The Watch Thread - Part 3

KohChris

For the same price point, I think it holds its own against its european counterparts

Prestige wise, this is probably coz they concentrated only on their domestic markets, and only starting to open up

Plus marketing is strong for the european brands, making them more "prestigious"

Sarb is 8xx, premier auto is 2k, GS should be 6.3k start price, if iirc at thong sia. Think there are better swiss watches out there, that are less pricer with slightly better branding - breitling/baume mercier?

Prestige is a problem because its not a lexus and toyota issue.

A seiko gs and premier is manufactured under the seiko line, rather then an entirely new line like credor.

Seiko gs has been domestic. Seiko is more international. Problem is, seiko is known more as a watch brand for masses thou strong marketing

kinbalight

Sarb is 8xx, premier auto is 2k, GS should be 6.3k start price, if iirc at thong sia. Think there are better swiss watches out there, that are less pricer with slightly better branding - breitling/baume mercier?

Prestige is a problem because its not a lexus and toyota issue.

A seiko gs and premier is manufactured under the seiko line, rather then an entirely new line like credor.

Seiko gs has been domestic. Seiko is more international. Problem is, seiko is known more as a watch brand for masses thou strong marketing

Thong Sia's prices are inflated...

Yes that's why the GS is suffering imo...both from its "closed door policy" and its image to the normal line of watches

But anyways, at end of day, ownself happy is most impt :)

jonleelk

Citizen is confused brand So u dun buy and casio is cheapo

So left with psycho watch

Seiko is a good watch. But in SG, even if u are wearing a Grand Seiko, most people will think u are wearing a cheap Seiko.

WOW factor fail, cannot meet our bro's requirement.

kinbalight

Seiko is a good watch. But in SG, even if u are wearing a Grand Seiko, most people will think u are wearing a cheap Seiko.

WOW factor fail, cannot meet our bro's requirement.

uh that's why i told him if he looking for "wow" watch don't need to consider jap watches mah

Tooi Kono Machi De

not sure leh..... reebonz never bring in this model also
but from the Collector's Time, it is probably going to be same price as El Primero Chronomaster.... that is about $8.2k

Jialat tio poison liao haha...But is paying tat sorta $$ for a Zenith worth it?That kinda price range can get a rolex liao rite? Not really familiar with the brand but I know Zenith got their own inhouse movement la.

jonleelk

uh that's why i told him if he looking for "wow" watch don't need to consider jap watches mah

Got lah...there are still jap watches with a WOW!

003l.jpg

ForumRider

Jialat tio poison liao haha...But is paying tat sorta $$ for a Zenith worth it?That kinda price range can get a rolex liao rite? Not really familiar with the brand but I know Zenith got their own inhouse movement la.

the watch look decent to me enough. I was poisoned deeply by the Chronomaster Grande Date...but it is 45mm size...

I have people telling me that Zenith is good because they have in-house movement and not those use ETA and then sell high price... so it is worth it. Maybe other bros here can comment.

so i m dropping down to THG to try the watches:s13:

KohChris

Thong Sia's prices are inflated...

Yes that's why the GS is suffering imo...both from its "closed door policy" and its image to the normal line of watches

But anyways, at end of day, ownself happy is most impt :)

GS needs to make cheaper watch between 3k to 5k.

There is a market gap in this price segment because alot swiss brands moving up

Tooi Kono Machi De

the watch look decent to me enough. I was poisoned deeply by the Chronomaster Grande Date...but it is 45mm size...

I have people telling me that Zenith is good because they have in-house movement and not those use ETA and then sell high price... so it is worth it. Maybe other bros here can comment.

so i m dropping down to THG to try the watches:s13:

The Hour Glass? Peninsula? Can get some camera shots on how it looks on your wrists ma? :s12:

Seannie

He wants to wear a watch to impress might as well buy 5kg gold bracelet. Consperm wow factor alot.

No la, that is hao lian alry, not wow, and distatsteful. I want a discreet wow and not a loud WOW. I should say a subtle class rather than a wow. Sorry for the misconception here. And pls dont post those mickey mouse watches. I dont need to be made to look like a fool for laughs. Thanks.

ForumRider

The Hour Glass? Peninsula? Can get some camera shots on how it looks on your wrists ma? :s12:
seriously i really dunno.... i seldom go THG...the last visit is at orchard... even though i go in ... i feel scary cuz the sales guys look serious. Not sure if can get any shots on the watch on my wrist.... got to ask...

Tooi Kono Machi De

seriously i really dunno.... i seldom go THG... even i though... i feel scary cuz the sales guys look serious. Not sure if can get any shots on the watch on my wrist.... got to ask...

Ok la I understand :s13: Sometimes I wanna try watch also paiseh to go in ask.Later ask to try then never buy like very malu :s22:

jonleelk

ermm i already got a Casio watch at hme, pardon me, but that is for weekend wear. Im toking about classy watches here, that looks expensive.

The G-shock I posted is US$6000. Don't judge a book by its cover... :s13:

If u have that on your wrist, u sure will get WOW from those who know what that is. But I know I know...to you it is stupid to pay so much for a Casio. That's why I'm not recommending that watch to u. I'm just stating a Japanese watch with a WOW factor.

Don't take every post in this thread to be a reply to you can or not, bro.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.