The Watch Thread - Part 3

Alpha_Hippo

Always liked tudor,but cant get off the mentality that its a poor man's rolex :(

That is the kind of thinking mindfugging a lot of people. Not just on watches, also other areas in aspects of life. Glad I am not one of them.

Sometimes, I feel lonely in this world because not a lot of like minded people like me. Only once in a while, will meet like minded people. But I never seek acceptance from others, cause I know in terms of thoughts, I am above them. To wait and seek approval means to waste time. Everyday I strive to do more than yesterday.

The common crows will never appreciate the flight of the crane.

Alpha_Hippo

3k top up a little can buy grand seiko? I tot gs cost close to 10k?

why not? It is not very expensive to buy one of the best movement to challenge the swiss standards.

google seiya Japan for prices. GS prices available online too. The savings u can make buying directly from Japan is worth an air ticket, can fly there for leisure and soapland first before buying.:s13:

flame2000

Adding more watches to my shortlist of dress watch for consideration:
Omega De Ville Prestige Co-axial >
9041404053_e71a78b73f.jpg

Zenith Captain Elite Central Second (quite like this one but $$ is a concern)>
9041383455_597133ec59.jpg

IWC Portofino Automatic >
9043628152_b867370eb3.jpg

Would appreciate your views esp on the Zenith as I have no knowledge of this brand.

I like the Zenith for the retro looks. :D
if you are going for the Zenith, it's in house movement, servicing wont be cheap.
But if you can afford the Zenith, I'll advice you to go for the JLC Master Control. It's easily a notch above the 3 brands you listed. JLC used to make movements for Patek, VC, AP, etc.:D

DempseyRoll

About S$4k or maybe a little bit more can get a Seiko GS Liao. Check out the price at Seiya Japan. :)
But some just don't like the Seiko branding. :o

Paiseh to all..... maybe the general pricing of GS is ard 4k to 5k....I didn't know. ..

http://www.seiyajapan.com/product/S-SBGE001/Grand-Seiko-Spring-Drive-SBGE001-GMT.html

The only GS that caught my attention is this. ... which I think it's selling ard 10k in Singapore....and I think I've seen ppl selling at 7k in sgroc. ... very tempting. .. Lol

patryn33

I like the Zenith for the retro looks. :D
if you are going for the Zenith, it's in house movement, servicing wont be cheap.
But if you can afford the Zenith, I'll advice you to go for the JLC Master Control. It's easily a notch above the 3 brands you listed. JLC used to make movements for Patek, VC, AP, etc.:D

Zenith elite would cost ~$5-6k b4 discount.
A jlc master control cost about double the price of a zenith elite captain.

Servicing in terms of simple oiling and cleaning do at he watch in house or not shouldn't matter.

patryn33

http://www.seiyajapan.com/product/S-SBGE001/Grand-Seiko-Spring-Drive-SBGE001-GMT.html

The only GS that caught my attention is this. ... which I think it's selling ard 10k in Singapore....and I think I've seen ppl selling at 7k in sgroc. ... very tempting. .. Lol

Isn't that listed price ~usd$5500 for a new pc? Why used 7k in sgroc? Strangely enough u can find it tempting

flame2000

Zenith elite would cost ~$5-6k b4 discount.
A jlc master control cost about double the price of a zenith elite captain.

Servicing in terms of simple oiling and cleaning do at he watch in house or not shouldn't matter.

I was quoted about $7k for the JLC master control few months back. Didn't buy though.
That makes Zenith a good buy. It's thin and makes a nice dress watch.:)

patryn33

Would appreciate your views esp on the Zenith as I have no knowledge of this brand.

Iirc iwc cost about the same as the zenith, why a zenith cost a concern??? Not worth the $$$

Iwc use a eta movement, zenith inhouse.
Zenith elite is design in the early 1990s iirc, reliable movement I own one.

DempseyRoll

Isn't that listed price ~usd$5500 for a new pc? Why used 7k in sgroc? Strangely enough u can find it tempting

7k is new pc. What I mean is. ... the 10k price of thong sia vs sgroc price of 7k is tempting.

Of course going to buy it in Japan is best. Haha

justin007

Hello everyone.

I posted these picts in the LV forum.. Thought maybe I post the same picts here as well

I know lots of people are not too enamored with Fashion house timepieces. But I just lvoe, lvoe this piece.

Here are the "official" pictures of the spintime.

I lvoe the spintime mechanism.. Also note the yellow markings, GMT words and the GMT hour hand. The yellow is the waxed thread LV used to sew their bags.

This image has been resized.Click to view original image

Note the LV logo on the winding knob.. forgot the official name. Also, as with all tambour timepieces, the words LOUIS VUITTON is engraved around the watch. Each letter representing an hour.

This image has been resized.Click to view original image

Last but not least, the buckle.. already got scratches.. anger. I got this backup blue galuchat strap cause I simply love the colour and how it glitters in the light. The actual strap is crocodile and I have it at home. BTW, the buckle is also solid 18k white gold, the same as the casing of the watch.

Here is a peek at the watch on my hands

Alpha_Hippo

Paiseh to all..... maybe the general pricing of GS is ard 4k to 5k....I didn't know. ..

But spring drive is not a pure mechanical watch.

diamond96

Is that a quartz?
I would advice you to get a Tissot VisoDate instead. At least it's an auto and if you need to flip it later, it's easier. :)

Yeah a Quartz.

Any idea the price for it ?
And whats the power reserve like ?
Sometimes won't be wearing for like 2 days.

flame2000

Yeah a Quartz.

Any idea the price for it ?
And whats the power reserve like ?
Sometimes won't be wearing for like 2 days.

Not sure about price, shld be less than $800. It's an ETA2824, so power reserve when fully wound ~40hrs. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.