The Watch Thread - Part 3

ahboy82

The blue one for laureus also not bad wor...

10547-1.jpg

wat model is this how come got blue face one!

pwillie

I'm kinda new in this German watch thing and would like to seek some advice here.

Looking at pilot watches i.e Archimede , Stowa , Loca.

Kinda like Stowa because of all the glowing reviews and the good lume of course the casework definitely but the lead time is 3 months?

Archimede is cheaper and it's made by ickler <--heard it's satki

Stowa and Loca is 2 of the 5 companies that are commissioned to do make the pilot watches during WW2.

What do you guys think?

Thanks

Maybe you can consider Guinand, one of my angmo colleague is a big fan.

definitelydan

I'm kinda new in this German watch thing and would like to seek some advice here.

Looking at pilot watches i.e Archimede , Stowa , Loca.

Kinda like Stowa because of all the glowing reviews and the good lume of course the casework definitely but the lead time is 3 months?

Archimede is cheaper and it's made by ickler <--heard it's satki

Stowa and Loca is 2 of the 5 companies that are commissioned to do make the pilot watches during WW2.

What do you guys think?

a friend of mine is waiting for his Stowa Flieger w/ date (no brand) to be delivered.. heard nothing but good things about the company. Laco is more pricey but can be bought at Gnomon watches locally AFAIK. I'd go for the stowa personally if choosing between the 2 (just personal taste). I have a Sinn now and haven't looked back .. some changes in the watch community now that ETA is cutting back on its supply of ETA movements..

coern

Panerai definitely. Check out the shops in Florence and Venice.

if you really want to shop panerai, check out the list of Italy ADs on their website and email them.

I got quite a good response from 50% of the ADs which provided me with model availability and pricing informatio. I didn't have to waste time visiting ADs that did not have the model that I'm not interested in.

derazor

I threw myself a curve ball.

Some considerations :

If say the Stowa is about $1k and I need to service it. Can it be done locally? What is the guestimation price for servicing of Unitas 6498 & ETA 2824-2 ? If the servicing is like 1/5 of the price is it still worth to service it every 5 years.

The reason is because I called up that I wanted to service my Rolex and it costs me $900 and lead time is 2 freaking months.

For the Stowa, most ppl will put the not put logo and date or it's a matter of preference?

Thanks

derazor

a friend of mine is waiting for his Stowa Flieger w/ date (no brand) to be delivered.. heard nothing but good things about the company. Laco is more pricey but can be bought at Gnomon watches locally AFAIK. I'd go for the stowa personally if choosing between the 2 (just personal taste). I have a Sinn now and haven't looked back .. some changes in the watch community now that ETA is cutting back on its supply of ETA movements..

Thanks bro, I'm leaning towards the Stowa but the leadtime is si beh sian.

How does the ETA movement affect the manufacturers? They still can get stocks.

buay_tahan

If i not wrong is $11,800.
I am confused over which IWC to get... IWC Portuguese Chrono, IWC Pilot Chrono or IWC Portuguese Automatic... The Chronos are using ETA movements and I heard they are modified in house right? Does it make sense to pay so much to get ETA movement?

I am looking for an upgrade from my Ball Ionosphere which also has an ETA movement.

saininnia

I am confused over which IWC to get... IWC Portuguese Chrono, IWC Pilot Chrono or IWC Portuguese Automatic... The Chronos are using ETA movements and I heard they are modified in house right? Does it make sense to pay so much to get ETA movement?

I am looking for an upgrade from my Ball Ionosphere which also has an ETA movement.

im fairly new but is ETA movements really that bad?

ahboy82

the price difference is a lot leh for all those u mention.

jonathanckh

Anybody knows the retail price and the discount for the Omega Seamaster 300M Chronometer in both 36mm and 41mm?

buay_tahan

the price difference is a lot leh for all those u mention.
Ya I know the price difference is a lot. The first criteria is to get an upgrade that is worth the value. This is why I am comparing the "made" first. Then price comes into play.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.