The Watch Thread - Part 3

Dmaul77

Honestly I'm OK with all those that the B&M lack. Resale value is of no concern to me too. I'm sure the GS is a great watch - for the purist like you mentioned. Problem is the branding - I still associate it with "Japanese" and "budget". I have had two Seikos - my first was given to me on my 21st birthday. Had it for 11 years until it got stolen from my suitcase somewhere between my LA hotel and Changi Airport. I replaced it with another Seiko - a Kinetic - that I still wear today. The heart likes the Clifton but the mind says "Are you sure? Its $3100".

3100 is like how many % discount?

Cheers :)

Azrielsc

I see, I not into watch and I only heard about Rolex which has even values after some years later but not sure about Panerai.

I have a couple of Pams but I am not holding my breath if they ever appreciates! But it seems like most 2nd hand Pams have a "final" residual value of close to S$5k or so, regardless of initial value.

Base Pams retail for about S$6k and then they go up from there, based on complications and material of the casings, ie: gold, rose gold, ceramic, composite, titanium, etc.

dmitri

I have a couple of Pams but I am not holding my breath if they ever appreciates! But it seems like most 2nd hand Pams have a "final" residual value of close to S$5k or so, regardless of initial value.

Base Pams retail for about S$6k and then they go up from there, based on complications and material of the casings, ie: gold, rose gold, ceramic, composite, titanium, etc.
Any lobang for 243 (don't need T-dial) for 5k? :(

dmitri

On a side note, what's the best discount available for the Pelagos? Better if you have a SE to recommend. Can PM if inconvenient to reveal here.

noobzpro

Always liked tudor,but cant get off the mentality that its a poor man's rolex :(

lolz if u keep thinking like that generally....will gg de...u care about what people think about u for wat...happy can le....i now after acquiring black bay looking more foward toward black shield lolz....

ahboy82

Always liked tudor,but cant get off the mentality that its a poor man's rolex :(

who gives a sheet abt wat they think..........if u scare of this, then get a rolex and tudor. that will shut their crap. like noobpro loh :s13::s13::s13:

noobzpro

aiya no need scare one...unless u got ego and morale issues.....u buy this type watches shudnt be for showing what and who u are i bet ure deeper than a watch....imo its just what u like....even cheap watches are cool...i got frends rich but play gshock lolz....tbh im thinking of a gshock or babyg now le haha

Dmaul77

20%.
Are all list prices for the same model the same across all ADs? Eg: in the case of B&M, list prices in Cortina, Dickson and Sincere are all the same?

Looks like it's fixed - To me 25%-30% i will then seriously think - probably only way that price might be through grey/overseas or till the collection "age".

Tudor looks pretty good imo of late - I will check out the black shield when it's released, looks like a dlc/cheaper version of the daytona :s13:

Yup also bearing in mind the servicing costs , i think if you have an in house movement watch (like the 233 i have), subsequent servicing also jialat cos only can send to richmont - easily 1k +++

Samfreak

Adding more watches to my shortlist of dress watch for consideration:
Omega De Ville Prestige Co-axial >
9041404053_e71a78b73f.jpg

Zenith Captain Elite Central Second (quite like this one but $$ is a concern)>
9041383455_597133ec59.jpg

IWC Portofino Automatic >
9043628152_b867370eb3.jpg

Would appreciate your views esp on the Zenith as I have no knowledge of this brand.

Samfreak

Looks like it's fixed - To me 25%-30% i will then seriously think - probably only way that price might be through grey/overseas or till the collection "age".

Yup also bearing in mind the servicing costs , i think if you have an in house movement watch (like the 233 i have), subsequent servicing also jialat cos only can send to richmont - easily 1k +++

I went to take another look today and discovered something that I missed earlier. The B&M Clifton is very thick - may be too thick for a dress watch. I was shown a Zenith and it was way thinner.

Servicing costs $1K?!? :eek: Wow - that's something I did not consider. How often is the servicing done? Once in five years? Would like to pass on my watches to my son eventually.

ahboy82

Would appreciate your views esp on the Zenith as I have no knowledge of this brand.

i have the 3rd one. very classy and gd enough for me if u ask me, though a lot of ppl here say iwc must at least buy the portuguese collection, but i dun agree. so it;'s up to u to decide bah.

KohChris

omega and iwc no contrast

billovee

I went to take another look today and discovered something that I missed earlier. The B&M Clifton is very thick - may be too thick for a dress watch. I was shown a Zenith and it was way thinner.

Servicing costs $1K?!? :eek: Wow - that's something I did not consider. How often is the servicing done? Once in five years? Would like to pass on my watches to my son eventually.

Watch collecting is never be cheap due to servicing.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.