The Watch Thread - Part 3

iamvintage

hello fellas.

any good 2nd hand shops to recommend. i see one or two shops in bencoolen. would prefer a shopping centre where's there's a cluster of them so it's more efficient

thanks in advance

What brand are you looking for? If it's Rolex, Chinatown area has a good number of watches. Other brands, Far East Plaza has a few shops in one building.

Seannie

For the price of a Rolex Sub (not sure which variant you are looking at), you can consider a few other under-rated models such as the JLC Master Compressor.

poison you abit. such a beauty.

Its true, everyone knows about "lolek" or a "oh-bi-ga" only. You tell someone a normal person about jaeger-lecoultre, they will tell you simi lai eh..only enthusiasts will know the different watch brands like AP, PP, AP etc. Wear to market nobody will know also. hahaha As long as you like it, suits you. just hoot la

Jaeger-LeCoultre-Navy-SEALS-Chronograph-1.jpg

I don't know anything about watches also think that JLC is swee. Classy and very tasteful. Just look at Samfreak's JLC something to die for or worth shortening 10 yrs of my life.

winorlose

2nd hand shops aplenty. chinatown people's park complex got alot of shops but most of them carry only lolek. whether able to verify authenticity of its parts is another question.

Im sure you heard of people buying rolex, movement is real but all other parts are fake/third party.

Seannie

You probably have things, tangible or not, that we don't. But if we look around a bit more, we'd find that life aint that bad after all.

You still can afford to have access to internet and even money to invest. Trust me - I've seen a lot of people who don't. Not a handful, but a few entire HDB blocks of flats of needy.

Maybe u can find some time to do volunteer work too; it really makes us appreciate what we have, and not dwell on what we dont have.

Sorry to digress here, but are u a pastor?
Hmm, does having beneficiary interest in overseas property considered having things that you all don't? I believe many here have a lot of investments, properties, cars, tonnes of expensive watches, living the high life, being so obsessed about fine materialistic things in life that I'm not sure whether they are sympathetic with those who are less endowed or struggling with life?
The few entire HDB blocks of needy that you saw, are those the elderly? I have not seen young people being needy nowadays. Most are so affluent that my jaws gap till almost drop. How can I have a good night's sleep when I know there are so many younger and much better off than me who will be able to retire without a worry whereas age is catching with me & I'm still nowhere near them? Do I have to slog in macdonald in my twilight years serving the children of these rich?? Internet really do harm to self esteem.

ahboy82

my fren bought one back in 2004/05 for 8k. looks like the same model.

8k???????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa now i think is like 15k before discount leh, any bros here know if this is the case?

qweiop

There shouldn't be a movement settle time, even if there is, a minute a day seems pretty off. If that a brand new watch?

It is a brand new watch. maybe only 3 wks old. If so, how do i ensure my time is off? Using the computer's time is accurate?

yattokame

Sorry to digress here, but are u a pastor?
Hmm, does having beneficiary interest in overseas property considered having things that you all don't? I believe many here have a lot of investments, properties, cars, tonnes of expensive watches, living the high life, being so obsessed about fine materialistic things in life that I'm not sure whether they are sympathetic with those who are less endowed or struggling with life?
The few entire HDB blocks of needy that you saw, are those the elderly? I have not seen young people being needy nowadays. Most are so affluent that my jaws gap till almost drop. How can I have a good night's sleep when I know there are so many younger and much better off than me who will be able to retire without a worry whereas age is catching with me & I'm still nowhere near them? Do I have to slog in macdonald in my twilight years serving the children of these rich?? Internet really do harm to self esteem.

no lah far from being a pastor. free thinker some more.

nope, a mix of elderly and entire families - some things that I never thought I would see in singapore until you really get down there. it almost feels so surreal. Can you imagine 2 families sharing a one room rental flat? with 7 children in all, youngest being an infant and oldest no more than 12? These are the people who do not know how to call for help, nor who to turn to. Just that they are nor reported in the media does not mean they do not exist.
I have also seen and know for myself the very rich - 7 cars, with a couple of supercars. Even an ex-neighbour of mine had 5 cars, and the cheapest was a GTR. and my current neighbour now just got himself a gallardo. both same age as me. It is this huge divide I encounter on a regular basis that I stopped whinning about life and start appreciating what I have, and not dwelling on what I do not have.

At the end of the day there is only so much you can eat and spend. We can choose to give others a hand with an encouraging word - it does not cost a cent. And when you start doing charity, it's pretty addictive. You know you make a difference to someone else's life.

whether the ultra rich do charity or not is beyond my control - I just do what I can.
nothing wrong with being materialistic - I am, too, I do not deny. It's like a revenge mentality I have due to my growing up years in poverty. Now that I can, I will. But also DO reach out to the less privileged. I have been there, so I want to give them this thing called hope.

I give not because I am rich, but because I know the feeling of having nothing.

wall of text and..... honestly I don't know what I'm blabbering on about hahahahahaha
end of the day, if you have a job and can put food on the table, that's all that matters ain't it? :)

yattokame

8k???????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa now i think is like 15k before discount leh, any bros here know if this is the case?

I could be wrong. Not a JLC fan. Just go to their launches for free food and wine hahahaha.

yes it looks very much like the one my fren bought. one side squarish design the other side round design. white and black faced also. could be an older model but I am very sure 8k+. Long time ago also leh, almost a decade.

yattokame

Ya 3717 old model, difficult to find. 3777, my friend got it for $6500 :eek: Dunno why, IWC pilot series loves to display 3 dates.. :D

Explorer.... esp white dial. :D

Minor inflation is good for economic. :D If prices remain the same for past 10 yrs, then the country is not developing and standstill. :eek:

are u the same natas from mIRC austnet many years back? :D

Seannie

Finally, after weeks of visiting ADs, browsing forums ... I've found the dress watch I want: Jaeger-LeCoultre Master Control.
9209433704_a52409d714.jpg

Look at Samfreak's JLC! Keep relooking and still find it swee. Can't do anything except Jin envy:s22:

ahboy82

ALL JLC watches are classics. If you got it, I respect you. If you got Rolex to show off, I won't.

wont say rolex is for showing off la, just happen that most ppl oni noe rolex does not mean ppl buy it to show off......

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.