The Watch Thread - Part 3

Seannie

Why live to impress other that you don't know?
You think they bother how cheap or how atas you are?

Haizzzz

hmmm. in that case why people bother to spend a few k or hundreds thousands just on a watch?? This i dont understand. Fetish? Obssession?

xtwis7

Pardon and forgive me.

I am getting a watch that which i myself and others also like and which will impress both myself & others. Thanks.

Then get Rolex. People buy things for themselves to enjoy. You buy for others to enjoy too? They pay lip service to you?

patryn33

hmmm. in that case why people bother to spend a few k or hundreds thousands just on a watch?? This i dont understand. Fetish? Obssession?

Fetish??? I just check dictionary as my Ang mo weak... How does it work??

Obsession?? I also don't get it, if one buy it and is nuts over it would be nuts to wear it out. Not seen obsessed ppl using their precious thing I always keep it away. Esp a few k not worries stolen or rob meh?

KohChris

i always thought of people who wear cheap watches as unpassionate and lacking self-admiration in life

patryn33

Pardon and forgive me.

I am getting a watch that which i myself and others also like and which will impress both myself & others. Thanks.

Pardon me, u will never impress me if u group me in the others group u are better off not buying.

I think there are a few others here that belongs to the others group. With this group growing don't make sense for u to buy loh.

Spend $1k on one give a damn spend $10k also no one give a damn, spend $100k to me I also don't give a damn. It's your money not like u share 10% of that with me then I will be impress.

Red_Cheesepie

but hor.. like that whats the purpose of buying such a fashion watch? most likely i will throw it at home & not wear out la.. i got a old seiko which i dont wear at all, sitting at hme for more than 15 years. Wearing citizen that kind people will give me the "cheap" look lei. Sign.
Nah, my cheap Citizen
XFPrfJv.jpeg

Tooi Kono Machi De

but hor.. like that whats the purpose of buying such a fashion watch? most likely i will throw it at home & not wear out la.. i got a old seiko which i dont wear at all, sitting at hme for more than 15 years. Wearing citizen that kind people will give me the "cheap" look lei. Sign.

Bro.Honestly speaking,people cant give you the exact watch which suits you and your needs.Just go down to a watch shop to take a look and get a feel of what suits you.

Take me for example,everyone was talking about the Tissot Visodate (This might actually fit your budget) and it had many positive reviews.I was smitten with it as well after seeing the pics online but when I went down to try it out,it just looked/felt different.After I put it onto my wrist its 100% no go liao.The watch face too small for me and feeling not right.Im still looking around haha.

Seannie

hi red cheesepie

your citizen is what i call a good value buy. Cheap but good looking. It doesnt "look" like a citizen.

Seannie

Pardon me, u will never impress me if u group me in the others group u are better off not buying.

I think there are a few others here that belongs to the others group. With this group growing don't make sense for u to buy loh.

Spend $1k on one give a damn spend $10k also no one give a damn, spend $100k to me I also don't give a damn. It's your money not like u share 10% of that with me then I will be impress.

hi patry u are very right. That is why im thinking of getting something like what red cheespie is wearing. Im not thinking to spend so much on a watch end up gettin stressed over it. But a citizen watch that looks good & doesnt look cheap is hard to find. Main point is will others know that im wearing a cheap watch? I dont want others to know it. My v old seiko wear outside alry everybody knows what kind of pumpkin i am. U knoow what i mean? Packaging is important too. No matter how rotten i am inside, nobody can tell from appearance first. At least first level i pass thru. Whether people know i am a lousy **** or not is later part.

Samfreak

Ladies watch with natural diamond?

Hello, watch noob wanting to buy something nice for the wife. A ladies watch with diamond was what I have in mind. Until I read in today's ST about synthetic diamonds and how the naked eye cannot tell the difference with the real natural diamond.

So is this a sign that all things diamond will come down in price since synthetic diamonds may be widely used? Stay away from 'diamond' watches?

Or still OK to buy diamond watches as long as a certificate is available?

I have an ideal budget of $3k but willing to stretch to $5k if something REALLY nice happens to be in that price range. Longines, Omega?

Thanks for any feedback/suggestions.

Cheers

Red_Cheesepie

so expensive ahh??!!

Why the watch looks a bit different... the one on his hand looks nicer leh.

List price is always the highest. I bought it at a discount. It is a quite old model le. It is a US model and need to be shipped into SG. I was actually surprised to find that it really looks different when I first received it, luckily it looks better in real life. Haha.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.