The Watch Thread - Part 3

dominicwor2

This forum is so interesting! Think I can visit often!
Found out one of my hub frens gf bought his fren a santos after I fish info. . Omg! Sian....
Within 8k can go for what other executive looking bracelet watch? Rolex possible? Dun wan the dial surrounded by the numbers kind, looks like sports watch. .

if that's the case, an explorer I will fit your requirements nicely..

SpOrTsTeR79

Last I enquire about the explorers II, it cost slightly more than 10k. I guess the explorers I should be within yr budget.

Btw, is it true Rolex sports range like the sub are non discounted item at most plcs? Can anyone point me in the right direction if there are discounts given?

josephkjc

Last I enquire about the explorers II, it cost slightly more than 10k. I guess the explorers I should be within yr budget.

Btw, is it true Rolex sports range like the sub are non discounted item at most plcs? Can anyone point me in the right direction if there are discounts given?

Very little discount for sport range since they sell faster hence AD seldom give much discounts unless u know them very well.
If you don't mind preowned you can look at SWX n ROC forums. Even those ppl who bring in new Rolex from overseas to sell can save you a few hundreds and even thousand

yattokame

The more popular ones (steel mainly) gets very little discounts.

From what my regulars SEs quoted me, the full gold's get more discounts by %.

dmitri

Last I enquired about the Explorer II, can get about 9.5 to 9.8k. Not sure if that's the best going from local AD.

Lurker_13

Yo Bros, can recommend any good and cheap (reasonable price) watch winder? Where can I find one? Thanks in advance, sorry if this question has been asked before, lazy to search..:s13:

yattokame

Yo Bros, can recommend any good and cheap (reasonable price) watch winder? Where can I find one? Thanks in advance, sorry if this question has been asked before, lazy to search..:s13:

Navale Watch Winder Singapore - FAQ

never bought from them before.... there's a couple more around....

some people will stress the importance of getting an expensive well-made winder; for me I don't own pieces expensive enough to warrant the need for one - I have a cheap 6 watch winder (individual) though, and already thinking of getting a bigger one. None of my watches cost $50k up (just my personal indication) so I wouldnt look at expensive winders.

Lurker_13

Thanks yattokame, the link is very helpful, will go check them out over the weekend :D Ya the AD recommended a $1K winder, but I dun think need such ex winder lah... =:p

noobzpro

Expensive winders turn the exact amount which is set. And also make sure ur winder motor foes not have a magnetic field or say gg to ur watch.

flame2000

JW watch or Vincent watch have the Boxy winder. Uses a Japanese mabuchi motor. 3 TPD setting. They have battery operated or wall plug type. Or PM one of the seller here selling Eilux winder.

jonleelk

JW watch or Vincent watch have the Boxy winder. Uses a Japanese mabuchi motor. 3 TPD setting. They have battery operated or wall plug type. Or PM one of the seller here selling Eilux winder.

Best price for boxy winders

41Yy8MQrw9L._SX385_.jpg

Set of 4 Brick Watch Winders with Power Base: Watches: Amazon.com

U need vpost/comgateway as this product doesn't ship direct to SG.

Lurker_13

Thanks flame2000 & jonleelk.

Not looking at buying from overseas though, maybe a hassle if the winder needs any servicing. ;)

Lurker_13

:s13: me too... so I can save up the moolah for something else unless I am going to get a more complicated watch.:D

yattokame

:s13: me too... so I can save up the moolah for something else unless I am going to get a more complicated watch.:D

actually better to save up for one darn good watch. end up most of the watches in my collection are safe queens / winder queens.

most days I wear the daytona or sometimes the mr. roboto. Wife rotates between the santos, azimuth, maurice lacroix and the G shock (ladies have more things to match with, i.e., bag, dress, shoes, etc).

trashley

Steinhart Ocean Vintage Military

Super value for money. You cant get any better than this build and quality at this price range. Only draw back is the lume. The weight gives it a really solid feel. Some love it, some hate it. I for one love weighty watches.

Will post a picture of it in a leather strap when it arrives from Steveo. :D
congrats on a great buy! wear it in good health :)

may i know if you got it from gnonom or steinhart directly?

highsulphur

actually better to save up for one darn good watch. end up most of the watches in my collection are safe queens / winder queens.

most days I wear the daytona or sometimes the mr. roboto. Wife rotates between the santos, azimuth, maurice lacroix and the G shock (ladies have more things to match with, i.e., bag, dress, shoes, etc).

I have 3 but my last 2 burnt such a hole I'm not buying anymore.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.