno why the white dial one like... Grows on one hor!! Sigh but I no money to buy........

Yup my boss wears one, the face is nice!

What's the difference between the explorer II and GMT though? Both are used to set second time zone ya? And the GMT has movable bezel

helmsley76

Yes I was thinking very hard when purchasing exp 2. I wore both n compare. In the end, I decided to go for white cause I always own black dial watch.

The other watch I compared in the same shop is this sub.

images

I was also in the same dilemma. Took some time to compare explorer 2, gmt 2 and sub. In the end, got the sub because its a classic model in the rolex line.

patryn33

just to ask.... is it advisable to get grey sets? I used to buy from AD only... so i m not sure how much diff is it compared to grey sets?

Yes if u are getting it from a reliable source.
The only diff is the warranty, grey no factory warranty so the discount has to be steep.
In your case I would do it its over $2k if savings.
U can always get it repair by Authorize service center as its not a fake.

patryn33

Erm, so hor, I gather tt 6k is a ballpark figure for an explorer 2, plus minus... 300?

Wat abt a sub? And wat are the drawbacks of buyin 2nd hand from a dealer like those at people's park?

The salesgirl told me, anw alr out of warranty, not much difference... Is that true? If so, why need papers leh?

6k exp 2 pretty old iirc, more like 10yr old. If u talking it swimming u better get Rolex centre to get u a complete overhaul I am sure ppl here don't service the watches esp Rolex for the entire duration of ownership.

Decarn

Good buy!
Why did u say mech is a plus?
U enjoy winding it daily? It is much like a hassle which everyone thinks?
Personal preference. Reminds me of the mechanical watch I had when I was very young. I don't mind winding my watch daily, it's just like brushing my teeth. But if I have ten of them, that's going to be a problem. :s13:

Chisel

SRP309 is the newer Monster, with the 'shark tooth' triangular indices. SKX781 is the older one, with the regular rectangular indices.

Asethetically, the biggest difference is the dial. To add to kehyi4's post, SRP309 uses a knurled crown. Also note that SRP309 is handwindable and hackable. SKX781 can't do either.

This is quite a comprehensive review.

Seiko SRP313K1 “New Monster” Dive Watch Review - ABLOGTOWATCH

But I still prefer the rectangular indices on the SKX781...

ForumRider

Yes if u are getting it from a reliable source.
The only diff is the warranty, grey no factory warranty so the discount has to be steep.
In your case I would do it its over $2k if savings.
U can always get it repair by Authorize service center as its not a fake.

I assume I can get timepiece from the 2nd link which you provided or from reebonz? I think reebonz prices quite competitive....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.